We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated and poor service”
Review of Rydges Parramatta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Parramatta
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rosehill
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Recently stayed in a suite room and was awakened as we were very cold in the room due to the air conditioner. After contacting reception staff advised to turn the air conditioner down! And temperature should go up.? This did not work..
We arrived early and were advised that our room was ready but we needed to pay an extra $20 to leave our bags in the room. As we stayed at this hotel so we could go to rose hill races we did not intend on returning until late. I have stayed at many resorts and hotels and never had to pay any extra to put our bags in the room especially when the room was ready. Would not recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Check out terms and conditions prior to booking
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Hi Sandra S,

Thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We have left a message with you to contact us at the hotel if possible so we can discuss this with you further.

We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (600)
There are newer reviews for Rydges Parramatta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 600 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

Ridges Parramatta did not disappoint. Rooms were clean. Linen was crisp. Bed was comfortable. Buffet breakfast was a treat. Great beds and pillows. Even the sofa bed was comfortable. Fast wifi in the buffet area.

Room Tip: This is more a boutique hotel than a large one but more than adequate.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pardede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Hi pardede,

Thanks for your fantastic feedback regarding your recent stay. We agree that our beds are comfortable, but it's great to hear that everything that involved the entire 'bed' experience was great!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed here for a week as we come for Hillsong conference. Staff were courteous and helpful. If I was to pick on one thing it would be that the water pressure is not so good. Everything else was excellent. Thank you see you next year

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parramulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Hi parramulla,

Thanks for your great feedback regarding your recent stay. It's great to hear that our return guests are getting the same experience time and time again.

We hope you enjoyed the conference and we definitely look forward to welcoming you back again next year!

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
62
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My family of two adults and two kids stayed here for a couple of nights last week and it was a great choice. A nice spacious room with twin dream beds greated us. All the standards you'd expect from Rydges were there with room service, secure parking option or std onsite parking, etc. Will stay here again.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Hi,

Thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay. It's great to hear that we were able to carry through the Rydges standard during your time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Having picked up a deal for a single night stay, I was pretty happy with the place, great room, couteous staff, roof service meal etc. A little distance from Paramatta but that was not an issue for one night.
Had a breakfast meeting the next day, and was greeted with a $29.50 charge per head, and that did not even include a decent coffee. Now all I wanted was cereal, fruit and coffee.
When are establishments going to learn to give people a choice, not everyone wants to pig out in the morning. So it was that I entertained my clients at breakfast, which was not extremely special, powdered scambled egg, cold and overcooked bacon etc etc.
Rydges lift your game, give people a choice of breakfast rates.

Room Tip: Have breakfast elsewhere and save yourself some money.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 781RobertW781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Hi Robert W,

Thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay. It was great to hear you enjoyed the room and the courteous staff.

We were sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your breakfast as so many of our guests do. Whilst our RISE breakfast buffet is $29.50, there is a large selction of items to choose from, and we also have our breakfast chef available every day to cook up fresh omelettes to order. We also have a $10.50 Express Breakfast option for those who don't want too much to start the day, and plenty of muffins, danishes, parfaits etc at the counter for those who want something quick and easy to go. All of our friendly staff are on hand to assist you with your breakfast choices and make sure the day is started right.

Thanks again for your feedback,

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Rooms are clean & as always the bed was super comfy (the beds are comfy at most Rydges Hotels). I had my room cleaned & fresh towels supplied while I was out which is always nice to come back to a clean room & fresh towels in the cold drizzly weather. I was on level 4 & didnt have any issues with noise. Breakfast buffet was good, there was a wide range of breakfast foods to choose from.
Breakfast buffet (hot & cold food) is $30 on the spot or its cheaper if you book at the time when making your room reservation, which costs me $20. I had dinner on a Sunday in the hotel restaurant, which is located in the Rise Restaurant on Sundays due to being a quiet night, the prawn fettucine was yummy & for dessert I ordered the tiramisu which again was also tasty.
Its about 30mins via train from Sydney CBD & about the 30-40mins away from the Domestic Airport. I would recommend choosing the hotel shuttle bus as I found it was about $30 cheaper than a taxi & I think its cheaper when you have more than 1 person travelling. I went to Sydney for a sporting event & the hotel had a shuttle bus organised which I thought was brilliant & it was a lot cheaper than a taxi to Allphones Arena. The staff are friendly & helpful. I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Use the shuttle bus to & from airport as its a lot cheaper than a taxi Book breakfast at the sa...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daylight89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Hi Daylight89,

Thankyou for your feedback regarding your recent stay. It's always pleasing to hear that the rooms and the beds provide a comfortable environment, in particular when it's a little bit colder and wetter.

Ou RISE buffet breakfast is a winner, and you've picked a great option by adding it at the time of making your reservation. With so many hot and cold options to choose from, there's plenty there for everyone.

The shuttle bus that you've mentioned is an option that we have for our guests on our big event nights. It does take the hassle out of getting to and from the Homebush precinct, and anything that may be happening there!

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Have stayed here many times it has become my regular stop on my travels through Sydney. It has great free parking although make sure you don't leave valuables in your car as it is open air and can be accessed from the street. The rooms are clean the beds are very comfortable. The air conditioners can be a little unreliable in summer although they will get a repair crew in promptly if they break down. The highlight is the restaurant, although I have not eaten in the restaurant itself, during restaurant hours the meals from it are available on room service and after a long day on the road being able to have these five star meals brought up to your room is magic. They cook the best steaks in Sydney.

Room Tip: Before you go make sure you join the Rydges reward program it gets you better prices and if you have...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler-Tim-Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Hi Traveler_Tim_Melbourne,

Thanks for your fantastic feedback regarding your recent stay. We really appreciate our Senior Contributers taking the time to let us know how we are travelling.

It's great to hear that you love our rooms, but even better to hear that you LOVE our restaurants, even though you haven't been into them yet! It's great to hear that our 5 star room service menu and "the best steaks in Sydney" are able to satisfy you after a long day of travelling. Whatever suits our guests suits us just fine.

You're also spot in with the Priority Guest rewards program. Well worth it for seasoned travellers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon, and hopefully next time we can get you into our restaurants!

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosehill
1.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Parramatta
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#4 of 12 in Parramatta
915 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Sydney Parramatta
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Parramatta Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Meriton Suites George Street, Parramatta
0.9 mi away
Mantra Parramatta
Mantra Parramatta
#5 of 12 in Parramatta
1,342 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meriton Suites Church Street, Parramatta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Parramatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Parramatta

Address: 116 James Ruse Dr, Rosehill, Parramatta, New South Wales 2142, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Parramatta > Rosehill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rosehill
Price Range: $122 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Parramatta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Parramatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Parramatta Rosehill
Rydges Parramatta Hotel Rosehill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing