We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Accommodation Before Jetting Out On Holidays!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mascot
Wollongong
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The Perfect Accommodation Before Jetting Out On Holidays!!!”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

When compared to other five-star hotel's I've been to, the Formule 1 doesn't stack up, but considering what I was expecting (little more than a bed and bathroom) I was surprised. The room was bigger than I expected and was dark and quiet, which would have made sleeping easy. However, thge bed was ordinary, to say the least, and was too lumpy to sleep perfectly in. The room had a tv, though the reception on some channels was bad. The service was also great and considering how cheap it was, service really didn't need to be anything special, but it was good to see the staff go out of their way for the customers. Some things were missing (we only got half a roll of toilet paper, no tissues, no tea or coffee, no shampoo or soap) but considering how cheap and close to the airport it is, I'm not surprised that some services were missing. Breakfast was also served, but I had an early flight and it wasn't open when I check out, but it shares a carpark with Krispy Kreme donuts and is right next to a Macca's and KFC. The best aspect of the hotel was how close it was to the airport, walking distance to domestic terminal and 2-3 min drive to international. Considering I lived 3 hours away from the airport when I stayed, paying $112 for a room less than 5 mins from the international airport (considering I'd already spend thousands on the holiday) the Formule 1 is perfect airport hotel to stay at. They also offer a shuttle to the international terminal, which was $6 a person.

To conclude, the Formule 1 is not the best or most up market hotel I've ever stayed at, but the price/value is amazing for the location, just expect a cheap, basic room, nothing more. It's still the perfect place to stay before flying out of Sydney, or whilst in transit; however, the bed, in my room at least, was pretty bad and needed urgent replacing.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieSteve88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    565
    721
    327
    261
See reviews for
556
622
431
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubbo
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We've stayed here before. A great hotel for an over night stay in transit via the airport terminal 2. 1 minute walk to fast food outlets. 10 minutes easy walk to T2. A little expensive for what you get though. Rooms are very basic but spacious and comfortable. Vending machines are reasonably priced. There is a bar and you can take drinks to your room. Easy on line booking and hassle-free check-in and check-out procedures. Staff are friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel for the budget conscious traveller.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stardoe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

This would without doubt be the closest hotel to the airport. Just a few minutes walk.
Right next door you have Dunkin Donuts, Mc Donald, KFC. All very new looking and nice.
Plenty of parking at the hotel for a very small $8 per night.
We walked to the airport in a few minutes to catch the train (which is down one escalator-so easy) to the Opera House...took about 20 mins. No train changes etc.
The rooms were welcoming and bright, plenty of light, but with very good blinds that block all sun for a good sleep in. They were clean and comfy, a tad small for me, but I had also just come from a rather large room out of town.
I would absolutey stay here again and get rid of the hire car which I did not need after arriving here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

The reason to be staying at the Hotel Formule 1 Sydney Airport is if you have an early flight out of Sydney airport. For this purpose, the hotel works well. The domestic terminal is an easy 10 to 15 minute walk. The international terminal can be accessed by a hotel shuttle for $6. The shuttle goes to all of the hotels around the airport.

The hotel was the least expensive option of the hotels in the area when we booked, but you get what you pay for. The room was Spartan. We had a three person room which included 2 uncomfortable bunk beds and a queen size bed which was very comfortable. The bathroom was small and the use of the shower resulted in the whole floor getting soaked. The carpet in the room looked clean but our beds all had black hairs on the covers. The windows did not open to let in fresh air, but the AC worked fine.

The hotel claims to have wifi, but we could not get a good signal anywhere in the hotel. Maybe if you stood next to the router you could connect. So basically, no wifi. Internet is offered at pay kiosks in the lobby.

The breakfast offered at the hotel includes cereal with milk, bread with spreads, coffee and juice. The coffee is Nescafe. So, not a lot. Alternatively, there is a McDonalds nearby and a few other fast food restaurants.

If you are looking for a budget hotel near the airport, the Formule 1 is a good choice if you dont have high expectations. I have stayed at the nearby Ibis which is also simple, but has a far better breakfast and nicer rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank mhnstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mascot hotels
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
1.3 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Mascot Central
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport

Property: Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Address: 5 Ross Smith Ave, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1 Sydney Airport)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, HostelWorld, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Sydney
Formule One Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing