We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outrageous prices for ordinary food”
Review of The Newport

The Newport
Ranked #4 of 49 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $11 - $21
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Australian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Set on the stunning shores of Pittwater, The Newport is a vibrant gathering place for all ages. Nestled amongst idyllic gardens, and incorporating various outdoor dining spaces and bars, the sprawling grounds include areas perfect for whiling the day and night away. Crafted by Executive Chef Sebastien Lutaud, and pizza maestro Vincenzo Biondini, The Newport's diverse marketplace of food experiences include Australian grass-fed beef burgers, ever-classic fish and chips, wood-fired pizzas, and a wide range of fresh salads. As well as an extensive wine, beer and cocktail list, fresh juices, smoothies, milkshakes, and freshly-brewed coffee by Sydney roasters Will & Co. For children and the young at heart, The Newport features a games area reminiscent of a vintage gymnasium - think badminton, ping pong, a giant magnetic Scrabble board, and exercise bikes that can charge mobile phones. The Newport also offers an exciting programme of free events and activities, with live music at the heart of the entertainment experience. One of the most iconic venues in the country, The Newport is a historic destination that embraces the natural beauty of The Northern beaches and the generous spirit of the local community.
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outrageous prices for ordinary food”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a good spot for a drink only. The food is some of the worst you will find on the northern beaches, especially considering the prices they charge. Better options elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank firstpointnoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    92
    56
    35
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
2 reviews
“Great for a beer but the foods the rip off!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Always had fond memories of The Newport Arms but sadly I felt like I was going to a take away and the food definately reflected that of a takeaway. We had to queue to order....we had to collect it too on a tray and it tasted bloody awful. The quality was awful. A family member had the chicken parmigiana. It was one of the worst he has had ever and for $25! Really need to up your game guys!!!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairebow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron B, Public Relations Manager at The Newport, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Claire, thank you for your feedback. It sounds like you visited on a super busy day, however with any queues, we activate 3 till people to promptly attend to this. The order & collect method is used in most pubs in Sydney. The parmy tends to be one of our most popular items, so will certainly have the team investigate this to ensure we maintain the usual food quality. What would help is if you could email us the date of your visit, please email info@newportarms.com.au, attn: Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
201 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“fantastic food, kids love it.”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a great place great view loved the food.
The kids had a fantastic time in the playground. The staff were really friendly and great with the kids.
The kids ate all there food which doesnt always happen.
Playground is great for kids under 8 not great for the older kids.
There was a great selection of food from the bistro we had a big group and everyone could order when they were ready with out having to wait.
We feed the kids first enjoyed some drinks then while we ate the kids played in the playgrounds.
There could have been a better wine selection.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cassie436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron B, Public Relations Manager at The Newport, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Cassie, thank you for your kind review. The bistro and beergarden is certainly a win-win for both parents and kids. Whilst out printed menus have a small 'sample' wine list, a full and extensive wine list is available at the bar. We will re-design this in next run to make it clearer. Thanks for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Family friendly with good pizzas”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Newport arms used to be regular spot to dine before we had kids. Been a while since we have been there but worth returning to. There's 2 small playgrounds to amuse the kids and decent sized kids meals. We had pizza for Lunch and was delicious. Good range of beer and wine and gorgeous views over Pitwater. Recommend!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MastermindTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron B, Public Relations Manager at The Newport, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Mastermind, thank you for great feedback about our Pizza as well as our extensive wine & beer range, in fact we have over 18 tap beers from a single service point, which I understand to be the latest at any bar in Australia, and we also have an extensive bottle beer range, cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The worst food on the northern beaches, lucky they've got a nice view.”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch in the bistro over easter. I could recommend the pizzas but other than that everything we ordered was over priced, tasteless and cold rubbish. The meals had to have been cooked a day or two earlier. Literally the worst seafood ive ever eaten in sydney.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron B, Public Relations Manager at The Newport, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Julian B, wow, what a harsh review, we apologise that we have not delivered on your expectations as this is certainly out of character for the Garden Bistro as we only ever seem to get positive feedback about the seafood as we always cook-to-order. Julian, it would be great if you could contact us with a little more information on when you visited and what you ordered so that we can investigate fully so we can address any issues that may have occurred. please contact me on info@newportarms.com.au attention to myself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Newport also viewed

 
Newport, Pittwater
Newport, Pittwater
 
Palm Beach, Pittwater
Newport, Pittwater
 

Been to The Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing