We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Mascot
1 review
“Never again”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We chose this hotel because we stayed in F1 in Melbourne, and it was awesome. But here we had problems with our keycards, there is no fridge in the room. The room is really small. It's far from everywhere, the tv is placed in a position that we can not watch properly due to the bed right in front of it. There is no cold water in the bathroom tap. You kinda flood the bathroom when you take a shower.

Helpful?
Thank Pedro C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    575
    725
    330
    261
See reviews for
563
628
432
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Pirie, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This Formule 1 hotel, just as any other Formule 1, is a good option for an overnight stay, the difference being it's just 5 minutes walking from the Sydney Airport and 15mins walking from the main services in Mascot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felipe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Pigeon-hole sized rooms that are fairly clean, I like the crisp white bedsheets. They have trundle beds in family rooms, most affordable option for those with kids. TVs in rooms.

Although the airport is only 10minutes' walk away, you may opt for the shuttle bus if you have lots of luggage. Thi hotel is the most convenient if you have an late night/early morning flight to catch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GertrudeNoelRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manotick
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was the lowest priced hotel close to the Sydney Airport and we soon found out why. First, it looks better on the Internet than in reality - a common compaint for many hotels of course. As we arrived there was a crowd of heavily inked and pierced people (of all ages, surprisingly enough!) clustered around an ashtray near the front door...and it got worse. The recommended dining spot was McDonalds next door. The amenties in the room consisted of two thin (but clean) towels, one bar of soap and two plastic glasses. The shower area was separated from the sink and toilette by a plastic curtain. Careful planning was required in the morning rushing for an early departure to avoid getting wet at the wrong time and place.The room was small - there was insufficient room for two people to pass between the wall and end of the bed at the same time. While this may qualify for several stars in some developing countries - it was too basic for us. Having said that, the room was clean, quiet and the bed was reasonably comfortable - although the lightest touch propelled it to the not very distant corner of the room. If your budget doesn't allow for anything better, and you are staying but one night, it may suffice. But we will never be back.

Room Tip: As for a tip to selecting a good room - we are not sure that there are any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mascot hotels

Vancouver, Canada (formerly Cologne,Germany/Boston, USA)
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The money you save on this inexpensive (by Sydney standards) hotel is not worth the trade-off. Everything in the room except the sheets is dirty - spilled coke on the chair, black marks all over the walls, layers of dust, stains and debris on the carpet, mildew and sour shower curtain in the bathroom, etc. So thankful we're here only one night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A2H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mascot hotels
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
0.3 mi away
Ibis Sydney Airport
1.3 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Mascot Central
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport

Property: Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Address: 5 Ross Smith Ave, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1 Sydney Airport)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Mascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Sydney
Formule One Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing