We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“chillaxing and friendly”

Syl's Sydney Homestay
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rose Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Syl's Sydney Homestay
Ranked #1 of 1 Rose Bay B&B and Inns
canberra
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“chillaxing and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

from the moment we arrived we were met with very friendly service from Syl and Paul. after a leisurely cup of tea and biscuits we were shown our luxurious room and very spacious. the stay was very, very friendly and the breakfast with our other guests was delightful with a mix of hot and cold delights. thank you so much we will definitely be back

Room Tip: we had a shared bathroom, but it was fine the bathroom was huge and clean and no issues with shari...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bicko2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
3
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mildura, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

I booked the "apartment" (downstairs) and a room (upstairs) for myself and my Scottish cousins for about 9 days. The advertisement for this property looked great and being at Rose Bay would be handy for us. However, the "apartment" was more a self contained flat for uni students furnished by uni students. There were cobwebs and daddy longlegs in all rooms, the bedroom flyscreen had huge tears in it, and the bathroom window was devoid of a flyscreen and open to the fresh air. The cleanliness was something to be questioned in both the bathroom and the tiny kitchen and the quality of the furnishings and linen and towels was substandard, that would not have looked out of place at a beach shack - BUT NOT A QUALITY B&B. I was very disappointed in the accommodation and the lack of maintenance of the property in all. The breakfast was very hap-hazard and my cousins love their white bread and butter, but we got margarine and brown bread. There was no consistency with breakfast items - just a jumble of what she had in the fridge. I have been in B&Bs in Perth where they were perfect. Also Sylv was looking after her grandchildren from about 7.30am each workday morning, and over the weekend Sylv would bang cupboard doors with no thought that we were on holidays. We felt that she and Paul were not that friendly or hospitable (that we were intruding into their daily routines) and at the daily rate I was paying, I felt deprived of quality accommodation, quality food (most of it was from Aldi) and quality furnishings. There was no quality air conditioning, only fans. If the property was better maintained without upping the daily rate, I would return, but in the current condition, I would have second thoughts.

Room Tip: Do as much research as possible on the B&B, and ask questions such as does it have air condition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Canyon, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

When I entered the bedroom it was over all nice, but on close inspection the doona cover was not clean and although the sheets appeared clean, they did not have that clean smell.
While I was out someone used my bathroom. I think their granddaughter. Our hosts, Sylvia and Paul were pleasant, but not very warm and carried on their life with family coming and going. Not very relaxing, but well situated although without a car it is a drag.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carolbing B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

As I was travelling alone with 2 children (aged 10 & 7yrs) I wanted somewhere that was close to everything & in a ‘good’ neighbourhood & Rose Bay ticked all the boxes ~ it is an ideal location being an easy & beautiful walk to the ferry and a shorter walk to the bus (even with kids) & it is close to the CBD either by bus or via a quick & scenic ferry trip to Circular Quay.

As anyone with kids will tell you ~ travelling with them can be fraught with difficulties & taking two very active & busy boys with me had me worried (wrestling is their favourite pass time!) but Syl was so relaxed & welcoming with the boys that it instantly put me at ease.

Breakfast at Syl's is relaxed & easy going with a fantastic selection of fruit, cereal, toast, yoghurt and spreads, the kids ate so well I didn’t hear any “I’m hungry” complaints until it was lunch time (quite impressive with 2 growing boys!)

We stayed in the apartment – a separate self-contained and well-appointed space, with a separate bedroom, kitchenette, living room and TV & its own bathroom which after touring around Sydney all day made for relaxed, comfortable evenings ~ bliss! (I would highly recommend this room to anyone with children) The bed was VERY comfortable & it was so beautifully quiet. (We slept soundly all night!)

Syl’s is not a 5 star resort hotel ~ it is what it claims to be .. a ‘Home Stay’ so if you are after bells & whistle's this is not the place for you… but if you are looking for well prices, comfortable accommodation with someone who is welcoming yet non-intrusive, relaxed & warm this is the place for you!

We thoroughly enjoyed our six nights with Syl (The kids have already told us they want to stay at Syl’s when next in Sydney). Kids are SO honest … you know you are onto a winner when they request to go back somewhere!

Room Tip: The Self Contained Apartment was ideal given I was travelling with 2 children!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yamba, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Rose Bay is an ideal location for those who want to be close to the CBD and there's no better way to get around than a quick ferry trip to Circular Quay. (If you don't know Sydney, the Quay is a real traffic hub - ferries, buses and trains.) It's the ideal way to arrive.

And the ideal place to stay in Rose Bay is Syl's Sydney Homestay. It's a pleasant walk to the ferry and a shorter walk to the bus. What makes it really special though is the warmth of the welcome and the views across a bird-filled garden to the Harbour. Breakfast at Syl's is a great start to the day, seated with her and the other guests around a large table with lovely fruit, cereal, toast and spreads, and quality tea and plunger coffee. Gluten-free cereal and toast were no problem.

Our room was self-contained and well-appointed with plenty of hanging space, and the bed was very comfortable. Syl's map of the area was comprehensive and she had some good recommendations for local restaurants for evening meals. We thoroughly enjoyed our four nights there and will return when next Sydney beckons.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbwhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudgee, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

From the moment the front door opened we were welcomed warmly by Syl. Her enthusiasm and open smile made us feel at home. She gave us a map and a detailed explanation of the area and its amenities and how to get to the city. The bus is nearly at the door step and the ferry is a short walk away as are the shops and restaurants. You don't need your car when staying at Syl's - very important when staying anywhere in Sydney. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are well lit so you can read comfortably - she has not compromised with low watt light bulbs and there are lamps on each side of the bed. And most importantly - there is no traffic noise! We slept all night. Breakfast with the other guests was a great and Syl had breakfast & coffee with us so the experience of staying at a B & B was topped off with her knowledge and presence to add to our enjoyment. The food was good; the coffee was plunger brewed and we were very satisfied. The only downside was - it was not butter for the toast - only margarine - but I can live with that.... Five stars for everything. Thanks Syl - we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJW2850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My Aussie friends recommended Syl's Homestay due to its location, cost and ambience. They could not have picked a better place! The B&B is located in the best residencial area of Sydney, the bus to the city center stops literally a few steps from the house, the ferry stop is 15 mins walking distance, restaurants close by, we are walkers so we walked from the home to Double Bay, to Rose Bay, to the ferry, we did take a bus to Bondi Junction and the scenic ferry downtown and to the Opera House. The rooms were spacious, simple and comfortable. The breakfast was prepared according to our taste and food preference, the owners were gracious and extremely helpful with touring ideas during our free time. Yes, we would return to the B&B next time in Sydney. PS every morning we woke up with the most incredible birds feeding off the living room patio.

Room Tip: If you want more privacy and do not wish to be in the main home sharing a bathroom ask for one of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gabri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rose Bay
Double Bay
Intercontinental Sydney Double Bay
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Double Bay
The Savoy Double Bay Hotel
The Savoy Double Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Double Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Bondi Beach
Ultimate Apartments Bondi Beach
Darlinghurst
Vibe Hotel Rushcutters Bay Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Syl's Sydney Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Syl's Sydney Homestay

Property: Syl's Sydney Homestay
Address: 75 Beresford Rd, Rose Bay, Waverley, New South Wales 2029, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Waverley > Rose Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rose Bay
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing