We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful food, great service, rooms just a bit tired”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rydges Parramatta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Parramatta
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rosehill
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, great service, rooms just a bit tired”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

A friend and i stayed for 4 nights as I was attending a conference at the nearby University of West Sydney campus and I could walk to the campus. The hotel isn't in the centre of Parramatta - fine if you have a car, but a bit inconvenient if you don't. There is a taxi rank at the entrance of the hotel and there are buses going by.

The reception was efficient, friendly and professional; the lobby and public areas are attractive; and the service generally was excellent. Ate in the restaurant several times and the food was exceptionally good. The breakfast in the other more cafe-type restaurant was ok, but nothing to get excited about. Good wireless reception in the public areas and they were in the process of extending wireless to the rooms. Very efficient system of emailing directly to the printer anything you needed to print (free).

The room was perfectly ok and comfortable but this was the area that let them down just that bit. It could have done with a refurbishment to really modernise it. There is an indoor pool and small gym but the pool didn't look at all inviting, although would probably be fine if you had children (not toddlers).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us last week. It was a pleasure to have you both here and we certainly hope that you have travelled on safely. The WIFI throughout the hotel will be up and running by August 1st. We are so excited that this will be offered. I hope we get to see you here again soon and that you will be able to try the WIFI and some of the other changes we have planned.

Thanks Again, Mieke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    234
    115
    58
    25
See reviews for
102
137
31
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights (2 adults & 3 kids) and found this place very good all round.
Comfortable bed - check
Good shower - check (water pressure and heat unsurpassed)
Cleanliness - check
Locality - check
Service - check
Value - check
What else would you need from a hotel room - nothing...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parramulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
What a fabulous review to receive! I am so glad that your family had an enjoyable stay with us here at Rydges Parramatta. We love to hear about happy customers and can’t wait to see you back here again.

Cheers, Mieke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
609 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

I was looking forward to staying in this hotel as it had been full on my last few trips to Western Sydney and I had stayed there many moons ago and was impressed (albeit I was young and impressionable then!). What a difference a decade makes. Before I bag the rooms I must say the public areas are great and the upmarket restaurant was excellent. However, a poor attempt at a renovation has left the rooms wanting, with bodgy air conditioning units (read noisy and old) and general fittings that with a little more effort made the rooms quite good. For such a busy hotel in a limited market I would have thought the owners could have made a better effort to upgrade what must be an immense cash cow. I will keep looking for alternate digs (Mercure doesn’t really cut it either).

Room Tip: Another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuckinBangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Cheers for your review of Rydges Parramatta. We are so pleased to have had you back after so many years. It is a pity that you feel as though we have not kept up with “the times”. We have made some big changes but you are right that these are mostly in the general public areas such as Stock Cafe which has our new Rise breakfast and Winning Post Bar with its new menu also. Keep an eye on our website for more changes as a refurbishment is certainly in the works.

Thanks, Mieke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
177 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stay at Rydges Parramatta from Canberra perhaps 4 times a year to visit our ageing relatives in the area but we've noticed that this hotel has visibly moved up a few notches in recent times. The rooms are always spotless and the early morning views over Rosehill racecourse and the horses in training are great..... & the free (outside) parking is of course a big plus. The breakfasts have always been good but they have moved up a notch - they're first class. We visited the in-house "Steeds" restaurant for pre-dinner drinks & dinner for the first time for a while (we regularly go to Church St, Parramatta) and were very pleasantly surprised.....absolutely top drawer food and service - not cheap but quality & excellent value in today's tough times. We will continue to come to Rydges, Parramatta.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room looking east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KandTCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
K and T, we are ecstatic to hear of your response to your most recent stay with us. The positive responses from our guests in relation to the upgrade of our breakfast have blown us away. Treating yourself to a dinner in Steeds is certainly the way to go. My favourite is the scallops. I recommend trying them on a return visit.

We look forward to seeing you here again and showing you more changes we have planned.

Thanks Mieke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junee, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

We, my husband, myself and two teenagers stayed just one night when we came to Sydney to see our new granddaughter. We shared the Panorama Suite. We arrived just after our advised time of 5pm to find our room wasn't ready but reception was very apologetic and gave us drink vouchers and asked us to wait in the bar. We were all tired from the long drive and our visit with relatives and ordered drinks. The bar attendant didn't need to say she would "just give us the house wine" since we had the drinks vouchers, I don't know what the point of that was, the wine was fine and we wouldn't have noticed the difference in our weary state. We ate in the restaurant and found yet another staff member to be a bit on the snooty side. Food was okay but nothing spectacular.
Our room was very clean and comfortable, even with the four of us sharing. The view was lovely, looking towards the city and all the lights. My daughter and I went for a swim in the pool which was a bit soupy but it was the end of the day. We felt a bit greasy when we got out and couldn't wait to shower and wash our hair. The spa didn't work at all.
Overall good value, especially if you are a Rydges Priority member which got us a good price and would have given us a late checkout of 1pm but circumstances saw us leaving early unfortunately.
We would definitely stay there again but maybe avoid the bar and restaurant which might be a bit too ritzy for these country bumpkins. ;)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RainyDayGirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thanks for your review. It was wonderful that you stayed with us and it’s great to hear that you were able to try out a range of our facilities. Sorry that your room wasn’t ready for you upon arrival, I am sure you wanted to put your feet up after your busy day so hopefully the complimentary drink helped ease the unexpected wait. Everyone is welcome in our bars and restaurants, however for a more relaxed style venue I prefer the Winning Post Bar which is located out the front of the hotel. It has a great bar menu, great specials and you won’t pay over $25 for a feed. I’m sure you won’t be able to resist another visit to see your granddaughter again soon so I hope we see you back at Rydges Parramatta.

All the best,
Mieke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed here last month for 1 night. The reception staff were great, they were very welcoming and friendly. The hotel/our room was spotless. The room we had was very large and had heaps of room for luggage etc.
The room would be ideal for couples.The room has a large circular spa in it and it is fanastic, and so is the in room sauna/shower. I recommend that you ask for extra floor mats as the marble stairs/floor near the spa can get very slippery.
The buffet breakfast is yummy, lots of choice, and it was great to see 2 chef in the centre on the buffet preparing food. Be sure to check with you booked that you select breakfast if that is what you want it and if so confirm this at check in, we were told we havent paid for it when we had, the lady was a little bit pushy over the issue, and we had to see reception staff ourselves to resolve the issue. Apart from that our stay was enjoyable. The hotel is located right near Rosehill racecourse or is within a 5 mins drive to Parramatta.
As like most hotels, any payments paying via credit attract a fee.
My partner and I really enjoyed our stayed and we have recommended it to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Delighted to hear of your enjoyable stay in the Strawberry Road Suite. The spa is certainly the best part about it! Sorry about the confusion over payment for breakfast. I am glad that the front desk staff were able to sort this out for you and that it didn’t leave a “bad taste”. Rise Buffet Breakfast is new to Rydges Parramatta hence it is very pleasing to hear your feedback. We hope to see you back here sooner rather than later.
Thank again!
Mieke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Mid North Coast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Just a one night stay but I couldn't have asked for more.

My room was clean and well appointed and overlooked the race course as well as having a view of the city skyline in the distance.

The service was excellent especially at check-in where a mistake I had made when booking (I somehow booked an extra room on the internet) was cleared up quickly and without fuss.

The breakfast buffet was also excellent.

I would have no hesitation staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
What a lovely review to receive!
Thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you will stay again. The views from the top floors are excellent, especially on a race day when the crowds are in full swing. We can’t wait to see you here again. Don’t stay away too long.

Cheers,

Mieke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosehill
1.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Parramatta
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#3 of 11 in Parramatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parramatta Waldorf Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Sydney Parramatta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mantra Parramatta
Mantra Parramatta
#5 of 11 in Parramatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments George Street, Parramatta
1.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Church Street, Parramatta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Parramatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Parramatta

Property: Rydges Parramatta
Address: 116 James Ruse Dr, Rosehill, Parramatta, New South Wales 2142, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Parramatta > Rosehill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rosehill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Parramatta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Parramatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Parramatta Rosehill
Rydges Parramatta Hotel Rosehill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing