We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional, neat, no frills, but fine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mascot
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Functional, neat, no frills, but fine”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Had one night here to collect a friend at the airport very early one morning. Got a reasonable rate on line ($99). Had not stayed at this type of hotel before. Having prepaid, check-in was quick - just handed the key. Room was top floor. Rooms are not big, just featuring bed (queen - and a very firm but comfortable bed too - better than the Holiday Inn I stayed at nearby on a previous occasion). Bathroom is rather small and there is only a shower curtain rather than screen. No toiletries other than soap so BYO. Flat screen TV on the wall and a small desk and one chair were the only other things in the room. Hotel is next to a Krispy Kreme, MacDonalds (note - free wifi) and a KFC - so dining choices are limied. They charge $6 for parking in the car park and serve yourself breakfast is $8.00. Choices are cereal, toasts, some fruit, and yoghurt and tea/coffee, juice. All in all OK - room was clean, no fuss and not much noise from the airport. Would stay again for an overnight trip arriving or getting off a flight.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    560
    715
    326
    260
See reviews for
552
617
428
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I arrived late at night. The front desk was very disorganized. Got to my room and the first thing I saw was ants crawling up the wall. There were no washcloths, no hand towels, no bedside tables,one bar of soap the size of a half dollar and about as thick. They charged $100 which was way overpriced. I stay at Marriotts when at all possible and don't pay that much. Never stay at an accord hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mascot hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This hotel does what it does: provide you with a convenient, clean dry and warm place for the night for an early flight the next morning. It's not a luxury stay. The building is sterile and looks like the corridors of an asylum, and nothing is padded so every noise - and I mean every noise - reverberates and echoes. You hear every footstep, every mobile phone conversation, every door slamming. But it is close to the airport (10 min walk; 3 min by shuttle which costs A$6) and is a reasonable alternative to sleeping in the airport.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fluffycushion156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
2 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2011

As we had a 10am flight we decided to stay close to the airport so we didn’t have to fight through traffic that morning, and we couldn’t be happier. Yes the rooms are small and the bathrooms are tiny but it’s clean and very handy location only being a 10min walk away from the domestic terminal.
McDonalds, KFC were located next door which was great for a quick bite for dinner, and krispy Kreme next door to grab a coffee before heading off to the airport that morning.
As it was pouring with rain that morning we decided not to walk to the terminal as we planned, so we paid $6 each to take the airport shuttle which we thought was a reasonable cost, even tho its a short distance.
I would return if I ever have a flight out of Sydney again (I don’t think you would want to stay any longer than 1 night)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beach_Boy#7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Neat. Simple. Krispy Kream, maccas and KFC next door. Over the counter beer and wine. Breakfast available. Shuttle or 10 min walk to Terminal 2. All up, perfect for an early flight the next day!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

For that night before an early morning flight, you can't ask for a better hotel! It's clean, convenient and comfortable, right next to Sydney International Airport! The new breakfast setup is great too!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amsfromaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint charles, illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2011

There were three false fire alarms during my one night stay. One persisted long enough that the manager had to make an announcement that it was a false alarm and guests should not be worried. Two went off and were quickly squelched, but only after awakening me from my sleep. Pay another $16 and stay at a 3-star option.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garyh740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mascot hotels
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
1.3 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Mascot Central
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport

Property: Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Address: 5 Ross Smith Ave, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1 Sydney Airport)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Mascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Sydney
Formule One Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing