We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Mosman
Open today: 9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Taronga Zoo
from $33.04
More Info
from $39.78
More Info
from $86.98
More Info
from $43.83
More Info
Reviews (6,881)
Filter reviews
6,881 results
Traveler rating
3,720
1,943
770
280
168
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,720
1,943
770
280
168
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bird show cable car ferry ride circular quay main entrance sky safari big cats behind the scenes sydney harbour opera house sky rail animal enclosures keeper talks koala encounter school holidays opal card wild ropes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 6,881 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First time that my kids had been to the zoo. Great zoo with a long history of looking after it's animals, fantastic selection of animals with some great views of the city. Be prepared for lots of walking including up steep hills. Could be better signage (even though they do provide a map) on how to get around. Although a bit pricey (we ended up purchasing an annual pass online as it worked out cheaper for our family) you know that the money goes to looking after the animals, research, breeding programs etc Coming from a rural area it does work out an expensive day esp if you take public transport (don't get me started with that). We suggest taking a packed lunch to help keep costs down. Looking forward to the African Safari exhibit that is opening soon, so they will have lions. Think they will overall have to lift their game a little more now that Sydney Zoo is open in the western suburbs.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank ClaireDarryl2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited here ten years ago and loved it. This previous experience made my return even more disappointing. Signage and directions were poor, there were hardly any animals, and those they had, were hiding or not on display. A lot of habitats lacked that natural feel. Only one eatery area was open. Perhaps it has become more overseas tourist focussed with more Australian animals, seemingly reducing the number of others. In my opinion it has fallen far behind Melbourne Zoo, which has beautiful expansive, natural habitats and a wide range of animals. It is also ridiculously expensive in comparison to other Australian zoos. At $50 an adult it is $12 more than Melbourne, as an example. Had to line up for the Tiger trek where they let a limited number of people into a pretend aeroplane where we were trapped inside and subjected to a long winded gimmicky advertisement for Sumatra. Once out there was a short walk around to see tigers, of which the back of one lone tiger was on display. Not impressed.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank ebenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Taronga is very wll designed to allow for close encounters with many interesting and rare animals, in particular from the Australian fauna. Lots of infomation available on posters an plaques and the Taraonga app is a great tool both to learn and to orient around the park. The ferry trip from Circular quay is a bonus an so is the cable car riden from the ferry up to the main entrance. Well worth a 1/2 day visit.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank torbj_rns997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The gondola ride up is pretty cool, the zoo is real nice as well there is a good range of animals here however we didn’t get to see any lions. The animals look well cared for. So many people were at the zoo during the Christmas and New Year break it was packed however it was a good experience for is first timers it was lots of fun our family enjoyed it but a bit tiresome due to lots of walking. I really enjoyed it though.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank MarcelT2A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020

I had a great zoo visit with a work colleague of mine. Animals from Australia, as well as other parts of the world. I found it interesting to have open air exhibits, where the animals that won't eat you are very close to you and can walk up to you if they so wish. We took a ferry across to the zoo from Circular Que and then took a gondola to the top. There is a lot of walking and stairs on the zoo grounds, and wheel chair ramps too. Be prepared for the amount of walking (it was about 9 KM in total for me).

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank froggyJMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews