We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last resort if you need a cheap overnight near Sydney airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mascot
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Last resort if you need a cheap overnight near Sydney airport”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This hotel is easy to access via the Sydney Super Shuttle Bus that leaves regularly from both the International and the Domestic Terminals. When you book they should give you instructions in the confirmation email about where to catch the bus, otherwise ask at an information point inside your terminal. The cost is $6 dollars each way and payment is made directly to the hotel itself when you arrive there.

Staff are friendly and welcoming. Check-in was quick and easy. But things go downhill from there. This is quite a depressing place. Reminded me of student housing. Everything is very drab and grey and dark. Plus there are lots of drunk loudmouths shouting in the corridors.

Inside the room was small but tolerable for a one-night stay. What wasn't so tolerable was the standard of cleanliness. There were stains all over the grey carpet. The walls haven't been repainted in quite a long time. You could see hairs all over the place from previous guests which housekeeping hadn't cleaned up properly. Not nice.

The bathroom is a tiny toilet-sink-shower combo and is essentially a small wetroom. The shower is separated from the sink and toilet by a small shower curtain. You get a TINY bar of soap and that's it, so if staying here bring your own toiletries. Like the bedroom the bathroom was scattered with hairs from previous occupants. Unpleasant.

Inside the bedroom, the bed wasn't attached to the wall or floor so moved around quite easily. A little disconcerting when you are getting out of bed and it slips away from you! There is an alarm clock welded to the TV stand but I never bothered with using this. The TV itself is a small, very old style grey box with 4 channels that worked.

Snack food and drink is available from vending machines throughout the building. Prices were reasonable and cheaper than at the airport itself. There are also three local fast food options right next to the hotel. A Krispy Kreme coffee and donut shop. A KFC drive thru. A 24hr McDonalds with McCafe. I tried the McDonalds and it was OK. I arrived too late to access the much better food in the McCafe section.

There is a $9 breakfast available if you want to have a cheap meal before setting off to the airport - where everything is waaaay more expensive. It was adequate for the price.

Overall, this hotel is a last resort option if you have to endure a short overnight stay in Sydney and have an early flight. It's not very clean but it can be quite cheap if you book far enough in advance. I paid $89 + $12 for the airport shuttle which was very cheap compared to other local hotels.

Room Tip: You don't get a choice. When you arrive your room has already been assigned to you with the key...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zillimeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    560
    715
    326
    260
See reviews for
552
617
428
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My bookings has no hassles infact they didnt even want the printed copy just ID. Room was ready early clean and well presented.Booked the shuttle for next morning no real problems despite other bus being very full and ours almost empty.My second visit a week later was also handled efficiently and a requested room change at book in was given with no problems. Food outlets are easy walking distances - 3 to choose from, plus the contiental hotel breakfast.Shuttle again on time and no problems. For the money I found it clean and adequate

Room Tip: Lifts are quick to all floors and well sound proofed as highway one side and airport other makes no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RG500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed here following long delays from a cruise so we were already exhausted. When I put my daughter to bed there was dried vomit on the sheets. See photo attached. When I complained they came and changed the sheets and offered us a free breakfast. As if we would eat there after this display of poor hygiene and health standards.

We were not offered a refund or another room. I lay there all night wondering if the sheets I was laying on had in fact been changed from the night before.

Never again.

Room Tip: Book another motel that is clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank musicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mascot hotels

Paisley
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed here for one night in march 2012 to catch next day fight.staff very nice and helpful.hotel itself is very basic,within walking distance from domestic terminal but it's a bit of a walk.ok for one night if your catching a next day flight.bit on the expensive side in my opinion ( £75 ),but apart from that no complaints.

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Horrific experience with hotel shuttle bus which was over 30 minutes late for scheduled pick up. Hotel staff unhelpful and unable to contact driver. Even though we could see the airport we missed our international check in. Would not recommend booking this shuttle.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 26457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Very poor quality, high rate (90 dollars). Windows can't be opened, like in jail.
++: closest hotel from the domestic airport (10 minutes walk)
Good hotel for a flight connection or an early in the morning flight.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mascot hotels
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
1.3 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Mascot Central
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport

Property: Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Address: 5 Ross Smith Ave, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1 Sydney Airport)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Sydney
Formule One Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing