We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but beware room 527.”
Review of Rydges Parramatta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Parramatta
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rosehill
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Had to stay in Parramatta for work and booked a Wotif mystery hotel. While I was happy it was a Rydges, from a previous experience at another hotel I was mortified to learn it was on James Ruse drive. On said previous experience I got no sleep at all due to the trucks and other traffic going all night long. Truly horrible and I'm a heavy sleeper. So I rang and requested a room away from the road and on check in was duly accommodated. The room (527)was fantastic. Beautifully appointed with everything you would expect from a good hotel. Everything was fine until I tried to get to sleep. I thought it was someone in the next room turning on a tap but it was incessant. It would go on for 5 secs. then off for 10 secs. over and over and over again. I endured an hour thinking it would stop before it got too much. On inspection I noticed a small door behind the bed head. Whatever it is behind there should be removed and destroyed or the room closed down. Went downstairs to reception and complained and the receptionist was very apologetic and after it was determined it couldn't be resolved - only a short time- I was given another room with no fuss. The 2nd room was was of the same high standard and the rest of the stay was great. A big car park -free parking- makes for easy access and there a 2 resteraunts and a bar near reception. Also a sports bar with pokies on site with outside access. Didn't eat there or make use of pool/ gym but am sure they are of a good standard. Staff are excellent and a great location close to many attractions. A small glitch quickly rectified and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Hi Ivan768,

Great to hear that you mystery pick landed you at Rydges Parramatta. We don't mind how our guests book, we just love to see you here. It's also great to hear that the front desk staff were able to assist you with a good night's sleep. Sorry that it took a room move to achieve it. A good tip indeed is to book at the back of the hotel, especially if noise can interrupt your sleep.

We look forward to seeing you here again and hope that it is distant future too. We have lots of outlets for you to enjoy.

Thanks for your reivew Ivan.

Mieke Kremer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 610 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had one night here before our trip home because our previous hotel at Bowral had hard beds and we needed one good nights sleep before travelling home. We had a family of 4 and we were told there was only one room left and it was a standard queen room but they kindly made up the sofa lounge for our children. The children were comfortable on this. The Queen bed was one of the Rydges Dream beds and they are heaven!! I am thinking of buying one of these beds! I am a Rydges member so requested late checkout, they could do so until 12 midday which we didn't end up needing (we checked out at 10am) but it is nice to have the extra checkout so you don't feel rushed. We have stayed in every Rydges Motel in Sydney and this is by far the cleanest . I really could not fault the cleanliness. An added bonus is the indoor pool and spa! The kids loved this and we stayed in that night rather than going out to take advantage of the pool and spa. If you stay at any Rydges bring your own milk as they only provided 4 of those tiny little milk serves which wasn't even enough for one cuppa as you need a couple of these in a cup and children need their cuppas a little cooler than adults. We did request more milk as in the information provided it says to contact housekeeping and after waiting more than 45 minutes and still no milk my husband went and asked again. He ended up driving to the corner shop to get some milk. We were desperate for a cuppa after travelling. The other small complaint is there was only one face washer for 4 people. But this is a small issue in an otherwise good experience. Breakfast is always fantastic at Rydges in the Rise restaurants. It is well worth the money, the kids love the pancake machine and you won't need lunch until about 3pm. You would be crazy to stay at Rydges and not order breakfast it is an absolute treat! They had run out of passionate fruit halves and when we asked for some they bought a bowl of them to our table! So great service!
I do think wifi internet should be free in a corporate motel but we were lucky there was a special on for October where if you liked Rydges on facebook you were given free internet. But I think it should be free anyway considering the type of traveller here are corporate and the room prices.
But overall we were very happy and would stay again. It is one of the few Rydges that have free parking too. It is the best of all the Sydney Rydges.

Room Tip: Make sure you order breakfast in Rise restaurants!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussiemum2twins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Hello Aussiemum2twins,

Thrilled to hear a wonderful review from a Senior Reviewer! We are stoked! The pool and spa underwent some maintenance and hence an upgrade last month so this is great news that it was worthwhile. It is also pleasing to hear that you made use of your Priority Guest Benefits. They certainly come in handy and help make the money worth the while.

Sorry to hear about the milk. We certianly do not mind bringing up more. And this goes for all housekeeping supplies. We will ensure we are on top of this the next time you stay.

Hope to see you and the family here again soon.

Thanks Mieke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The service at the motel was impecable, however I have to say i was slightly disappointed in the room. I did get a factastic price for the room so really don't want to complain but feel like the standard at which I am use to wih Rydges was not the same! The bathroom ceiling had mould on it, the windows had the rubber coming out of which scared me to allow the kids near it and the airconditioner really did not work. When we looked in the top cupboard we found that the airconditioner filter must not have been cleaned in months.
I love Rydges motels and againI want to say the service was fantastic however I thought the standard of the room was quite poor, sorry to say! Maybe it was because of the price we paid for the room I am not really sure!

Room Tip: Pay more maybe it may make a difference!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shell_CCentralcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Hi Shell_CCentralcoast,

We love our customers and we love to hear that our customer service was tops! Great work to the team! Thanks!

It is great to hear also that you got a good deal on the accommodaiton. Rest assured that the price you pay does not equate to the quality of our room. I would love to hear from you so that we can look at the room you stayed in and make sure that all the points you raised are sorted out.

Looking forward to seeing you again at Rydges Parramatta.

Thanks Mieke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights. Room 505 and later 403
We chose this hotel partly to be equally far away to our Sydney sights and partly to be away from the buzz in the city.
After coming arriving to the hotel the 2nd night, the aircon was on the lowest, freezing cold.
Also, the ventilation was making a terrible noise. I asked to change the room, but they only had one available on the 4th floor, 403.
Since it was in the middle of the night, and couldnt bother with packing and changing the room, we decided to stay that night, despite the noise.
The day after we got the other room, 403.
Throughout the whole night, there was a noisy sound, every 20 seconds (exactly like someone else has been writing below!!) that sounded like someone is flushing the toilet just beside you! Very annoying. Since the hotel was full (Race weekend apparently, which we didnt know anything about), we had to stay in this room.
About the race weekend: We came home one night, around 9 oclock, there was mayhem at the hotel. Felt like walking into a night club, with drunk people screaming around. Awkward feeling to come to your hotel and face this tackiness.
Came up to the hotel room, and it was quiet, until the live band started to play. They stopped however fairly early which was a relief.

Look, all in all this is an average hotel, suitable for race weekenders and business travellers on a budget. Would be a 3 star hotel in Europe.
Quite comfy bed, although a bit soft. Wifey liked it though.
Doors are slamming loudly.
Service ok, they did what they could. Free parking a plus.

Conclusiuon:
Not coming back to this hotel, next time in Sydney, we will gladly spend a few more hundreds to get a proper hotel experience.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the back side of the hotel instead of front, which will be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Hi Veli,

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We certainly appreciate the effort and detail provided. Thanks also for the tips and positive comments. The free parking is certainly a bonus and it is great to hear that the front desk staff assisted as much as possible. I do apologise as the rooms were not up to the standard we expect. We do understand that maintenance problems do arise and try to fix them as fast as possible.

Cheers for the feedback and great tips.

Mieke Kremer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed here for one night recently when in Sydney on business. The hotel has been updated both in public areas and rooms. The room was well fitted and comfortable.

Compliments go to the staff on the front desk who were very friendly and helpful, including a room upgrade on arrival. We ate dinner in the hotel resteraunt which was okay and reasonable value for money.

On the down side there was a running water noise audible in the room which was annoying but did not really keep me awake, secondly breakfast at $29.00 seemed expensive with no option of continental so should you not want a full cooked breakfast this was not great value.

Overall though a good stay and I would stay again when next needing to spend a night in this part of Sydney

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Hi Mark,

Thanks for your review. It is great to see how we are reviewed by a regular TripAdvisor member. A big congrats to our Front Desk staff and their commitment to our guests. A free upgrade is always a great bonus! Talk to us about our breakfast options as the Brekki on the Go sound like a perfect option for you!

Thanks for your review and taking the time to complete so many TripAdvisor.

Look forward to seeing you here again I hope.

Mieke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had water system door behind our bad that makes noise through out d nite every 20 seconds like someone flashing d toilet next to u
Staff wasn't helpful at all they said we have full house what do u want us to do?
Very rude.can't believe they put my family in that faulty room
We hardly got any sleep for 6 days
Awful experience

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mjesec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Mjesec,

Thanks for your review. I recall your stay with us very clearly. Our accommodation was fully booked on the first night of your stay. This did make room moving you not possible. The plumbing in some rooms is louder than others.

For the remainder of your stay there were rooms we could have moved you to. We tried calling and left a message under your door but we never heard from you again. Sorry about the mix up.

We would love to have you here again and provide you with a peaceful sleep that you deserve.

Thanks Mieke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The staff were friendly but not always accommodating; there is a small fridge in the room which i did ask (more than once) to have emptied so i could put some cold soft drinks in there which i thought was a reasonable request however the only answer i kept getting was that it is hotel policy not to do so. I'm not sure that if they force you to have a full mini bar in the room you will use it which i think is a bit short sighted.

The hotel has more than one bar however during my 7 night stay they all closed at around 9.30 for some bizarre reason (something to do with there being no one in for 10 minutes) & the only place that stayed open was the restaurant where the drinks were very expensive.

I had a pleasent enough stay but not sure if i would go back again if i'm in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as the ones on the front face a very busy and noisy main roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roque1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Hi Roque1,

Thanks for you review and taking to time to put up some great pics of the hotel. We are more than happy for our guests to use the mini bar fridge for their own use. We do not remove it as we are happy for you to place it on the shelf above the fridge and we will replace it once you leave.

We certainly hope to see you here again and bring a colleague or two with you to the bar and we be sure to keep it open.

Cheers, Mieke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosehill
0.3 mi away
Mercure Sydney Parramatta
1.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Parramatta
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#4 of 12 in Parramatta
935 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Parramatta Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Meriton Suites George Street, Parramatta
0.9 mi away
Mantra Parramatta
Mantra Parramatta
#5 of 12 in Parramatta
1,406 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
#8 of 12 in Parramatta
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Parramatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Parramatta

Address: 116 James Ruse Dr, Rosehill, Parramatta, New South Wales 2142, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Parramatta > Rosehill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rosehill
Price Range: $101 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Parramatta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Parramatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Parramatta Rosehill
Rydges Parramatta Hotel Rosehill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing