We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location, nothing exceptional yet good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mascot
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Handy location, nothing exceptional yet good value”
Reviewed October 6, 2010

If you have a flight leaving from Sydney airport and require a bed for the night that is good value, then this is the place. I travelled to the NRL GF, and had an early'ish flight the next day. Wake up, quick shower, shuttle to the airport, grab coffee & breakfast at airport, catch your flight. No fuss.

PROS
Location, clean room, excellent value, shuttle bus service available to & from airport.

CONS
Not much to do nearby, basics only @ hotel.

Advice
Book the shuttle bus before you arrive ($6 one way, $12 return), or get a taxi to the hotel it's only a 5 min trip & book return shuttle from the hotel.

Not much in the way of food close by (McDonalds & Krispy Kreme located next door).

Ideal hotel if you need a one night stay close to the airport. Clean room ok bed.
Nothing more nothing less.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnsiesonHol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    559
    715
    326
    258
See reviews for
551
616
428
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

I had a night stopover in Sydney between flights and I chose this hotel because it was really good value. It did exactly what I wanted it to do - provided me somewhere clean and comfortable to sleep for a few hours. The room was really nice and I slept very soundly. Also enjoyed watching some TV and a hot shower. Brilliant!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2010

The words of Basil Fawlty from Fawlty Towers came to mind as I raised the blind to see not the Sydney Harbour Bridge but, rather, Sydney airport's 24/7 "Krispy Kreme" and Macca's outlets

I stayed at the Hotel Formule last night and had no complaints.

The room was spartan but spotlessly clean.

This hotel is here for a purpose and fits the bill perfectly for the price.

It wouldn't be difficult to travel to the CBD from here but I was more than happy to limit my wanderings to the aformentioned KrispyKreme and Macca's outlets

Excellent shuttle connection to and from airport with at $6.00 a journey.

Only complaint- why does everyone call it "Formula" when it is spelt "Formule"!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJTBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We thought this place was great value for the price. It's nothing flash but when you pay $ 79 you know what it will be & we were suprised that our room had a Queen bed & bunks but room to mve around. Bathroom was small but again remember the price. It always amazes me when people pay a cheap price then expect top class facilities. You get what you pay for anyone complaining need to go up the road and pay $200+ and can then expect top class facilities. We live in Sydney but would use this motel again when we have a early flight out in the morning( we walked to the airport with our bags its very close to the airport)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Simple, clean and you get what you pay for. You'd never stay here on a holiday its simply a place to sleep. Its very close to the airport ($8 for 2 people and 2 suitcases) and a 5 min walk to the bus stop that takes you right into the Sydney CBD.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
423 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

This hotel is great if you just want to get to and from the airport, the prices are not exactly cheap but are some of the better rates for airport hotels! They offer a $6 per person shuttle to and from the hotel, make sure you use this as I can speak from experience that with the traffic a taxi works out more expensive if theres only 1 or 2 of you! Clean rooms with shower and toilet and TV, krispy kreme doughnuts and McDonalds within a stones a throw,

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stokie_gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

PRO'S
- Great location. So close to airport!!!
- close to good restaurants - in mascot
- friendly staff
- cheap parking ($5)
and not to forget Krispy Kremes!

CONS:
- Not a very good nights sleep. :( But maybe that was the fact i was going overseas the next day and was excited??
- Paper thin walls...
- and not too clean.... since i have left i havent stopped scratching!! - Heres hoping its not lice :P

But really, you wouldnt stay here unless your goin to the airport or a function near by.
So theres no use complaining really, as its so close to the airport and was only for one night!
I would stay here again for the airport situation!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mascot hotels
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
1.3 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Mascot Central
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport

Property: Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Address: 5 Ross Smith Ave, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1 Sydney Airport)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Sydney
Formule One Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing