We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mascot
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not a great place to stay”
Reviewed May 26, 2010

Hotel was cheap and close to the airport. The staff were pretty uninterested in anyting that was going on. The staiwell looked like it had several ashtrays tipped into it near the the bottom exit.

Room was small and very basic. Could only just walk around the end of the bed.

On a postive note it was very quiet with double glazzed windows. Best and cheapest hotel to stay at whilst passing through Sydney, far quieter than the some of the other options. Bed was comfey.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventureguyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    560
    715
    326
    260
See reviews for
552
617
428
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Its cheap - for a reason. If you want a cheap overnight airport stay this fits the bill but certainly does not aspire to be anything more than that. Room was 'basic'- imagine a prison cell with (worn out) carpet. Shower head fell off when we tried to use the shower. Only positive point is that you can walk to the Stamford hotel's bar for a nice pub meal (if you dont mind walking along the edge of the road)

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank janeymcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mascot hotels

Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Formule 1 for one night prior to a morning flight. Chosen purely based on the fact it was the cheapest hotel close to the airport, I didn't expect anything fancy and my expectations were not surpassed.

This was the first time I'd stayed in a Formule 1. The best comparison is to a private room in a hostel. It was clean, and contained a double bed with a single bunk bed over the top. The bed wasn't great – very very soft (= worn out), but we both slept fine. The room is small, and I'd imagine it would be pretty cramped if you had three people in the same room, but you don't come to a place like this to hang out in the room. It has a small desk and chair where you can set up a laptop or write, as well as a small TV.

The bathroom is spartan, there is no set shower cubicle which is always annoying. It is just a curtain so the floor gets soaked after someone has their shower. There is also no place in the shower to sit your toiletries, forcing you to open and close the curtain to grab you stuff from the sink (further soaking the room).

Check-in was problem free, as was check-out. The domestic terminal was approx. 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The walk isn't completely undercover so if it's raining catch a cab or one of the airport shuttles that comes to the hotel. We caught the shuttle from the hotel to the International Terminal ($6 per person) which left 10 minutes after the scheduled time (after telling us to get there 10 minutes prior to schedule, meaning we stood out front for over 20 minutes). Not the hotels fault by any means, just allow some extra time if you plan to use the shuttle.

Overall it's fine for what it is – a bed and shower close to the airport. Nothing more, nothing less.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bellsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Ideal location for the aiport but thats all this hotel has going for it. Its very basic, pretty grubby rooms and after a great holiday it was a depressing place to stay before our flight home. The lifts and fellow guests kept us awake, its a 24hr hotel reception and people were coming and going all night. That said its ideal for overnight at the airport and perfect if you have an early flight.
Only a Donut shop and MacDonalds next door to eat in if your hungry.
The transfer bus from the airport costs $6.00 each which can soon mount up with 5 in your family!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnet356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

My tip would be to eat at the taxi drivers cafe near the domestic airport - multi cultural food, good, and cheap! I wasn't sure if just for the drivers but no the public can also purchase food.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobynBroome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast NSW
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

We stayed in the recently added wing in a queen room.

The worst things about this hotel are as follows -

- Pillows with no substance whatsoever. You might as well try to sleep on some cotton wool. If at all possible, bring your own pillows or something you can use as a pillow. If not possible and you want a decent nights sleep but can't sleep well without a decent pillow, you might want to reconsider staying here.

- The shower rooms. Who on earth designed these things! Water will get all over the floor when you shower and in some rooms will actually end up soaking the carpet of the room, too. You need to plan your shower for the very last moment and once you are done you will want to use your towel/s to cover the floor in case you need to use the toilet or the sink. You certainly do not want to shower before bed, because the floor in that room will be wet all night and you won't have towels for the morning unless you bring your own.

- There are no toiletries provided other than a bar of soap, so plan accordingly and bring your own.

- You may be able to hear the planes, depending of course on which runway they are using. The hotel is near to the flight path for one of the runways (the short one which is generally used by 737/airbus a320 type aircraft as well as lighter planes). However there is a curfew which I believe starts between somewhere between 10pm to midnight and 6am, so you will have at least 6 hours without any aircraft noise.

The good things -

- Right next door to Krispy Kreme and Mcdonalds, so if you need food or a sugar rush or coffee you do not have to walk very far. If you want something to eat other than Krispy Kreme or Maccas, you can go to terminal 2 and get a larger range of foods to choose from. Bear in mind you will need to clear airport security to access that food court in terminal 2. You could also go to terminal 3 but they do not have as large a range of food.

- A fairly short walk to the domestic terminals - when I say short, you would probably want to be wearing comfortable shoes and not carrying too much.

- The beds themselves are reasonably comfortable if only you have a decent pillow.

Would I recommend this hotel to a friend? Only in certain circumstances - and I would make sure to tell them the above so they can make up their own mind. If I had to recommend a hotel airport and budget was an issue, this would be the one. If they did not mind spending a little bit more, I would recommend the nearby Stamford.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MixedNut999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

Was surprised as this was a new building, had presumed the opposite from reading other reviews.Our room was on the 5th floor it was cramped but clean, a little bewildering have a bunk bed above your head, for one night stay this was acceptable but would not like to stay longer.
Reception staff were very helpfull and keen to give advice, location was ideal for the airport and travelling to into Sydney.
Value for money no frills, pay for broadband, breakfast and no room facilities for hot drinks.
Advice use MacDonalds, building opposite for free wifi.
Save money and catch the local bus into/out of Sydney, bus stop only ten minutes walk from the hotel,check with the reception for directions.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raycrabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mascot hotels
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
1.3 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Mascot Central
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport

Property: Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Address: 5 Ross Smith Ave, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1 Sydney Airport)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Sydney
Formule One Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing