We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected surprise!”
Review of Rydges Parramatta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Parramatta
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rosehill
Kensington, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected surprise!”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We held our works training day at Rydges Parramatta and the conference went really well. We decided to have dinner that night in Steeds restaurant. We really didn’t expect to have such an enjoyable meal in a Hotel Restaurant! The food was amazing and so was the service. The restaurant was full so will make a booking next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Thank you for your kind review, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay. Your comments regarding our multi award winning restaurant Steeds Club Grill & Bar, have been passed onto the Executive Chef. Rydges Parramatta values all feedback and looks forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you.
Rydges Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    238
    116
    60
    26
See reviews for
105
141
32
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gladesville, Australia
Level Contributor
465 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,790 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

This franchise hotel is situated next to a busy road (James Ruse Drive) which is relentless from 6am until peak hour at 8-9am, making this hotel great for amsoniac’s & drummers. The corner rooms on the other side away from the main road have spa baths.

Room 515 is designated a Corner Panoramic View room with a glass wall with views of Rose Hill Gardens across the road, Sydney’s skyline including the Harbour Bridge in the distance & an oil refinery. The glass wall is coated with a reflective UV layer for crystal clear views. Queen bed, 1000 TC sheets, lounge chair, LCD TV with interactive hub to connect laptops, USB or portable DVD players. No free wireless. The balcony is off limits & for show only. Overall the corner room is very spacious & feels open with the huge glass wall.

This hotel may be described as being in Parramatta but it takes a good 25 mins to walk to the city centre & more accurately located in Rose Hill across the road to the race course, nowhere near Parra stadium. The hotel houses Steeds Club Grill & Bar however one of the few Hooters restaurants left in Sydney is just 5 mins down the road on Hassall St & is a family friendly place with pretty girls in the famous skin tight shorts & tight shirts. There is a KFC, Mac Donalds & Woolies supermarket here near Hooters too, The Albion hotel, a late night pub serving bistro & has popular bar is 15 mins walk & has more atmosphere located on corner of George & Harris St. Free parking at hotel & near the Parramatta Speedway, M4 motorway to the city & Granville, famous for Lebanese charcoal chicken.

Public transport is difficult from here & the Rose Hill train station across the road is infrequent & not on the main Sydney City line meaning 1-2 transfers to get to Sydney. Parramatta Ferry terminal is 15-20 mins away & is $5-6 one way for adults to either Darling Harbour or Circular Quay with a change at Rydalmere. Having a car is probably a must if staying here or life becomes labouring.

Having a glass wall that faces a busy road is the main reason why those rooms let in so much noise traffic, although the corner rooms are nice but at $180 a night without breakfast seems somewhat like a loud face slap even your neighbour can hear.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Pale_Ridah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
At Rydges Parramatta, we appreciate all feedback provided to us by our guests and genuinely thank you for taking the time to do so. It is very important for us to hear your comments, have the opportunity to rectify any deficiencies and work towards providing improved service standards and product for our guests.
Thank you
Rydges Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I was very happy with the customer service, how clean the place was and good quality food. I have been in many Rydges before and found this place better than all the other Ridges. The two nights I stayed at the Rydges was great. The food was 10/10. Loved the ”Chicken Burger and chips” the last night of stay. The only criticism is the price of the meals, maybe it could be 30% less. $23 for a chicken burger and chips ??? Wow and I paid for it. The other thing was the noise from the traffic outside when you try to sleep, the bed was very soft and I could hear the TV next door to me to about 3am in the morning. All up, great place to stay (clean and good customer service). Value for money - yes and no?. If they could double glaze the windows and lower the food price it would be good. Also the cappa chino for $5, come on now, it should be less. Still would stay here again and would hope they do some improvements. Thanks for the great customer service.

Room Tip: You can only see for your self
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klipo_on_the_run
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here Rydges Parramatta. Thank you for your feedback, it is vital to improve our service levels and enhance the great product Rydges Parramatta has to offer. Exceptional customer service is something we pride ourselves on, so we are very pleased to hear your feedback regarding our staff.
Rydges Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I only stayed here for one night for a conference, and while it was comfortable, I think that it was pretty overpriced. The parking situation is very easy and you can choose to park in the outside carpark which is free, located right near the entrance of the lobby, or you can pay $10 for valet undercover parking. The front desk staff were also very nice and helpful during checking. The actual hotel itself feels a little outdated in some respects. The lifts are quite old and the room was comfortable, but there were a few little annoying things that tarnished my impression. For example, I went to make myself a cup of coffee in the morning and there was NO powerpoint near the cupboard where the kettle was located. I pulled a plug out attached to a lamp on the floor and found that the outlet had been modified specifically for the non-standard lamp plug, so the standard plug of the kettle could not fit. Eventually, I had to hold the element and kettle in my hands, raised up, and plug it into the wall where the hairdryer outlet was, however, this was halfway up the wall in the bathroom so I had to hold up the kettle and heating element in the raised position until the kettle had boiled!! My room was very noisy as it looked straight over one of the main roads, however, if you had a room on the other side of the hotel I don't think the traffic would be a problem at all. All in all, a comfortable hotel with nice staff, however, I have had much better for $180 per night for a room that does not include breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have a room on the side of the hotel that does not overlook the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drtufty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Rydges Parramatta. We are very glad that you found the Reception team friendly. Once again, thank you taking the time to share your experience as it is very important for us to hear your comments and have the opportunity to rectify any deficiencies.

Rydges Parramatta Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2011

From booking to check out the whole experience exceeded all expectations!!!
Right from word go when we called to make our reservation the girl was very informative and patient when answering all of our questions.
When we checked in were welcomed with warm and friendly smiles,which was great after a long day of travelling.
With the indoor pool the kids had a blast, and who doesn't love a buffet breakie that has so much variety that everyone got what they were after.
The beds are fantastic and really live up to their name of 'Dream Beds', am considering buying one as I was informed on checkout that it is an option after I mentioned that they are wonderful upon checkout.
Would definatley recommend this hotel if you are looking for a warm and friendly hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ariesk_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed our 'Dream Beds', our delicious breakfast buffet, and made use of the facilities we have on offer. Rydges Parramatta values all feedback and looks forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

This place is just a hotel. From the fairly poorly kept rooms to charging a fee for using a Mastercard, this place is caught in a time warp. I know Amex and Diners have extra fees but charging for Mastercard or VISA is a bloody joke. I didn't get an iron in my room and when asked, they brought me one.....one that had melted the material on it from the previous user. Free car parking was about the only advantage of this place. The noisy location and a bar that really isn't more than a dirty pub are great disadvantages.
Clearly a disappointment and the first and last time I will give my or the company's money to this place. Lift your game people.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roger1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Thank you for your valuable feedback after your recent stay at Rydges Parramatta. It is through guest’s observations and comments that we are able to continually improve and enhance on the great product we have to offer. We are glad that you were able to make use of our complimentary car parking facilities. Once again, thank you for your comments.
Kind Regards
Rydges Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rosehill hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed as we had a Race Day with friends at Rosehill Racecourse. The fact that the hotel was directly across the road was perfect. Check-In was not until 2:00pm but we were able to store our luggage with the reception staff. Dinner in the Restaurant was great, we had a fun night with friends and would recommend it for a Race weekend away. Handy tip - Don't forget your guest pass to get back in as there is security on the door.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotland81l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Front Office Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, July 4, 2011
Thank you for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your weekend away at the races and Rydges Parramatta, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Kind Regards
Rydges Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosehill
0.1 mi away
Parramatta Waldorf Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Sydney Parramatta
1.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Parramatta
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#3 of 12 in Parramatta
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Church Street, Parramatta
1.3 mi away
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
#8 of 12 in Parramatta
939 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra Parramatta
Mantra Parramatta
#5 of 12 in Parramatta
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Parramatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Parramatta

Property: Rydges Parramatta
Address: 116 James Ruse Dr, Rosehill, Parramatta, New South Wales 2142, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Parramatta > Rosehill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rosehill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Parramatta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rydges Parramatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Parramatta Rosehill
Rydges Parramatta Hotel Rosehill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing