We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the Refurbished Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Metro Hotel Miranda
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed for one night, in a refurbished room on the fourth floor.

I must say the exterior of the building and the carpark give a decidedly "run down" feel upon arrival. The reception area is small and modest. I booked a room on the fourth floor after reading reviews on Trip Advisor.... and I am so glas I did.

The rooms have been refurbished to a very good standard. They are stylish, the furnishings are all good quality, and the bathroom was really great. It has a big shower (hot water came instantly when turned on which I love, as some hotels you can wait for 5 mins), lovely basin with chic tap ware. The bed and pillows were comfy, it had a nice large new TV.

I did speak to another guest staying in a non refurbished room, and the feedback was not good at all.

It is in a handy location, directly across from a Westfield, and only a very short stroll to a nice pub and selection of restaurants.

Next time I need to stay down this way, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheClarkeClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Clarkeclan,
Thank you for taking the time to review Metro Hotel Miranda.
The building was built in 1975 so it is an older style Hotel however you can never tell a book by its cover,
At the Metro Hotel we have the option of offering different room types which gives our guests the choice in your case you choose the 4th floor and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.
In my opinion the the balcony rooms are excellent value and are very clean and tidy. Once again it comes down to choice.
Happy travels to you and yours and we look forward to you staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 352 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

It is a older looking hotel but its local makes up for everything; directly beside the Miranda Westfield, awesome food places and eateries around the corner and just a two block walk from the Miranda train station. The reception was helpful and friendly.
Cockatoos sat on our balcony which we thought we pets but they're just wild.
Only down side is they do not have a breakfast option but there is a cafe downstairs under the hotel that more than makes up for that.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank truckieandthewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review of Metro Hotel Miranda. I agree the location of the Hotel is excellent, it is very easy to get around the local area and the train station is an easy walk.
The bird life in this area is amazing, our guests give the birds treats which ofcourse they enjoy.
The Hotel has in the past offered Room service breakfast and meals however with the cafe on ground level it seemed a great option for our guests to use this venue.
Once again thank you for choosing Metro Hotel Miranda, Happy travels to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times and have always found it to be clean and quiet. The hotel has off street parking and the staff was extremely helpful. Free wi fi provided and a microwave, bar fridge and tea making facilities provided. Is close to Miranda Fair Shopping Centre, restaurants, movie theatres. The railway station is a 5 minute walk and it is only 35 minutes by rail to Sydney and 10 minute train ride to the Cronulla surf beach. A highlight of our stay was the cockatoos landing on the balcony every afternoon to be fed a biscuit.

Room Tip: We were on the east side and enjoyed the morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TFJ1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at Metro Hotel Miranda and taking the time to write a review.
Very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location to suit your needs,
The cockatoos are delightful I agree and are quite cheeky, they do enjoy the hotel biscuits.
Happy holidays to you, i hope we will meet again in th future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a very clean and reasonably priced motel given its location. It is also surprisingly quiet for a property on the main road. We had a room with a King Size bed and very modern facilities, but a couple of things did let us down. The bed was 2 king singles pushed together (to be expected, I know) however with only a thin mattress protector covering it, the ridge down the centre was very prominent and the mattresses were very hard and uncomfortable. We woke in the morning with sore backs and hips. The bed was short sheeted which meant our feet were either on the bare mattress or mattress protector. There is a lot of light from the corridor which gets into the room through the large gaps in the doorway. We had to put blankets and pillows up against the door in order to darken the room so we could get to sleep. The bar fridge is the smallest bar fridge we have ever come across. We bought a bottle of wine to have in the room and tried to put in in the fridge to chill. It didn't fit, even after pulling the water jug and glasses out first. It just doesn't have the dimensions to accomodate a bottle of wine.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank San-Dee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest,Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I have read your review with interest and taken up your points with my housekeepers. The beds and pillows on the 4th floor are top quality, we have had so much positive feed back your comments in regard to the bedding and pillows surprised me.
The doors on level four are fire rated for 4 hours so I cannot understand how light could get in as there are no gaps.
The fridges, I agree they are on the small size, we do however have a guest fridge and freezer in the dining room on level one.
Please in the future, contact reception if you have any issues as we would have done every thing possible to ensure you had a peaceful and comfortable nights sleep.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed here a couple of times in the process of emigrating to the Sutherland area of Sydney.

The good points are the location - it is very close to Miranda train station (no noise though) and also to the Miranda shopping centre which is huge. Also you can get to Cronulla beach very easily on the train (8 minutes on the train & then 2 minutes walk to the sea).

The hotel is fairly basic but then the price reflects that and the beds are comfortable & it's clean. We found it very quiet, and there are plenty of places to eat in the nearby shopping centre (tip - out of hotel walk left & then across the road through underground car park to get into the shopping centre quickly)

It was good that there was a fridge & microwave in the room & plates & cutlery so you can get a take away & eat in the room if you like, but there are plenty of places to eat out (Gourmet Pizza, Chinese, Indian etc.)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlunF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Metro Hotel has an excellent location, and I agree the Westfield just across the road is a great shopping centre.
We now have a cafe on ground level in the hotel which is open 7 days a week the menu is excellent. Our guests are enjoying the cafe as it is so convenient.
We do try to make our rooms as comfortable as possible with all the little extras that make your stay with us a pleasant as possible.
Thank you for staying with us and hopefully we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Very good hotel, the staff were really friendly. The rooms were recently renovated and we thought they looked beautiful however 410 is a tad smaller than we were expecting. Only downside was housekeeping left our door open when they finished making up the room, we got back from a wedding after 10 pm to come back to see the door adjarred , praying nothing had been stolen! Thankfully nothing was, we also organised a late checkout when we checked in, I don't think housekeeping got the message as they were knocking on the door asking when we were leaving as checkout was at 10 am, apart from that everything was very good. We organised a private driver from the hotel and he was very good, even though we were very tired, his customer service was excellent from start to finish, we hope he can get back into his other job real soon.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Alicia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Alicia,
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry that your door was left ajar, there is no excuse for this, it is not accpetable, your late departure was included on the daily housekeepers notes, therefore you should not have been disturbed, I wish you had told me before you departed the Hotel. On behalf of my staff I am very sorry, you can be assured that I will follow up with these issues with the housekeeper who was allocated to the 4th Floor.
The private taxi service we use at this hotel is a very popular service to our guests, as taxis are so difficult to get in this area. We have had guests waiting up to 40 minutes for a taxi in the past. You were a lovely couple thank you for staying at Metro Hotel Miranda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Very clean and freshly renovated motel just near Miranda Westfield
Great staff will not hesitate to stay again. Also great food at the Miranda pub just up the road, and the Westfield shopping centre is right next door. Also offers on site parking free of charge unlike many Sydney hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1960-Gran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Very pleased you enjoyed your stay at Metro Hotel Miranda. I agree the Miranda Pub is a good choice for meals, however a cafe is opening at this location which is going to offer a delicious menu to our guests, which will be very convenient especially in the winter months. Car parking is a major issue, we have recently made some changes here, and as you will be aware our guests are issued with a car parking permit which allows all guests free parking. Once again thank you for your kind words, we appreciate your feed back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miranda
3.1 mi away
Eventhouse Cronulla
Eventhouse Cronulla
#1 of 2 in Cronulla
70 reviews
5.9 mi away
Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach
Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach
#1 of 1 in Brighton le Sands
1,888 reviews
8.9 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Bankstown Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Cronulla Motor Inn
Cronulla Motor Inn
#2 of 2 in Cronulla
72 reviews
6.1 mi away
Engadine Motor Inn
Engadine Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Engadine
56 reviews
1.1 mi away
Abcot Inn
Abcot Inn
#1 of 1 in Sylvania
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel Miranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Miranda

Address: 522 - 524 Kingsway | Cnr Jackson Avenue, Miranda, New South Wales 2228, Australia (Formerly Metro Inn Miranda)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Sutherland Shire > Miranda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
Price Range: $96 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Miranda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: 45 minutes south of the CBD, the Sutherland Shire is one of Sydney's Best Kept Secrets. Comprised of several suburbs, this beautiful part of the world has something for everyone. From the beach to the shopping centres to the restaurants all travelers can experience a wonderful holiday without even leaving the city. Comfort, service and value for money are what every guest will experience at Metro Hotel Miranda. Whether for the business traveler or a family on holiday, the Metro Hotel Miranda has a room suitable for every guest. Additional bedding can be added to some room types providing even greater value for money. Situated on the highest point of Miranda, the Metro Hotel Miranda boasts spectacular views over Sydney City and Botany Bay. Providing a home away from home atmosphere for all, the Metro Hotel Miranda has 52 well-furnished guestrooms. Each of the well appointed rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, television, radio, iron and ironing board, refrigerator, hairdryer, telephone, microwave, toaster and en-suite. Complimentary wireless internet access is available in each room. A lounge is also open for all guests to enjoy with tea and coffee making facilities, comfy couch, television, computer, dining room table and a bbq on the balcony. Laundry facilities also available. A cafe is located below the hotel, which is open daily for meals at affordable prices.There is also a Fitness First gym below the hotel which guests can use for a nominal fee.The Metro Hotel Miranda has a strict non-smoking policy in the rooms, however many rooms have a balcony that guests can smoke on. Enjoy a visit from the Cockatoos which visit regularly. For the shop-o-holics, Miranda's Westfield shopping centre, one of Australia's largest shopping and entertainment centres, is adjacent to the Metro Hotel Miranda and is easily accessible from the hotel. Renowned for its warm and friendly service, the staff at Metro Hotel Miranda will ensure your stay is a pleasant and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Metro Hotel Miranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Miranda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing