We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for but helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Mascot
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had 2 nights here very recently, one on the way to Fiji and again on our return. Given the price we were not expecting a lot, basic room and services, and this is what we got. Check in was prompt and pleasant, and any advice requested was forthcoming.
We were travelling with 2 young children, aged 1 and 2, and had a room with bunks, so a cot was provided for an additional $10. You pretty much make your own beds, and there are no ammenities other than a bar of soap in the bathroom. It's a wet bathroom so all in 1 with a shower curtain, but everything gets wet. The rooms are really small, with really no room at all once we had a cot and 2 suitcases in there, but it is clean and the front desk staff are helpful. There is a MacDonalds, KFC and Krispy Creme donut place within a minutes walk, but if you want anything else you have to return to the airport, or go over to the Stamford where there is a bar and restaurant, only a 5 minute walk anyway. You can purchase your breakfast here, we chose not to ($9 each) as we had early flights. The staff were wonderful and allowed me to use their kitchen to wash bottles, and there is a microwave available to heat milk in the breakfast area.
They had just topped up their fridge in the bar at reception so none of the limited drinks were available cold, but this wasn't an issue really. They just need to keep on top of it a bit more and fill from the back before it's empty !
We had previously stayed at the Ibis, just up the road, and the Hotel Formule 1 was superior in most respects. The Ibis had more facilities - bar, restaurant etc, but the staff weren't as good, it was a bit further ( you can walk to F1 from domestic airport) and the room wasn't as clean, was about the same size, the bathroom was worse, and you paid more for the Ibis room.
All in all this is a great place for a layover if you are just sleeping the night and not wanting any more. Airport shuttles are prompt and get you to international airport for $6 per adult.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank camstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,117)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,554 - 1,560 of 2,117 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

a value for money and convenient hotel near to airport, but do not leave your car we came back to find a dent in our car

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
1  Thank Joyce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joliscan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

No hassles with reservation - I arrived on the last flight from Brisbane and they were expecting me. Walking distance to the Domestic terminal. Bus to International terminal, tickets available at reception. It was cleanish but this could be improved. No frills but you wouldn't expect any for the price. Recommend only for overnight layover.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bucky_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Hotel Formule 1 Sydney Airport is located only a short distance from the domestic air terminal. Nightly rates are priced at under $100 so for a cheap stay this location is quite adequate. Breakfast is available each morning for $9 but lunch and evening meals are only available off-site. Krispy Creme donuts are located next door as are McDonalds and KFC. While not the perfect restaurant options, for a family on a budget these alternatives are more than adequate.
The rooms each contain a queen-sized bed and overhead bunk bed. The rooms are not overly large. Bathroom facilities are minimal with a shower and basin.
Shuttle buses run from this location to all terminals at a cost of $6pp.
Office staff were most accommodating and were more than happy to answer any questions we had.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

As the title suggests - not fancy, but convenient and secure - surprisingly quiet given how close to the main runways the hotel is located - didn't hear any aircraft noise.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank BobS1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sally740
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mascot hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Sydney Airport
Ibis Sydney Airport
#7 of 11 in Mascot
1,799 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
1.3 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Mascot Central
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport

Address: 5 Ross Smith Ave, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1 Sydney Airport)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Mascot
Price Range: $84 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and Ctrip TA so you can book your Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Sydney
Formule One Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing