We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lost in translation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mascot
Certificate of Excellence
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lost in translation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Great location for the international traveler, 2 minutes from both the train station and departure level.
I had made one small request which i was told was done when i checked in.
I think the request was lost in translation,no great drama it must be my Kiwi accent, lol.
However It was promptly and politely seen to.
The staff try hard and are professional.Their heart is in the right place.
Good modern room but i would have preferred the shower to be a tad hotter.
The room was quiet and spacious and the bed very comfortable.
I invested in a toasted Sandwich the next morning in the cafe which was a bit average to be honest .
I am staying there again in early September and would recommend the property.
I would rate it beside Rydges in Auckland which is a good hotel also.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 528956John_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tish N, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
I really appreciate you taking the time to provide us with some wonderful feedback – we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back again in September!

Cheers,

Tish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,534
    1,466
    346
    99
    65
See reviews for
640
1,616
452
469
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (898)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a family room. It was cosy but clean. The location is perfect for international departures and checkin and checkout were fast and efficient. Bed was comfortable and the room was very quiet.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katetaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tish N, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
It is so pleasing to see another comment on our wonderful location!

I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Cheers,

Tish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
362 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Still great since writing last review.
Foyer has improved with the addition of some art work on large wall above reception.
However, am still not a fan of the opaque glass in the toilet door. I like my privacy!
A hotel at the airport has been needed for a very long time.
So convenient.
Rooms are a good size with a comfortable bed that use quality linens.
Agree with another reviewer re: Sports Bar meals. Had the Nachos - way below average.
The upstairs restaurant is a far better option, though more expensive. (Being a priority member helps defray the expense.)
Will continue to stay here whenever I have the opportunity to travel overseas.

Room Tip: Choose an airport view in order to see the planes arriving and departing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tish N, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
It is great to see that you liked the new addition of the artwork in the lobby!

I have taken your comments in regards to the sports bar on board and am currently reviewing.

I look forward to welcoming you back again next time you travel overseas.

Cheers,

Tish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Got put in here because my flight was cancelled. Very nice, quick check in condsidering the number of us - excellent customor service. Lovely room, I won't put any pictures up because the ones there are spot on Very comfortable.

The reason I haven't given it 5 stars is the food. I ordered fillet steak on room service rare - it came medium to well done. Also, a chicken caesar salad and my chicken was all pink. Unless, the Australian chickens are a different colour to the UK ones, they were trying to make me ill! I didn't bother to send them back as I wasn't that hungry anyway, but if I had been paying I would of...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tish N, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
It is extremely pleasing to see another comment on our amazing Rydges Dream Beds!

I am however very disappointed to hear about your experience with room service – this is definitely not acceptable service, please accept my sincere apologises for the inconvenience and frustration that would have been caused. I have just spoken to the Kitchen to ensure this doesn’t happen again.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss this further.

I hope we can welcome you back again.

Kind Regards,

Tish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Finding the hotel is a bit of challenge, we just followed our nose. Definitely helps being a priority member so join for free before you book. Meals are average in the sports bar, we should have walked across the road to the terminal, Room good but not fantastic. Great for a stop over.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KazzGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tish N, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
It is disappointing to read your review and see that you didn’t enjoy your stay 100%

However it is very pleasing to see that you found our location great for a stopover.

Cheers,

Tish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is a just great hotel. The room was gorgeous as was the bathroom and the bed was big and comfy and just gorgeous…just what you need to help you sleep well before a 20+ hour flight the next day. It is literally across the road from the International airport, it is within walking distance, so the location is great. The breakfast, that was included in our room fee, was just fantastic. It had everything…bacon, eggs, cereals, fruit, yoghurts, fresh juices, coffee…and that's just to name a few. The staff were really friendly and helpful. My only complaint was the bar in the lobby - the food was not the best…but maybe that's because we ordered nacho's…but then, how can you really stuff up nacho's? Either way they were terrible! They also had a deal on a sign in the front window they wouldn't honour because the deal had expired…umm, then why still have the special on the front window then? The bar staff, while very friendly, were unbelievably slow. It was getting beyond a joke how long each drink was taking to get to us. C'mon management, you know Friday night is going to be busy, put more staff on! It's not as though you don't charge enough for your drinks to pay for it! I'd get some food on the way to the hotel, as from what I saw the room service prices are through the roof. Same with the drink prices at the bar (unbelievably through the roof)…visit a bottle-o before you check in! Save yourself some time and money! All in all, it was a great hotel and we were pleasantly surprised for the value for money we got - especially being Sydney and especially being at the airport. When we fly again we will be staying at the Rydges again for sure….and if you want your holiday to get off to a relaxing and luxurious start, then I highly recommend you stay here also!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tish N, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide me with some very valuable feedback – it really does help improve both our products and services.

I have taken your feedback in regards to the bar on board and am currently reviewing it as we speak. I am however very happy to see that you enjoyed the rest of your stay!

I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Cheers,

Tish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Disley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed here for one night mainly because our flight got into Sydney at 22:05 and we didn't fancy trekking into the city at that time of night after going through bag retrieval and immigration.
It turned out to be a very good choice. Literally across the road from the arrivals hall entrance/exit, so no taxis or other dramas. Reception was excellent and as our shuttle bus wasn't picking us up till 2pm the following day we had asked for a late checkout - which was provided at no extra charge. The room was excellent with a superb bathroom and a really comfortable bed - and amazingly quiet considering it was across the road from the airport - we didn't hear a single plane and in fact slept so well we missed the included breakfast !!!!
Had a very nice lunch in the bar and then our bus collected us from right outside the door. Perfect.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back overlooking the car park and we didn't hear a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roy_2dw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tish N, General Manager at Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We are definitely in the perfect location for stays like yours!

It is extremely pleasing to hear you had the perfect stay – I look forward to sharing this feedback with the team.

Cheers,

Tish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mascot
1.3 mi away
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
1.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Sydney International Airport
1.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Airport
1.4 mi away
Ibis Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel

Property: Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
Address: 8 Arrival Court, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing