We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Sydney dining experience”

Catalina Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 52 Restaurants in Rose Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $55
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Situated on the shores of Sydney Harbour on Rose Bay, Catalina is a beautiful, airy light-filled restaurant and bar with floor to ceiling glass sliding doors opening out onto a long curved balcony over the water. In keeping with its harbourside location, the menu features beautifully fresh seafood - Sydney Rock oysters shucked to order; house smoked Tasmanian salmon; whole snapper and barramundi, filleted on the premises - but also a wide range of the best meat and poultry Australia has to offer. A fabulous Australian and global wine list (over 600 wines) and welcoming, attentive service, make this restaurant a must-do Sydney dining experience. Come in all day for the full menu - Catalina doesn't close between lunch and dinner - or graze on bar food overlooking the most beautiful harbour in the world.
new zealand
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“True Sydney dining experience”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The location of Catalina is fantastic. We had a Saturday lunch there on a gorgeous sunny day and the views are spectacular. It's great just watching the sea planes and yachts on the harbour. I think the views and location at Catalina are nicer than central Sydney harbour. The staff were geniunely friendly and very helpful. The food was light and tasty with plenty of choice on the menu. I suppose the only downside is the price. Sydney dining is very expensive these days. However, it is a special location and we had a memorable lunch.
I would recommend it to people visiting Sydney.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blackcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    203
    79
    49
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely location, lovely staff”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Catalina's is a lovely location for lunch and the staff are truly wonderful, being warm, welcoming and friendly. The food is always delicious and fresh. The outdoor tables are lovely, even in winter when they heat the area. But the indoor tables are equally good with views from everywhere I could see in the restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“birthday Celebration”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have been to Catalina several times and had my daughter's wedding here as well..There has never been a bad meal here in all those times. Wonderful friendly service ..superb tasting meal from the entree to the dessert and magnificent view ..One of my favourite restaurants of all time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Romantic escape”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Catalina's is the perfect place for a romantic meal, a beautiful view, amazing food and wine and friendly service. You can arrive by sea (by ferry since the ferry station is next to the restaurant), by air, (the seaplanes take off and land in front of the restaurant) or more conventionally, by car (lots of car parking behind the restaurant). The food is consistently good and the service is friendly and unobtrusive. We just can't stop going back there!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chinfia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sterling silver service and food.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I ate here as part of a package with a seaplane flight. We had a seat by the window to enjoy the view and the food was delicious. What we most impressed us was the service. Although there on a cheaper deal we were treated as if we were ordering the most expensive items from the menu and were regular diners. The service is attentive but not pushy. We have a booking for next week. And, I might add, we live 150ks away.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Viviennemb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy M, Owner at Catalina Restaurant, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments about our service and food. We are very fortunate to have a wonderful service team and encourage them to engage with their customers. We believe that service is an exceptionally important element of dining out, and as many of our staff have been with us for well over 5 years, they certainly know their stuff. We all look forward to looking after you again next week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catalina Restaurant also viewed

 
Woollahra, Greater Sydney
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Catalina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing