We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sydney Airport Formule1” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mascot
Bilpin, Australia
2 reviews
“Sydney Airport Formule1”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Clean basic room, excellent noise insulation from external noise but not from internal noise coming from corridor. I arrived late at night and there were a number of undesirable people loitering in the carpark outside.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrL1t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    538
    683
    318
    250
See reviews for
533
586
412
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

I had a good stay overnight at Hotel Formule 1 Sydney Airport. I like this hotel as it's close to the airportfor my international flight. Staff were friendly, the room was small, however it met my needs for the night. They have a shuttle service to domestic and international terminals. Be prepared and take ear plugs, just in case you need them.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 21sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012 via mobile

I didn't have the horror stories a few other people did. It was exactly what I expected, a basic layover hotel close to the airport. Worth a visit.
Here's a tip: when you walk from the domestic airport to the hotel stay on the left hand side of the road ( the same side of the road as the airport). Otherwise you have to cross a busy road twice.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We were met by the staff t the front dsk who had all our details & a key ready as we arrived quite late. He was able to assist with information as to where the airport parking service was which was helpful. The rooms were very compact but had everything you needed for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

This hotel is easy to access via the Sydney Super Shuttle Bus that leaves regularly from both the International and the Domestic Terminals. When you book they should give you instructions in the confirmation email about where to catch the bus, otherwise ask at an information point inside your terminal. The cost is $6 dollars each way and payment is made directly to the hotel itself when you arrive there.

Staff are friendly and welcoming. Check-in was quick and easy. But things go downhill from there. This is quite a depressing place. Reminded me of student housing. Everything is very drab and grey and dark. Plus there are lots of drunk loudmouths shouting in the corridors.

Inside the room was small but tolerable for a one-night stay. What wasn't so tolerable was the standard of cleanliness. There were stains all over the grey carpet. The walls haven't been repainted in quite a long time. You could see hairs all over the place from previous guests which housekeeping hadn't cleaned up properly. Not nice.

The bathroom is a tiny toilet-sink-shower combo and is essentially a small wetroom. The shower is separated from the sink and toilet by a small shower curtain. You get a TINY bar of soap and that's it, so if staying here bring your own toiletries. Like the bedroom the bathroom was scattered with hairs from previous occupants. Unpleasant.

Inside the bedroom, the bed wasn't attached to the wall or floor so moved around quite easily. A little disconcerting when you are getting out of bed and it slips away from you! There is an alarm clock welded to the TV stand but I never bothered with using this. The TV itself is a small, very old style grey box with 4 channels that worked.

Snack food and drink is available from vending machines throughout the building. Prices were reasonable and cheaper than at the airport itself. There are also three local fast food options right next to the hotel. A Krispy Kreme coffee and donut shop. A KFC drive thru. A 24hr McDonalds with McCafe. I tried the McDonalds and it was OK. I arrived too late to access the much better food in the McCafe section.

There is a $9 breakfast available if you want to have a cheap meal before setting off to the airport - where everything is waaaay more expensive. It was adequate for the price.

Overall, this hotel is a last resort option if you have to endure a short overnight stay in Sydney and have an early flight. It's not very clean but it can be quite cheap if you book far enough in advance. I paid $89 + $12 for the airport shuttle which was very cheap compared to other local hotels.

Room Tip: You don't get a choice. When you arrive your room has already been assigned to you with the key...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zillimeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

My bookings has no hassles infact they didnt even want the printed copy just ID. Room was ready early clean and well presented.Booked the shuttle for next morning no real problems despite other bus being very full and ours almost empty.My second visit a week later was also handled efficiently and a requested room change at book in was given with no problems. Food outlets are easy walking distances - 3 to choose from, plus the contiental hotel breakfast.Shuttle again on time and no problems. For the money I found it clean and adequate

Room Tip: Lifts are quick to all floors and well sound proofed as highway one side and airport other makes no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RG500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mascot
1.4 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
0.3 mi away
Ibis Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
1.8 mi away
Quality Hotel CKS Sydney Airport
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport

Property: Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Address: 5 Ross Smith Ave, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1 Sydney Airport)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Sydney
Formule One Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing