We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff ... great bed”
Review of Rydges Parramatta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Parramatta
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rosehill
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed just for one night on a business trip - rooms are definitely dated and could do with some redecorating. Needed to move rooms as air con in first room was terribly noisy, like a mechanical problem. Second room was noisy, but not as bad. Bed was great, nice and comfy which was appreciated. Breakfast was not very good - soy milk wasn't chilled, hot food was dried out when we ate about 9am. It is worth applying for the Priority membership - has some good benefits. I paid for undercover parking but shouldn't have bothered - there is plenty of outside parking

Room Tip: Check air con noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustraliaChris09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Australia Chris09,

Thankyou for the feedback regarding your recent stay. We hope your business trip was a successful one.

We were sorry to hear about the inconvenience you experienced with our in room AC, but were glad to hear that we were able to accommodate you in another room and your feedback has been passed on to our Maintenance Manager for follow up. We were very glad to hear you enjoyed our specially manufactured Rydges Dream Bed. You will find these throughout many of our hotels and a number of our staff have one or two of them at home!

Your feedback regarding your breakfast has been passed on to our Executive Chef, and was disappointing to hear as our new Rise Breakfast Concept is something we really pride ourselves on at Rydges Parramatta. In regards to our parking facilities, you are correct in saying we have ample parking on the hotel grounds, but we also have our undercover car park there as an option for our guests who may wish to protect their "pride and joy" from the elements.

We hope to see you back for business again soon.

Kind regards,
Ben Cowled.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 618 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed here recently on a work trip, on the hottest Sydney day on record. It was an awfully hot day culminating in a rather terrifying wind storm! But the room felt like a sanctuary, although we could hear the wind howling outside for a long time.

Check-in was great - I rocked up early, staff were friendly and they had the room available. It makes such a huge difference to be able to check-in early.

The room was very spacious and comfortable - the bed was firm, pillows were good, a couple of lounge chairs were appreciated. Mini bar prices were reasonable, room service menu was good (the salmon was really good).

Free parking is a bonus.

Overall, a good choice if you've got a car and need to be in or near Parramatta.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeleine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Hi Madeleine C,

Great to hear your feedback and that you survived the hot and wild weather which we got this summer at Parramatta. We are so pleased to hear that from the service of our team to the prices of the mini bar, that everything met your expectations and overall you had an enjoyable stay.

The hotel is “car” friendly with either the option of free onsite parking or you can pay a small price for undercover parking. There are buses and trains close by, so should you stay again and not have the extra benefit of a car there are lots of other options.

Thanks
Mieke Kremer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Become a Rydges member and get a corporate discount on line, stayed here a few time in different rooms , not much difference except for a little extra room. Decor is a little outdated, location great, breakfast good and the staff very helpful.

Room Tip: If you are getting a taxi from the airport could cost you between $80 to $130 depending on traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Collingwood2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Hi Collingwood2011,

Thanks for your review. 4 Stars from a Senior Reviewer means a lot to us so thanks again!
Great to hear that you became a Priority Guest Rewards Member. I hope that you were able to capture some more savings from the food and beverage outlets also.

If you stay again I would suggest booking the Panorama Suite it is more spacious and has a more luxurious feel to the room over the Queen and King rooms.

Great to hear that you enjoyed breakfast and the staff provided you with helpful service.

Look forward to seeing you here again.

Kind regards, Mieke Kremer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We booked a superior queen room for 2 nights over the Australia Day weekend. The staff were friendly and polite. The room was clean but the bathroom/toilet looks outdated. The minibar was amply stocked. The shower head dripped (considerable force was needed to tighten the handles to stop the leak). The air conditioner was noisy but did not affect our sleep (I understand this could be a deal breaker for light sleepers). I found the mattress too soft for my bad back but my wife was happy with it. Cleaning staff did a good job. There is free parking outside and $10 a day undercover secure parking.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Hello Jerry K,

Thrilled to hear your feedback and review! We are most pleased to read that from the service of Front Office staff to the Car Parking options that everything ticked the box and meet your needs.

Some guests do find the beds soft. We do have solutions for this so if you do stay again (which I hope you do) please ask the reception staff on check-in to help.

Thanks and best wishes.

Mieke Kremer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed in a twin share room with our children. It was a clean and as always the Rydges bed was very comfortable. The bath room was clean though a little dated. Buffet breakfast was superb!!! Very limited secure parking available. Actually very limited parking available full stop.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grouptravel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Hi There Grouptravel21,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your stay here at Rydges Parramatta. Great to hear that you had a good sleep; the Rydges “Dream Beds” are wonderful and you can actually purchase them for your home.

The Head Chef and the Stock breakfast team are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast. It is delicious!!

We have over 200 car parks at the hotel so sorry to hear that you found it difficult to park. If there is a large conference or the races are on then it can fill up fast.

I hope we get to welcome you back again soon.

Thanks, Mieke Kremer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This Hotel has friendly and helpful staff. With having stayed in a superior Queen Room, which was for 2 people, for 2 nights, then 4 nights in a Deluxe Twin Room for 3 people, I could not see any difference in size or room decor, which left me a bit perplexed, since Deluxe is an upgrade from Superior, with an extra charge. Otherwise all good, Rosehill Bowling Club and other shops and takeaways, all within walking distance. I feel that I should point out that a car, would be a distinct advantage if staying at this Hotel.

Room Tip: A room away from main road, would be better, although if you don'"t mind listening to the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaseyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

HI CaseyPerth,

We love reviews from Senior Reviewers, so thanks! I am most pleased to hear that the staff were friendly and helpful. You are right that there is not much difference between the Superior Queen and Deluxe Twin, the main difference is the amount of beds, the space and size or the room and the amenities. It fits more people hence is a little more.

Great to hear that you got out and about and enjoyed the local area. Parramatta has some wonderful bars, cafes and entertainment areas.

I hope to see you back again soon.

Thanks again for your review.

Mieke Kremer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Hottest day on record in Sydney, so noisy air-con on all night. Woke up with each compressor kick-in. Room smelt stuffy by morning. Otherwise a nice hotel. Gr8 breakfast for $19 with chef on hand. Wide choice of breads, fruit, juices and cooked dishes.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilipH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Hi PhilipH1,

I think that you are the first Top Reviewer we have had to write a review on Rydges Parramatta. 51 reviews is a massive effort! Congrats!

The hottest day in Sydney certainly was the hottest! 46 degrees! I think that everything in Sydney slowed down! Sorry to hear though that your aircon didn’t work as it should have. We are always here to help if you need.

Isn’t our breakfast yummy?? With the $19 discount voucher it is certainly worthwhile. I will pass on your comments to the head chef. He will be most pleased.

Safe travels on and I hope we see you again at Rydges Parramatta.

Thanks

Mieke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosehill
0.3 mi away
Mercure Sydney Parramatta
0 mi away
Waldorf Parramatta Apartment Hotel
0.9 mi away
Mantra Parramatta
Mantra Parramatta
#5 of 12 in Parramatta
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Parramatta
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#4 of 12 in Parramatta
976 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meriton Suites George Street, Parramatta
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Parramatta
Holiday Inn Parramatta
#6 of 12 in Parramatta
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Parramatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Parramatta

Address: 116 James Ruse Dr, Rosehill, Parramatta, New South Wales 2142, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Parramatta > Rosehill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rosehill
Price Range: $91 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Parramatta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Parramatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Parramatta Rosehill
Rydges Parramatta Hotel Rosehill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing