We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for an overnight stay,large room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Mascot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Rather old fashioned and dark in decor,think the hotel needs a Makeover soon.However the room was large and comfortable with a great large comfy bed.Tea/coffee facilities in room and big bathroom.
Restaurant was typical airport hotel type,rather overpriced and little choice but I had a tasty nasi goreng nicely presented by helpful staff.
I slept late and when I went down for breakfast at 1045 am nothing was available,not even continental,even in the bar but a very friendly female staff member in the restaurant noticed me and arranged coffee and toast .
Wifi is over 24 dollars a day and there is a 6 dollar charge each way for airport shuttle. So overall,good for a stay overnight before/after flight but nothing special and rather overpriced.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank sagittarius7Middx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaydenPorter, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thanks for posting a review.
Firstly, we are pleased to advise that we are in the process of upgrading many areas of the hotel and this includes our restaurant/bars, rooms, and pool/spa facilities.
We are delighted that your stay was most comfortable and you enjoyed the meal in our restaurant. We are committed to providing service excellence and a memorable experience for our guests, and we are happy to read our staff member was able to assist with breakfast.
Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back and showing you our 'fresh new look'!

Hayden Porter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,412)
There are newer reviews for Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,594 - 1,600 of 2,413 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014

Lovely check in staff, very close to airport. We used shuttle service to domestic terminal (3mins) and parked our car on site at hotel for 9 days. Room was spacious, very clean and quiet. Would recommend and use again when flying.

Room Tip: We would have liked to stay on the airport side for the kids to watch the planes.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getawayn0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaydenPorter, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thanks for posting a review.
Nice to read we were able to be of service to you during your recent trip. Not only is the hotel in an ideal position, but our rooms are comfortable and spacious, especially for that long flight ahead, and our staff are always willing to help.
Thank you again and hope to see you soon on your next travel needs.

Hayden Porter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed here for 1 week over New Year as couldn`t find anything more central. However we really enjoyed our stay here and the magnificent views over the airport and Botany Bay. Couldn`t hear any noise from aircraft . Short walk to Mascot train station for quick journey into the centre of Sydney. We arrived at hotel at 7a.m. after 24 hour journey and our room was ready for us . Really appreciated being able to have a nap to recover from flight. Very helpful staff. Would stay here again

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking airport.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gopher08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaydenPorter, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thanks for posting a review.
We appreciate you providing some wonderful feedback on the hotel of your long stay. It is a pleasure to receive such a positive review and I have shared your comments with our team.
We trust you had a happy new year and look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit Sydney.

Hayden Porter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

A perfect hotel for airline crew and business people on a tight schedule. Only one elevator was working during my stay here in 2013. Room was decent and clean. The view was surprisingly good (facing the airport and towards botany bay).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJJINDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaydenPorter, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thanks for posting a review.
We are most pleased that we were able to accommodate your tight schedule during your recent trip. We do however regret the inconvenience caused whilst our lift was undergoing repairs.
Thank you again for your review and we look foward to being of service when next you stay at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport.

Hayden Porter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I am entirely with both Carlosgoseguera and bridgetm on this one. This hotel pitches itself at the higher end of the spectrum, but don't be fooled. It's an absolute turkey!

Our one night stay kicked off badly. in attempting to check in, some callow youth continued to maintain his vapid (though for him evidently entertaining) telephone chat with a pal,before deigning to cast the light of his countenance on anything as insignificant and uninteresting as a hotel guest. Things went down hill thereafter.

In fairness, it must be acknowledged that the room itself was a decent size and was clean and comfortable. On the other hand, the bathroom lacked a plug for the basin which, if nothing else, indicated a lack of attention to detail.

Public areas were astounding. Furniture was heavily stained and filthy. Tables in the dining area and bar were dark stained wood, so making it hard to know whether or not they were clean - the calibre of staff would suggest the latter. For an expensive hotel, it was surprising to find cutlery placed in self-service pots on tables. Neither bar nor dining area was even in discrete locations; rather, both were simply extensions of the Reception area. The bar closed up shop at what, presumably for its staff, was the ungodly hour of 10pm.

The quality of food was lamentable. A second rate menu presented limited choice, most of which was spiced. Steak was adequately served, but no more than adequately. Breakfast was a disgrace. Whether cooked or continental, choice was poor as well as expensive, and cooked alternatives were without exception tepid. Tea and coffee was on a 'help yourself' basis, and was barely palatable.

I did not use the swimming pool on the second or third floors, but it was overlooked by our bedroom. Its most conspicuous characteristics were that it was shabby and unappealing with grubby plastic furniture strewn about (some on its side) and, unsurprisingly, seemed little used.

Some comments have correctly noted that the location itself was/is convenient for the airport. That is its only recommendation, however. In every other respect, the location is industrially unattractive.

This hotel is not in the budget category. Even if it was, it would have been unsatisfactory. My general verdict is that it was atrociously managed, and staff were inadequately trained and second rate. Perhaps they might have been better with decent management.

In general, to be avoided like an epidemic of cholera!

RW

Room Tip: Don't!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Flashmen4491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaydenPorter, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thanks for posting a review.
We were most concerned to read your comments and sincerely regret your overall disappointment with your recent stay. Rest assured this is certainly not indicative of the high standards to which we aim to achieve, and accordingly have addressed the issues you raised with the relevant Department Managers.
We are pleased to advise however that we are in the process of ongoing upgrades around the hotel and this includes refurbishment of the restaurant and bars, lobby, pool area, and a minor update of facilities in the rooms.
We are commited to providing the highest level of service and delivery and appreciate your valuable feedback. We do hope you will afford us the opportunity of creating a better impression by welcoming you back and showing you our usual high standards and new look.

Hayden Porter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The hotel is pretty much a box with rooms were you can sleep before heading to the airport again. while booking this hotel they mention Sydney city view and all you can see from your room is the industrial location you are. They down offer free internet or even free shuttle, you need to go by taxi or using a third party shuttle that if you are more than two ppl better take a taxi. Not close to the city at all. Breakfast was just ok and pricy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlosgoseguera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaydenPorter, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thanks for posting a review.
We do regret your overall disappointment with your stay. We are an airport hotel with boasting views of the planes flying in and out! We are only a short distance from Sydney Harbour and CBD with public transport at our doorstep. Our rooms are spacious and comfortable, well suited for the traveller needing a good rest before travelling on a long flight.
We appreciate your feedback and do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Hayden Porter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

You would think a process to allow 24hr room card access to a gym could be achieved in a few weeks. But alas, when I got up early this morning to go to the gym before an early flight, I found it would not open till 6am. Not happy...

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mascot hotels
1.2 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pullman Sydney Airport
Pullman Sydney Airport
#2 of 11 in Mascot
535 reviews
0.6 mi away
Meriton Suites Mascot Central
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Address: Corner O'Riordan & Robey Streets, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mascot
Price Range: $141 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney's Best Airport Hotel as awarded for five consecutive years by Skytrax. Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport Hotel is your best luxury accommodation in Sydney. Located directly opposite the Domestic Terminal and minutes from the International terminal. It's the ideal business base for you to meet or discover all that Sydney has to offer - just 20 minutes drive from the Central Business District, Sydney Harbour Bridge, Sydney Opera House and the Royal Botanic Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport Hotel Mascot
Stamford Plaza Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing