We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My goodness how dreadful!”
Review of Thai Splendid

Thai Splendid
Ranked #12 of 63 Restaurants in Miranda
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“My goodness how dreadful!”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I cannot believe this restaurant has had one single good review.
If anyone has been to Thailand and eaten, this is a disgrace to even call this restaurant Thai, and as for "Splendid" they need to look in the dictionary.

We went there when it first opened a few years ago and had an OK meal (which is why we went back) However this time it was horrid, we did not eat our dishes as they were all so sickly sweet.

Absolutely nothing like Thai food is meant to be. Having said that all the Thai restaurants in this part of Sydney are the same, horridly sweet. After reading these other reviews, maybe people like sweet thickly coated food,

We had a pork dish that was absolutely vile. I think the main reason people go here is it is close to the cinema. (We also asked for our food to be more authentic and not so sweet.)

A waste of time, money and even if I was desperate I would not eat here.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunda_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    25
    1
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good decent Thai, in a great location”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I went here a fortnight ago with a friend from Scotland, who was in Australia on holidays. We had the lunch menu, where you can pick a dish with rice for $12. My friend had the Masaman Beef Curry and I had the Chicken with Cashew Nuts. Altogether the meals were $15 each once we included our drink. I'd definitely recommend this restaurant at lunch time rather than at dinner, where the menu tends to get very expensive. Though, the food overall is fantastic and the location is so convenient, situated at the bottom of Westfield Miranda, on the Corners of Urunga Parade & Kiora Road. The train station is also across the road.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SydneyAngel_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnet Bay
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Not your typical menu. Heaps of seafood choices. Higher price but well worth it. One bad experience when they forgot our entrees but never any other negatives.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MacaBonnetBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“very good local Thai”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Good fresh food, nice surroundings, good service.
Overall a very pleasant restaurant in Miranda.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank kazganymede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Staff are very good and the service is very good, but a bit slow on busy nights

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holden10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Splendid also viewed

Miranda, Sutherland Shire
Miranda, Sutherland Shire
 
Miranda, Sutherland Shire
Caringbah, Sutherland Shire
 
Miranda, Sutherland Shire
Miranda, Sutherland Shire
 

Been to Thai Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing