We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and value for money no frills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mascot
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cheap and value for money no frills”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

Was surprised as this was a new building, had presumed the opposite from reading other reviews.Our room was on the 5th floor it was cramped but clean, a little bewildering have a bunk bed above your head, for one night stay this was acceptable but would not like to stay longer.
Reception staff were very helpfull and keen to give advice, location was ideal for the airport and travelling to into Sydney.
Value for money no frills, pay for broadband, breakfast and no room facilities for hot drinks.
Advice use MacDonalds, building opposite for free wifi.
Save money and catch the local bus into/out of Sydney, bus stop only ten minutes walk from the hotel,check with the reception for directions.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raycrabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    545
    697
    322
    255
See reviews for
542
598
420
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

This is the cheapest place we could find this close to the airport, but the trade-off is the rooms are cramped and depressing. If you arrive late and leave early - as we did - it's livable with. Reception is clean and modern but our room had a stained carpet, marked walls and a cigarette burn in the sheets. Low frills is fine but it's better to draw the line before grim! The reception staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast area is very clean and comfortable and breakfast looked good for $7. There are also vending machines and a good sized guest fridge. There are no coffee/tea making facilities in the room. Parking is $5 and plentiful.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank semi-detached
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, SA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2010

Have stayed here before, but this was the last time.

Found a cockroach in my room. The room sprung a leak and almost killed my laptop and other stuff charging on the desk. Key card stopped working all the time.

Got charged for a car park, when there was no mention on the website or on the entrance gate. For some reason the fee increases on the weekend from $5 to $12....

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ImpulseIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
289 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2010

I travelled from Canberra to Sydney and stayed in this hotel for a night. As I have to leave earlier to the Airport and I booked this hotel. The hotel room was small but clean and tidy. The room comes with queen bed, table, towels, soap, small LCD TV, ducted air condition etc... The toilets spaces are narrow. There was a small dining + kitchen area opposite to the reception. Guest can use that area to make tea and coffee and there was a micro oven is also available. Near to the dining area there was an internet browsing area available. For all these facilities I paid AUD$79/night. The hotel is mainly based on the passengers who stay and go to the airport. No flights sound disturbed us.

In the hotel lobby there are LCD screens displayed with details about Arrivals and Departures. Airport schedule buses available to pickup and drop you and you have to pay $6 per person. You no need to pay to the drivers and able to pay on the reception and collect the ticket. Going through Airport schedule buses will take approximately 5 – 15 minutes. Free car parking is available for short period and if you are planning to park overnight then you should pay $5/night which is really cheap. All other facilities are available in this hotel like other hotels. Staying in this hotel for one night is absolutely fine otherwise search somewhere.

Pros: Near to airport, cheap price, next to McDonald and other coffee shops (On these shops you can check your Arrival and Departure flight details on the LCD screens), Airport schedule buses, near to domestic terminal, convenient.

Cons: Not enough windows on rooms (Staying one night is fine), Not enough space in Toilet

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onlyworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2010

We used this for one night before a flight the next day. We chose to walk from the domestic arrivals but in the dark it isn't easy to find. We had to ask three people before we finally located it and realised that we should have turned right directly after exiting the doors.

It does the job, a clean reasonably well equipped room for a cheap price. Shower room is attractively designed but water from the shower goes all over the floor everywhere. Surprisingly quiet for an airport location - must be good soundproofing. Breakfast a little disappointing as supplies of some thingas had run out and we had to press for them to be replaced. Staff generally friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blackcat2york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2009

I used to be a Formule 1 motel fan (Sydney domestic airport was one of my favourite). Used to be cheap (the old days $79 per night for a family room, now $109). I feel that it is no longer budget motel (especially this price for a 2 star). If you are organised enough and book early, you can get a 4 to 4.5 star hotel in the airport region (or in the CBD) for just over $100 on Wotif or last minute secret hotels. Why did we stay here then? Well, unfortunately all the hotels in the CBD were booked out on the new years eve.

The good things about this motel, it's clean though very basic (I hate the bathroom though, there is no separate shower and toilet.. the whole bathroom and toilet are wet after a shower. Parking is cheap at $5 per night. There's Crispin Cream Donut shop and now a new McDonalds just next door. If you have a family of 4 to 6 then it is a bargain. The service from the front desk is friendly. If you have an early fight (especially domestic, which is walking distance) then this is convenient.

Will I stay here again? Well, if I can't find anywhere to stay, then I may be back again. This is not a place for a romantic stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanberraTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2009

Stayed here one night passing through Sydney with an early flight the next morning. Less than 10 minutes walk to/from the domestic terminal, or a $6 shuttle bus ride to domestic or international terminals. It's like the other Formule 1 hotels I've stayed in ... a very small very basic room with a double bed, a single bunk bed above it, and a small bathroom. There is no separate shower stall, just a curtain to keep the spray off the toilet and sink. Room wasn't spotless (the carpet needed a thorough cleaning) but we had no real complaint.

Front desk staff were efficient, courteous, and helpful. There are 24-hour McDonalds and Krispy Kreme fast food restaurants next door. The Botany Road neighborhood in Mascot is about a 15-minute walk (safe area for walking) if you want some restaurant options in the evening; most seemed to close by 9:00 pm.

The only real reason to stay here is if you want to stay very near the airport for only one night... but it's fine for that purpose.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RangeviewRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mascot hotels
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
1.3 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
0.7 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Sydney Airport
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport

Property: Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Address: 5 Ross Smith Ave, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1 Sydney Airport)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, ACCOR and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Sydney
Formule One Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing