We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very happy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mascot
A TripAdvisor Member
sydney
1
Reviewed October 30, 2010

i know you would pay more we would have liked to make a cuppa in our room

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,983 - 1,989 of 2,168 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2010

If you have a flight leaving from Sydney airport and require a bed for the night that is good value, then this is the place. I travelled to the NRL GF, and had an early'ish flight the next day. Wake up, quick shower, shuttle to the airport, grab coffee & breakfast at airport, catch your flight. No fuss.

PROS
Location, clean room, excellent value, shuttle bus service available to & from airport.

CONS
Not much to do nearby, basics only @ hotel.

Advice
Book the shuttle bus before you arrive ($6 one way, $12 return), or get a taxi to the hotel it's only a 5 min trip & book return shuttle from the hotel.

Not much in the way of food close by (McDonalds & Krispy Kreme located next door).

Ideal hotel if you need a one night stay close to the airport. Clean room ok bed.
Nothing more nothing less.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnsiesonHol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

I had a night stopover in Sydney between flights and I chose this hotel because it was really good value. It did exactly what I wanted it to do - provided me somewhere clean and comfortable to sleep for a few hours. The room was really nice and I slept very soundly. Also enjoyed watching some TV and a hot shower. Brilliant!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

The words of Basil Fawlty from Fawlty Towers came to mind as I raised the blind to see not the Sydney Harbour Bridge but, rather, Sydney airport's 24/7 "Krispy Kreme" and Macca's outlets

I stayed at the Hotel Formule last night and had no complaints.

The room was spartan but spotlessly clean.

This hotel is here for a purpose and fits the bill perfectly for the price.

It wouldn't be difficult to travel to the CBD from here but I was more than happy to limit my wanderings to the aformentioned KrispyKreme and Macca's outlets

Excellent shuttle connection to and from airport with at $6.00 a journey.

Only complaint- why does everyone call it "Formula" when it is spelt "Formule"!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJTBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We thought this place was great value for the price. It's nothing flash but when you pay $ 79 you know what it will be & we were suprised that our room had a Queen bed & bunks but room to mve around. Bathroom was small but again remember the price. It always amazes me when people pay a cheap price then expect top class facilities. You get what you pay for anyone complaining need to go up the road and pay $200+ and can then expect top class facilities. We live in Sydney but would use this motel again when we have a early flight out in the morning( we walked to the airport with our bags its very close to the airport)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Simple, clean and you get what you pay for. You'd never stay here on a holiday its simply a place to sleep. Its very close to the airport ($8 for 2 people and 2 suitcases) and a 5 min walk to the bus stop that takes you right into the Sydney CBD.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevenleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

This hotel is great if you just want to get to and from the airport, the prices are not exactly cheap but are some of the better rates for airport hotels! They offer a $6 per person shuttle to and from the hotel, make sure you use this as I can speak from experience that with the traffic a taxi works out more expensive if theres only 1 or 2 of you! Clean rooms with shower and toilet and TV, krispy kreme doughnuts and McDonalds within a stones a throw,

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stokie_gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mascot hotels
0.0 mi away
Mantra Hotel at Sydney Airport
0.3 mi away
Ibis Sydney Airport
Ibis Sydney Airport
#9 of 12 in Mascot
1,830 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Airport
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport

Address: 5 Ross Smith Ave, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1 Sydney Airport)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mascot
Price Range: $82 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Sydney
Formule One Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing