We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 3 out of 5 feels generous...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mascot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I went in with an open mind given some other negative reviews about this hotel, and looked forward to a 5 star experience. I'm sure this hotel was once 5 star, but it is not anymore.

We booked a Wotif deal which had an upgrade to a deluxe room. I emailed ahead as deluxe rooms only seemed to have one king bed and deluxe rooms also include a free full breakfast according to the website. The staff member said that we could have an additional rollaway bed for $30 to which I replied no, that we would share the king. She also said there was only one free full breakfast per room and a second person would have to pay extra.

When we arrived the man at reception said we had a superior room as it had two beds. I said no, I asked for a deluxe room that we would share and this was then arranged. I then asked about the complimentary breakfast to which he said the upgrade is to a deluxe room but does not include this! I pulled out my email from his colleague and he agreed to one free breakfast.

Deluxe rooms are also supposed to have complimentary bottled water and fruit on each floor. There were empty bowls by the lifts and no fruit in sight. There was also no bottled water apart from what was in the mini bar. There is an ice machine on each floor and an ice bucket in room. Our room also only had one robe. The compendium in room was missing pages and on the index had page numbers crossed out and rewritten. The drawers in our room were broken as was the hairdryer in the bathroom. The view from the room was great, as was the digital aircon, do not disturb and make up room controls. The room was clean and we liked the nice big bed and the armchair and footrest. Other reviews are right in that there is no airport noise whatsoever. We never heard a plane once!

In terms of room service the food was expensive. We walked down Robey Street to some shops in Mascot and found some great eateries, liquor stores and cafes (we recommend Thai Mascot, cheap and yummy!). We got an in room movie but found that there were no prices on the system for the movies. Luckily it was only $14.95 on checkout.

We had buffet breakfast in The Grove restaurant. This is very average! We would have much rather eaten at the airport! The scrambled eggs were in chunks, the tomatoes were tough, the pancake machine didn't work! However the continental breakfast was GREAT! Lots of muffins, pastries, fruit, toast, etc.

The concierge are great. Prompt with opening doors and taking bags for you, as well as organising taxis. Taxis seem to wait right outside. We caught a taxi to the international airport for $11.80, so if there are two of you this is a bit cheaper and more convenient than catching the hotel's shuttle.

Overall this stay was ok, but when you are paying for 5 star, you expect 5 star! We will not return.

Room Tip: Don't get a deluxe room! There is no fruit or water as promised! Continental breakfast is awe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNesbitt, Rooms Division Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thanks for posting a review!

I was disappointed to read the details of your stay, and have shared your review with the entire operations team at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport. We will spend some time assessing your comments for each area and reviewing our action plan to ensure these issues do not reoccur, including our Arrival Experience, our Deluxe Room Amenities and our Grove Breakfast offering. I do thank you for your positive comments about Noise, our refurbished and new Air Conditioning Units and our prompt service by the Concierge Team.

I do hope for the opportunity to showcase the hotel again to you,

Ben Nesbitt
Rooms Division Manager
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,063 - 2,069 of 2,549 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Expected more considering the price we paid. Arrived early and no rooms available but was given access to the Hospitatlity Lounge. Stunk of smoke with ratty torn furniture. Went back to reception at 2pm - check in time, only to be told that they were waiting on a linen delivery and the rooms were not ready. We didnt get into our room until just before 5pm - what a waste of a day! Room was clean but nothing special. Considering the time we got into our room and that we checked out at 4.45am the next morning we were WAY overcharged for this stay and would stay somewhere else next time.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Eamcjrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNesbitt, Rooms Division Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thanks for posting a review!

I was disappointed to read the details of your stay, and following your review and others, we have changed our Linen Supplier to ensure that future guests of the hotel are not affected by these wait times, as we understand the importance of a quick, efficient and hassle free stay at an Airport Hotel.

I do hope we get the opportunity to showcase the true Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport to you upon a return visit. Please contact me directly via 02 9317 2200 or benjaminnesbitt@spsa.stamford.com.au and I will ensure your next stay is seamless.

I hope to hear from you soon,

Ben Nesbitt
Rooms Division Manager
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I have stayed here many times, the rooms are well appointed and spacious. The service is
good although they do get very busy at check out.
Food and service are also good.
The bar downstairs has a great ambience and its a good place to unwind and relax.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaliForever2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNesbitt, Rooms Division Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thanks for posting a review!

We look forward to you staying 'many more times' with us in years to come.

Thanks again for posting such a great review,

Ben Nesbitt
Rooms Division Manager
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Ideal for a short overnight stay while waiting for an aircraft connection. Easy walk from the Domestic terminal - stay on the footpath and use the traffic lights as traffic is constant - it is the closest hotel to the domestic terminal, but need to take the bus shuttle to the International terminal for a $6 fee. Our room overlooked the airport and there was no aircraft noise at all. The only slight noise was from freight trains that slowly moved along an elevated line adjacent to the airport side of the hotel. Any noise was barely discernable, and it was interesting to watch the trains. The hotel entrance is on the side facing away from the airport. In the evening we walked to the Newmarket Hotel at the corner of Botany and Gardiners Roads and ate at a Turkish diner opposite - excellent food and great people. There are various eateries on Botany Road, Mascot. Will stay at the Stamford again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toby_and_Celeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNesbitt, Rooms Division Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thanks for posting a review!

We so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, the view of the runway, and our proximity to Sydney Airport. I hope the 14 hour flight was bearable!

See you again soon!

Ben Nesbitt
Rooms Division Manager
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I recently stayed here twice for business. Two different rooms inluding a suite. Both were excellent and very comfortable.

The proximity to the airport makes this an ideal hotel and I was most impressed with the quality for an airport hotel. The staff were extremely accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dragonsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNesbitt, Rooms Division Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thanks for posting a review!

We are pleased your two stays with us were enjoyable, and the team looked after you whilst you were here. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport.

Kind Regards,

Ben Nesbitt
Rooms Division Manager
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

From the moment we arrived we were greeted by friendly , helpfull staff . Nothing was too much trouble . All staff were highly proffesional & immaculately presented . The package we purchased included dinner & buffet breakfast , both of which were delicious . Our room was clean & well presented and spacious . The bed was very comfortable . We enjoyed everything about our stay .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripmothernsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNesbitt, Rooms Division Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thanks for posting a review!

We are so pleased you enjoyed everything about your stay with us, and we thoroughly look forward to welcoming you back to the Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport in the near future.

See you then,

Ben Nesbitt
Rooms Division Manager
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and I had wanted to treat ourselves to great hotel experience on our last night before leaving Australia, and decided to stay at the Stamford Plaza, as it was close to the airport - nice an convenient. For a 5 star hotel, we found this came well short of the mark. Although the staff were welcoming and friendly and the room was clean, it had an air of tiredness that left something to be desired. For a start, much of the furniture needed a good spruce-up, as the veneer on more than one unit had peeled off or was in the process of doing so. There were no bath or basin plugs in bathroom, although this situation was rectified quickly. There was only one chair in the room, and when we raised this with the staff, were told that they didn't want to clutter the room, and besides, most guests didn't want to sit for long! They did offer to give us another one, but, frankly, we shouldn't have needed to ask.
The dinner meal was also a mixed blessing. The meal itself was fine, well-presented and tasty, but the service was very slow - forty minutes wait for a main - and quite off-hand staff on duty. We had been waiting over half and hour before one of them checked to see whether our order had been taken! 5 star? I think not. We've had better service and facilities in a 3 star establishment.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNesbitt, Rooms Division Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thanks for posting a review!

But like the title of your review, I was disappointed to read the content.

I am glad the team were welcoming and friendly, however I am concerned regarding your comments surrounding the Rooms Refurbishment, as well as our Food & Beverage Service standards during your dinner in the Grove restaurant- both of which I will address.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport to alter your opinion of the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Ben Nesbitt
Rooms Division Manager
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mascot hotels
1.2 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pullman Sydney Airport
Pullman Sydney Airport
#2 of 12 in Mascot
613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Hotel at Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
0.6 mi away
Meriton Suites Mascot Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Address: | Corner O'Riordan & Robey Streets, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mascot
Price Range: $128 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney's Best Airport Hotel as awarded for seven consecutive years by Skytrax. Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport Hotel is your best luxury accommodation in Sydney. Located directly opposite the Domestic Terminal and minutes from the International terminal. It's the ideal business base for you to meet or discover all that Sydney has to offer - just 20 minutes drive from the Central Business District, Sydney Harbour Bridge, Sydney Opera House and the Royal Botanic Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport Hotel Mascot
Stamford Plaza Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing