We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business in Parramatta” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Sydney Parramatta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Sydney Parramatta
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rosehill
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Business in Parramatta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

A nice place to stay, a little out of the way from the CBD however only a $10 cab fare or a 20 minute walk to get to Parramatta's CBD so everything is accessible. All the staff were very happy and friendly from reception, F&B to housekeeping, during my three night stay I didn’t encounter one unhappy staff member. The only downside of my stay was the advertised gym, a "renovated" room with three cardio and one weights machine doesn't make it a gym. Other than that small gripe I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerParramatta, General Manager at Mercure Sydney Parramatta, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Michael T

Thank you for your review following your recent stay.

It was pleasing to read such positive comments about the team here at the Hotel. In regards to the Gym this is an area that is currently under review with the plan to upgrade this facility and move to a more spacious area within the Hotel enabling the opportunity to increase the equipment.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel.

Best regards
Andrew Hills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    409
    128
    24
    13
See reviews for
211
234
93
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

So this hotel isnt exactly IN Parramatta. It is located to Rose Hill Racecourse.That being said, I didnt mind that at all. I drove so the free parking was great. I was also heading to Sydney Olympic Park and decided to take public transport. A Metro bus stops right outside the hotel to Parramatta and trains from there are very regular.

The guy on the desk when I checked in was great. Very friendly and willing to help. I can't fault him. The hotel also provided me with some chocolates for my status with their program which was a very nice touch.

The room was a very good size. Mine looked out the back of the hotel. Not exactly a special view.

The bed was very comfortable. I did have an issue with the TV but once I got around to calling someone, it was fixed quite quickly.

The bathroom was quick basic. It has a shower over the bath which I am not a fan of but can understand why these things are there.

I didnt eat around there, but there are a few places to eat within close proximity if you didnt want to travel or Parramatta is a few minutes down the road.

Considering the location, the normal rates look a bit excessive. I was lucky enough to get a good discounted rate.

Would happily stay here again if i didnt need to be in the city. Especially if I were driving.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crawley86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerParramatta, General Manager at Mercure Sydney Parramatta, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Crawley86

Thank you for your feedback regarding the Mercure Sydney Parramatta.

Your comments in regards to the service you received have been passed onto the team here at the Hotel.

I was pleased to read that your stay had gone well and that we were well placed for your needs.

Once again thank you for your feedback

Best regards
Andrew Hills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2500
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stay at the Mercure Parramatta quite regularly probably a few times throughout the year (recently as Monday 21st April puplic holiday just gone by). It is a few kilometres away from the Parramatta CBD. If you have your own vehicle there is free undercover parking at the back. I've always found reception staff friendly and on the ball with any concerns or questions put to them.

McDonalds, KFC, Woolworths, Subway, a Pizza/pasta joint are all directly opposite the road from the Mercure. They do have a mini bar in the rooms, but these are very expensive (as with most hotels that offer a mini bar) certainly a great convenience and temptation if your too lazy to cross the road for food and drink supplies and willing to pay extras.

One negative for me is the expensive internet usage. $12.50 for 2hrs access maximum of 100mb download $24.50 for 24hr access with a maximum of 300mb to download. To me this is very out dated pricing and very poor download limits in this day and age, they need an update in my opinion. A couple of other hotel chains are now actually offering free wireless internet (up to 1 GB) inclusive in the booking (irrespective if you are part of a club or not).

Otherwise Mercure Parramatta over the years and today is still a trusted and comfortable stay for me when in the Parramatta region, will return again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelman2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerParramatta, General Manager at Mercure Sydney Parramatta, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Travelman2500

Your comments regarding the Mercure Sydney Parramatta on TripAdvisor have been shared with our Mercure team.

I am happy to hear that you enjoy your stays with us when travelling to Parramatta, and that the location is suitable for your needs. In regards to the internet charges it is something that the Hotel is constantly reviewing, however as a regular traveller becoming part of the Accor Le Club loyalty programme would be beneficial to earn both points and also enalbe access to complimentary internet within all Accor Hotels.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Best regards
Andrew Hills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosehill
1.0 mi away
PARKROYAL Parramatta
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#3 of 11 in Parramatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Parramatta
Rydges Parramatta
#3 of 4 in Rosehill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments George Street, Parramatta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mantra Parramatta
Mantra Parramatta
#5 of 11 in Parramatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parramatta Waldorf Apartment Hotel
1.0 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Church Street, Parramatta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sydney Parramatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney Parramatta

Property: Mercure Sydney Parramatta
Address: 106 Hassall St, Rosehill, Parramatta, New South Wales 2142, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Parramatta > Rosehill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rosehill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney Parramatta 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney Parramatta offers spacious and contemporary 4 star accommodation on the fringe of Parramatta CBD. Attending an event? We are in prime position opposite Rosehill Gardens, a 10 minute drive from Sydney Olympic Park and only a short distance to Parramatta City Raceway and Eastern Creek. Mercure Parramatta is the perfect place to relax with our welcoming M Restaurant and Bar open 7 days. With suites and interconnecting rooms why not bring the kids along they will love the use of our Pool, spa and tennis courts on site. So what are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Mercure Sydney Parramatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Parramatta Hotel Rosehill
Mercure Hotel Sydney Parramatta
Mercure Hotel Rosehill
Mercure Sydney Parramatta Rosehill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing