We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Mascot
Certificate of Excellence
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very comfortable airport hotel”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Got put up here by an airline as they'd cancelled my flight & was stuck until the next morning.
It was a pleasant surprise; lovely comfortable room & a good night's sleep.
Excellent coffee in the bar/cafe area in the main dining area downstairs.
Usual style of buffet breakfast.
If I had to pay for the shuttle I'd walk it with small bags or wheelies...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui_Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneHorbach, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thanks for posting a review.
Nothing worse than delayed or cancelled flights....at least your stay with us was most pleasant and comfortable, and you were well rested for your flight the next day!
We appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should you be travelling to Sydney in the near future.

Wayne Horbach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    949
    424
    104
    79
See reviews for
432
816
230
565
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The Stamford at the airport is well past its prime. I stayed in a Raffles suite (the true Raffles would be insulted), only one TV worked and the room was old and dated. I ordered room service, which comprised of a cold tough steak and limp salad which was rubbish and overpriced. I know the location if excellent, but next time the better option will be to stay in the city and catch a cab.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cemtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneHorbach, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thanks for posting a review.
We truly regret your disappointment with your recent stay. Firstly, I have followed up on the poor quality of your room service meal with our Head Chef and have addressed this accordingly to ensure this does not reoccur. Rest assured this is certainly not indicative of the high standards to which we aim to achieve.
We are pleased to advise that the hotel is currently in the process of ongoing upgrades which include a minor refurbishment of our rooms comprising of new TVs, writing desk and soft furnishings. Our restaurant and bars will also be renovated, and the pool area will see new furniture to enhance the newly painted pool.
We thank you for your sharing your experience at the hotel and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Wayne Horbach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

We are staying in a room with two queen beds between three. Plenty of room in here (plus we also have a baby in a portacot).
The room service is fairly pricy for what amounts to something you'd get at an average cafe, but that's to be expected.
Beds are really comfy, no complaints in that department!
Some issues with keycards not working in the lift. I could not get mine to work.
What is really letting them down is soundproofing. We had a family check in next door at 9:30pm and they are either the noisiest people ever, or the walls are not very thick. I'm going with the latter. I could even hear someone in an adjacent room using the toilet. It's a pretty big downside, especially in an airport hotel where people are coming and going at all hours.
I would have gone back, but the noise issue is a dealbreaker for me.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneHorbach, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thanks for posting a review.
At Stamford we strive to provide superior service for all our guests, therefore your feeback is very important to us.
Whilst we are pleased you found the room comfortable and spacious, we sincerely regret the inconvenience caused by the noise you experienced from the adjoining room.
We thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Wayne Horbach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Stamford Plaza, like all Stamford's, are well managed and appointed hotels. The Airport hotel is a great location, with super amenities. Walking distance to T2 and T3 of Sydney Airport, regular shuttle to T1 and walking distance to the Sydney Train Station at the Domestic Airport. Great breakfast buffet. But, the hotel is showing its age and wear from frequent travelers (like many airport hotels) so carpets and rooms show the traffic and walls have marks and bumps. The TV video system get interrupted and the rooms may be a little smaller than one finds in a newer hotel. Another couple of years, without new paint and carpet, the stylish and pleasant hotel will be old and worn. Its a good stay in a great location and the staff are super, just reaching a point for some decorative work.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar and none suffer from noise. All good choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneHorbach, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thanks for posting a review.
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport. We strive to provide superior services and facilities and therefore your feedback is very important.
We are pleased to advise that we are currently in the process of ongoing upgrades around the hotel, and this includes our lifts, restaurant/bars, pool area and a soft refurbishment of the rooms. We are approaching an exciting year ahead and we hope to see you sometime in the future to experience our "new look".

Wayne Horbach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Spend one night in October while connecting from Fiji to Queensland. We found the hotel quite well located and the room spacious and clean. Check out in the early morning was fast and we quickly got a cab to domestic terminal (walk-able without bags) for $12 with tip. Also had dinner at the hotel restaurant and thought the food was quite good. Would stay in this hotel again if needed to take an early flight from Sydney.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airness1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneHorbach, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thanks for posting a review.
The hotel is conveniently located to the airport, and we take pride in the services and facilities we offer our guests.
Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport in the future.

Wayne Horbach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed here one night in November en route to NZ. I had not booked the shuttle previously and when I finally found the shuttle bus stop (a long way from the international arrivals) there was no-one and nothing in sight. I took a taxi to the hotel (AU$11) so not so bad as the shuttle is $6 anyway. It was only 9 am when I arrived at the hotel but they gave me a room right away. The lobby is spacious and attractive and the reception staff were very pleasant. The room was a good size with a spotlessly clean bathroom. A good sized desk with lamp was provided. There was a mini bar (AU$16 for a small bottle of wine). Also a kettle, plus tea, coffee, etc. There was a bit of a view of the city (Room 904) and from what I could see the hotel swimming pool and spa looked quite nice. I didn't use the restaurant or bar as I was visiting a friend during the day, but they looked okay. My bete noir - attached hangers in the closet. Otherwise, a great place to stay for airport coming and going.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inclinekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneHorbach, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thanks for posting a review.
Glad to read your stay was most comfortable and you were pleased with the services and facilities provided.We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the near future.

Wayne Horbach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiscasset, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

You don't usually expect much from an airport hotel, as people generally are looking for a bed prior to an early morning flight, or when returning home late. The Stamford apparently doesn't realize this, as they position themselves as if they were in the CBD. Beautiful lobby, friendly reception, clean comfortable rooms add up to a wonderful stay. I actually booked 4 nights while here on business, and found the location to be convenient, only drawback to the location was a lack of restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Well, it's an airport hotel, so expect to hear planes taking off. That being said, rooms are qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fish4Stripers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneHorbach, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thanks for posting a review.
As you noticed, we are not just a "typical airport" hotel. We ensure our guests have a comfortable stay, especially before or after a long flight!
Thank you for your positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport when next you are in town.

Wayne Horbach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mascot hotels
1.2 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pullman Sydney Airport
0.6 mi away
Meriton Suites Mascot Central
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Property: Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
Address: Corner O'Riordan & Robey Streets, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Mascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney's Best Airport Hotel as awarded for five consecutive years by Skytrax. Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport Hotel is your best luxury accommodation in Sydney. Located directly opposite the Domestic Terminal and minutes from the International terminal. It's the ideal business base for you to meet or discover all that Sydney has to offer - just 20 minutes drive from the Central Business District, Sydney Harbour Bridge, Sydney Opera House and the Royal Botanic Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport Hotel Mascot
Stamford Plaza Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing