We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good base for explosing Sydney are with a rental car”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mascot
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good base for explosing Sydney are with a rental car”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2009

Hotel is right outside the parameters of SYD airport.

Across the parking lot is a Krispy Kreme doughnut place.

Rooms were ok and tidy as well as bathrooms.

Downstairs laundry room was easy to use as was the internet access downstairs.

Taxi to Darling Harbour wasn't too expensive but it's easier to have a rental car if you're staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobbykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    545
    697
    322
    255
See reviews for
542
598
420
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2009

This was the third hotel on our round the world trip, and was only a place to stay for the night before we flew out again.

We didn't expect great things, and what we got was about what we expected.

The hotel is pretty basic. The rooms have a double bed, with a single bed mounted above it. There is a small TV, and alarm clock and a small en-suite with a shower.

There's no restaurant, but there are food machines and a microwave. There is also a MacDonalds and a Krispy Creme next to the hotel (although the McD's was closed when we were there for refurbishment).

There is a shuttle bus to the airport, but you have to pay for it.

Staff were friendly and helpful, even lending us a UK/Australian adaptor plug.

The room sound proofing was surprisingly good considering it is right by the runway and a busy road.

If you're looking for a good, clean and most importantly cheap place to stay for a night before your flight, this is for you. Just dont expect bells and whistles.

  • Liked — Cheap and cheerful. Good sound proofing
  • Disliked — A slightly dodgy lift that only sometimes seemed to work.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blaeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,970 reviews
392 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4,106 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2008

While this hotel is cheaper than others around Sydney Airport, it had the feel of a prison cell.

A double bed and bunk bed plus a small table with chair were the only furnishings of note, with the television being screwed to the wall overhead.

The prison-like atmosphere was further 'enhanced' by a double storey bulk bed at right angles to the main bed; a bathroom whose floor became wet everywhere, and loud conversation from the family next door that thankfully ceased about 2330.

Tilt-slab concrete, modular construction may save on costs, but the whole hotel exuded a depressing atmosphere which is typical of many Accor Group properties, as I find Ibis Hotels to be little better.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Prison-like and noisy, depressing rooms
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Victorianlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2008

Pretty basic but what you'd expect from Formule 1! Clean and close to airport with free shuttle - but call in advance (once in arrivals) as it's not a continuous service, but for notified arrivals as we found out after getting the airport terminal transfer bus and a long walk (it's near terminal 2, not the international terminal)! Arrived at 8.00am and room was available with no extra charge so got a full day to pop into Sydney - about 20mins on the train to Circular Key.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Transfer service details...nothing on website!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biggles18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2008

Obviously you would only stay here if you were waiting for a connecting flight but this "hotel" is rancid.
We has a twin share room which was the size of a prison cell, the top bunk mattress didn't cover the length of the bed (about 2 foot short) and had small black curly hairs on the sheets (Wonder what they were!!). Bathroom is tiny and as soon as you have a shower you need another one because the room is so hot. The only place to get food is Krispy Kreme's unless you want vending mechine food. Spend the money and go else where as this hotel is violating

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Desdaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2008

Imagine a tiny jail cell. That's it. No tv, no clock, no room for luggage, no nothing but a tiny lumpy bed that listed to the left - a hard left. The bathroom consists of toilet, sink and a shower - with no deliniation. Just a curtain and a drain in the floor. The best part of the stay was the check-out knowing I could leave. If you love dark, depressing and seriously basic to the point of being austere, this is the place for you!!!

  • Liked — proximity to airport
  • Disliked — everything else!!!
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mamanurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2008

booked on their web site, for $99 per night. Heading overseas, and spent the night in Sydney in transit. I have previously stayed at the Ibis in Mascot, which is a little more expensive.
As per other reviews, the rooms are tiny. There are no cups or coffee facilities in the room, and no telephone. You can't open the window. That said, the room was sufficiently clean. We took the shuttle to the international terminal the next morning, bright and early at around 6am, for $5 per person. Apparently the shuttle runs every half hour between 5am and 10am to and from the international and domestic terminals.
Just outside the hotel entrance you'll usually see a small crowd of people smoking their cigarettes.
The hotel offers a cheap self serve continental breakfast, entailing a choice of cereals, milk, and toast. I think it was around $7.

  • Liked — close to airport
  • Disliked — can't open windows
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aferraro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mascot hotels
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
1.3 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
0.7 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Sydney Airport
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport

Property: Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Address: 5 Ross Smith Ave, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1 Sydney Airport)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Sydney
Formule One Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing