We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples Review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Metro Hotel Miranda
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
Certificate of Excellence
cessnock
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couples Review”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We have stayed at the Metro many times and have always enjoyed it . This time we paid extra for the refurbished room but were very disappointed . While the room was beautifully styled and very clean we found it extremely small and claustrophobic and the lack of a balcony added to this feeling . We had to have the air-con all night to add airflow to the room . I would not stay in these rooms again but would opt for the cheaper ones . The staff as usual were great .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dotticessnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. As a guest of Metro Hotel Miranda I value your feed back.
The rooms on the top floor, as you say are very nice, however they do not have balconies, this does make a difference to the rooms, unfortunatley we were not able to add balconies to the top floor, we did try.
As you are aware our original floors all have balconies, which does give all our guests the option of fresh air over air con. Thank you for choosing Metro Hotel, hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    137
    45
    15
    6
See reviews for
94
90
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is my second visit to this Hotel. The staff are very helpful and friendly.
The location is ideal for my business meetings. The top floor is very comfortable and the views are great towards Sydney.
I arrived after hours and the manager was extremely courteous and helpful as i required internet and a breakfast order.
The customer service was excellent, nothing was to much trouble.

Room Tip: Book level 4 for a wonderful stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words.
The feed back we get from our guests is always welcome.
Very pleased that you have found Metro Hotel Miranda and the Hotel suits your requirements while in Sydney.
Thank you for choosing Metro Hotel Miranda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACT
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

A good value for money hotel, with quiet rooms and good location. I stayed one night, prior to an appointment in Sydney, and I was impressed. The lady at the desk was funny and quite a nice person to deal with after a long drive. Considering I had literally just pulled in to Sydney, was good to deal with someone who wasn't stuck up or anything.
I did think it a bit funny that there were signs 'everywhere' for "Don't do this, Don't do that..." was a bit strange, but otherwise the place was quite comfortable. ESpecially the new rooms. Recommend these.

Room Tip: Get the refurbished upper floor rooms. They don't have a balcony - but they are nicer. They do c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaTTyRaTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review and your kind words. I am pleased that Metro Hotel Miranda was quiet and comfortable for you, during your stay.
The notices are just there to remind all guests to be respectful and quite and to consider all my guests so they can all have a peaceful nights sleep, as you did.
Cathy, the lady at front desk who checked you into the hotel is such a nice person. its all about customer service and that is what we all work toward at Miranda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Our room was comfortable, quiet and we had the pleasure of cockatoos and another brightly coloured parrot on our small balcony. Staff were helpful and for its locality, it was better than I had expected.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of Metro Hotel Miranda.
The local bird life is amazing and the birds do get spoilt by our guests.
I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and the staff were helpful and friendly.
New Zealand is not so far away so hopefully we may meet again some time soon.
Once again thank you for choosing Metro Hotel Miranda for your destination in Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

On most occasions you get disappointed by a hotel. In this case I had simply booked as it was walking distance from a morning meeting. the out side of the hotel is a bit run down and you prepare yourself for the worst. Even the lobby is a bit shabby (like a hostel) but nonetheless I knew that they had charged me a very fair rate so I sent ahead. I had paid a little bit more for the superior rooms (4th floor) and on leaving the lift I was actually surprised. The room is small but clean, modern and very functional. It was quite and the trimmings were more than expected. This hotel keeps reminding me that it IS the small things that matter - very friendly (helpful) staff and a hot chocolate before dinner. Next time I have a meeting in Miranda I will stay here!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the top floor. it gives you a desk and is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craigsmithdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review.
Your kind words are appreciated. I am so pleased Metro Hotel Miranda was, " a nice little surprise". and the Hotel suited your requirements.
You are so correct, its the little things that make all the difference and hot chocolate is definitely one.!!!
Thank you for staying with us, hopefully we may meet again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2012

External parking very cramped, undercover parking almost impossible to get into with anything but a small car due to tight bends.
Bathroom very tired, broken tiles with black stains in grout. Lifts and passages quite dirty.
Would comment on the breakfast ordered but it failed to be delivered.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelongnsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Car Parking at Metro Hotel Miranda is always very busy however there are 3 levels of undercover parking under the building which is very easy to access. The top 2 car parks are the closest to reception which is why most of my guests choose to park at that location.
Always check with reception as in Sydney, Parking is always at a priority.
Lifts at this location are used by 8 businesses one being a Gym, the lifts are cleaned every day.
Bathrooms in our balcony queen rooms are being upgraded how ever I can assure you they are all very clean.
I do apoligise in regard to the breakfast not being delivered, if you wish to contact me I will personally look into this for you.
I am very sorry we did not meet your requirements if you wish to stay with us again please call me direct and I will personally look after your booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miranda
3.1 mi away
Eventhouse Cronulla
Eventhouse Cronulla
#1 of 2 in Cronulla
48 reviews
5.9 mi away
Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach
Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach
#1 of 1 in Brighton le Sands
1,827 reviews
7.5 mi away
Quality Hotel CKS Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Cronulla Motor Inn Hotel
Cronulla Motor Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cronulla
71 reviews
1.1 mi away
Abcot Inn
Abcot Inn
#1 of 1 in Sylvania
90 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caringbah Hotel
Caringbah Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caringbah
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel Miranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Miranda

Property: Metro Hotel Miranda
Address: 522 - 524 Kingsway | Cnr Jackson Avenue, Miranda, New South Wales 2228, Australia (Formerly Metro Inn Miranda)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Sutherland Shire > Miranda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Miranda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: 45 minutes south of the CBD, the Sutherland Shire is one of Sydney's Best Kept Secrets. Comprised of several suburbs, this beautiful part of the world has something for everyone. From the beach to the shopping centres to the restaurants all travelers can experience a wonderful holiday without even leaving the city. Comfort, service and value for money are what every guest will experience at Metro Hotel Miranda. Whether for the business traveler or a family on holiday, the Metro Hotel Miranda has a room suitable for every guest. Additional bedding can be added to some room types providing even greater value for money. Situated on the highest point of Miranda, the Metro Hotel Miranda boasts spectacular views over Sydney City and Botany Bay. Providing a home away from home atmosphere for all, the Metro Hotel Miranda has 52 well-furnished guestrooms. Each of the well appointed rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, television, radio, iron and ironing board, refrigerator, hairdryer, telephone, microwave, toaster and en-suite. Complimentary wireless internet access is available in each room. A lounge is also open for all guests to enjoy with tea and coffee making facilities, comfy couch, television, computer, dining room table and a bbq on the balcony. Laundry facilities also available. A cafe is located below the hotel, which is open daily for meals at affordable prices.There is also a Fitness First gym below the hotel which guests can use for a nominal fee.The Metro Hotel Miranda has a strict non-smoking policy in the rooms, however many rooms have a balcony that guests can smoke on. Enjoy a visit from the Cockatoos which visit regularly. For the shop-o-holics, Miranda's Westfield shopping centre, one of Australia's largest shopping and entertainment centres, is adjacent to the Metro Hotel Miranda and is easily accessible from the hotel. Renowned for its warm and friendly service, the staff at Metro Hotel Miranda will ensure your stay is a pleasant and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Metro Hotel Miranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Miranda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing