We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mascot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

When I booked this hotel for the stay and fly option (through the Qantas booking engine), I specifically requested a room over looking the airport/runways. I was quite disappointed when I checked in on 30 December 2012 and had a city view room. I spoke to reception, and the man at the desk advised I could move, however would be on a lower floor. I accepted this, and whilst the view was ok, I know other hotel airports have better views if this is what you are after. I also found the second room (#616) was not as nice as the first, lacking some niceties such as a lounge. There was also no compendium in the room, meaning I did not know of the pool or spa, or any other services available. The bed was very comfortable though!

There were also several staff sitting in the reception area casually discussing their lives. Whilst I am all for making work more bearable, it doesn't give a very professional image. Meanwhile to customers, the vibe was quite distant and bordering on cold.

I did find the room to be exceptionally quiet, with just the slightest noise when a plane flew directly over the hotel. I actually noticed more noise from the train line under the window! There was some in-hotel noise, with other doors clicking, but this didn't particularly bother me.

The room service was quite expensive, with most meals (burgers, pasta, salads, etc) around the $25-$27 mark, with steaks on the mid to high $30s. Desserts were mostly $17, with the cheese platter being more expensive. The mini-bar was expensive to the point of daylight robbery, with a can of coke $5 and a 50g chocolate also $5.

I pre-ordered my room service, with almost 2 hours notice. Despite this, it still turned up about 15 minutes after my requested time. There is also a smart phone app to order meals etc, however I could not get it to work (despite having quite reasonable technological skills).

The bathroom was nice enough at first glance, though there was some grime/mould buildup in the corners of the shower. There was also rust on the plug pull-ring. To the hotel, I'd highly recommend you change the towel rail on the end of the shower to a certified grab rail (as on the long wall)- due to the positioning it is tempting to use it to assist you out of the shower and no doubt someone will fall. I also found I had water all over the floor due to the design of the swing-screen. The water pressure was dreadful and the temperature fluctuated a little- not enough to worry me but enough to be of concern if I were travelling with a child.

I was also surprised, given the high rating of the hotel, that it did not include pleasantries such as robes. I can only assume these would have been present in the deluxe rooms. I was also quite taken aback there were no complimentary biscuits with the coffee making facilities as this is something I've come to expect of all hotels, regardless of price point. It also amazes me that hotels continue to charge for wifi- if hostels charging the bare minimum can provide free wifi, why can't a stay setting me back $xxx do the same?!

Look, at the end of the day, it was ok. I did not feel, however, that my expectations were met, particularly for the price paid. I am actually quite disappointed I have a non-refundable stay booked in March, otherwise I would be staying elsewhere.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
Thank Novocastrian_Ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNesbitt, Rooms Division Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thanks for posting a review!

I have shared your detailed review with the Leadership Team at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, and they share my disappointment in the number of areas we let you down on your stay with us in December 2012.

I would love to show you the true Stamford experience when you return to stay with us again in March, so please contact me directly on benjaminnesbitt@spsa.stamford.com.au or (02) 9317 1686 and I will ensure you have a great stay with us.

I hope to hear from you, and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon,

Kind Regards,

Ben Nesbitt
Rooms Division Manager
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,078 - 2,084 of 2,616 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

Spent one night here. Had seafood buffet for dinner. Food was amazing, plenty of fresh and cooked options. Room was spacious and very clean. Beds were super comfortable. Breakfast was included in our tariff and was typical buffet although having a chef freshly cook our eggs was a treat. Hotel easy to access and parking a breeze. Definitely will use this hotel again and will recommend to others

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oscar477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNesbitt, Rooms Division Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thanks for posting a review!

We are so pleased you enjoyed everything about your stay at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, from the comfortable bed in the room, our seafood buffet in Grove Restaurant, to our freshly cooked eggs and our easy access parking.

We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime soon,

Kind Regards,

Ben Nesbitt
Rooms Division Manager
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

For an airport hotel it ticks most boxes. Rooms are large. Beds are huge and comfy. Windows have double glazing....we looked out our window over 16 lanes of traffic, planes taking off in all directions, and couldn't hear a thing.

However.....we paid $30 each for breakfast, and it was a non event. We arrived at the restaurant at 8 am, and nearly all the food at the buffet was gone. We sat there for close to an hour, and nothing was topped up, there was very little service, coffee was stale....need I say more.

My advice : stay here if you need a night before heading off overseas, but DONt get a more expensive rate to get breakfast. eat at the airport. It will work out cheaper.

they do a transfer to the airport in the morning for $6 each. Worthwhile, as it's too far to walk, and the rude taxi drivers don't want such a short fare.

Overall, good property that's slightly dated. horrid food and service.
I would stay again for the convenience, but that's all.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNesbitt, Rooms Division Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thanks for posting a review!

I was disappointed to read your review about our 'Breakfast Offering' in the Grove Restaurant, and I have shared your review with our Food & Beverage Team, including our new Food & Beverage Manager, Toby Glover for their review and action.

I am glad we were the convenient choice for you, and I do hope that we can invite you back to the hotel sometime again soon.

Kind Regards,

Ben Nesbitt
Rooms Division Manager
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Can't find a fault in the Stamford. We stayed in between a international and domestic flight. Room was sensational as was a smoking room,staff were friendly and helpful and will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNesbitt, Rooms Division Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thanks for posting a review!

I am pleased the team helped you out and looked after your needs during your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

See you then,

Ben Nesbitt
Rooms Division Manager
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Spent last night in Sydney before flying home to Perth. Choose this hotel as it is a short walk (ten minutes max) to the domestic terminal.
I guess not everyone wants to walk but with only overnight bags we prefer some exercise before sitting for hours on a flight.
The hotel was a bonus as it was quiet, comfortable, clean and the room was a decent size. We enjoyed the view of the airport, we had a drink in the bar, and would definitely return again. In fact I would consider staying longer next as it was an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet-PerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNesbitt, Rooms Division Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thanks for posting a review!

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and like you, many of our guests choose to walk the short distance to or from the domestic airport when they stay with us at the Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport.

I am pleased you enjoyed our "quiet, comfortable & clean" hotel rooms and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

See you then,

Ben Nesbitt
Rooms Division Manager
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We paid the extra to have the suite witha separate bedroom. Flying the next day with an 11mth old - we wanted to ensure bub slept & we could order room service & enjoy the evening to begin our holiday. Room was lovely & spacious. Room service meals were very good. Front desk staff were very helpful. Unfortunately the porta-cot we were provided with was damaged & one of the supporting mat boards were missing. We have chosen the park & fly option - very handy.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNesbitt, Rooms Division Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thanks for posting a review!

We are so pleased you, and your young family enjoyed your stay in one of our Raffles Suites, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

See you then,

Ben Nesbitt
Rooms Division Manager
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Great location for domestic airport access but a very noisy hotel. The ding dong from the lifts is really annoying,could here this all through the night but was especially bad in the morning.Not really worth the extra money to stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelfooder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNesbitt, Rooms Division Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thanks for posting a review!

I was disappointed to read your review regarding the 'Ding Dong' sound from our newly installed lifts, as part of our Lift Modernisation Refurbishment for 2012/2013, and since your review we have deactivated this sound to ensure no other guests are disturbed throughout the night as you were.

I apologise for the annoying sound you experienced, but rest assured this was an isolated incident that has since been rectified.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel, and show you the true Stamford experience, so please contact me direct via benjaminnesbitt@spsa.stamford.com.au or (02) 9317 1686 should you wish to stay at our hotel sometime in the near future.

I hope to hear from you,

Kind Regards,

Ben Nesbitt
Rooms Division Manager
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mascot hotels
1.2 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mantra Hotel at Sydney Airport
0.3 mi away
Pullman Sydney Airport
Pullman Sydney Airport
#2 of 12 in Mascot
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Address: | Corner O'Riordan & Robey Streets, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mascot
Price Range: $115 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney's Best Airport Hotel as awarded for seven consecutive years by Skytrax. Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport Hotel is your best luxury accommodation in Sydney. Located directly opposite the Domestic Terminal and minutes from the International terminal. It's the ideal business base for you to meet or discover all that Sydney has to offer - just 20 minutes drive from the Central Business District, Sydney Harbour Bridge, Sydney Opera House and the Royal Botanic Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport Hotel Mascot
Stamford Plaza Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing