We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is good; rooms average and a bit run down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mascot
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night before going to the airport. The service was good, although it was slow because of the number of people checking in. The rooms are spacious and mini bar reasonably priced. The rooms and corridors are looking a bit tired and could be updated. A nice touch is getting the choice of pillows (firm or soft). It was hard to get the air conditioning to the right temperature but it was still comfortable.

We ate at Biggles Bar and the food was good.

We went down to look at the pool and had a good laugh. It is small, underground and the room is not very appealing.

The self-parking is good, and the stay/park/fly package is good value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WazzaM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pirodoi, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear wazzam60,

Thank you for you review - Nice to read your remarks about the room size and facilities of the hotel. We are in final stages of preparing for a hotel update and look forward to you experiencing our refreshed product soon.

Ian Pirodon
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

854 - 860 of 1,278 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Second stay at this hotel for work. Proximity to the airport is convenient and a (paid) shuttle is provided. Check-in/out can be take some time as reception tends to get busy, and we checked in at 1500, and our rooms were not yet available. Hallways are looking very tired and in need of a lick of paint, new carpets and air freshener. The rooms themselves are satisfactory, the beds very comfortable with a pleasing selection of soft and firm pillows. Room chattels are a little shabby; the curtain in my room was stained and worn and the TV remote was impossible to master. If you encounter problems in this regard, turn on the TV by pressing the OFF button on the remote. Strange, but it works. The bathroom was of older vintage, with virtually no hot water pressure but plenty of new, fluffy towels were on hand to soften the blow. In-room safes and tea/coffee making facilities are also present, but I suggest you do without the internet for the night as the charges are nothing short of larcenous. The breakfast buffet is quite passable and staff are vigilant with replenishing items, but it it not cheap, but a pitstop (or two) at the self-serve espresso machine is a must. The Holiday Inn Sydney Airport will tick all the boxes for you for a night's stay in between flights or for work, and there are no surprises. If you want to treat yourself though, stay at the nearby Stamford, which will afford you a different experience altogether.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerlitzTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pirodoi, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Berlitztraveller,

Thank you for your review and thank you for being a repeat customer, I would love the opportunity to meet you in person on your next stay and discuss your review in more detail. The team strive to excel in their customer delivery and your feedback is crucial to ensure we review all of our procedures. We are currently reviewing upgrade works for our room products as we focus in ensuring a quality Holiday Inn experience for every stay.

Ian Pirodon
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A very pleasant hotel; I was on an overnight stop and had a spacious corner room - comfortable bed, much needed after a 22h flight, well insulated for sound (I could see the plane's taking off, but without the noise). For those arriving at the airport, the hotel is easily reached by a shuttle ($6AUD each way) which can be pre-booked from reception for the return journey. There is a spacious dining room , and a good breakfast buffet. Overall, I'd be most happy to stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djg2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pirodoi, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear dig 2018,

Thank you for your review - fantastic to see you had a pleasant stay and found that very important rest after a 22 hour flight! Looking forward to welcoming you back soon on your next Sydney stop over.

Ian Pirodon
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Good hotel to stay in for overnight. Take the shuttle from stand 32 - 10 mins from hotel 12 dollars each. Room was clean, large comfortable bed and hotel very quiet. Check in and out was excellent, quick and efficient. Very close to station for onward journey. Buffet breakfast good but was like eating in a canteen...no ambience..a bit utlitarian. Its not a cheap hotel but we were happy with the convenience, the quiet and standard fo the room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pirodoi, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Maureen H,

Thanks for your review - I've shared your comments with the Food & Beverage team to ensure we provide a balance environment at all meal times - Look forward to welcoming you back to let us know what you think.

Ian Pirodon
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stay at this hotel frequently. It is very convenient to the airport and to the office I need to use when in Sydney. It offers a very reliable level of service with the usual hotel issues - expensive car parking, sometimes a bit slow at reception, just too close to the airport to get a taxi.
Otherwise it's good.
Food-wise the restaurant is reliably good without being outstanding, the staff are freindly and room service offers a number of good options.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sallymagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pirodoi, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear sallymagpie,

I totally agree with you and believe our product and team are 'solid, reliable and clean'. Thank you for sharing your views on tripadvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Ian Pirodon
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Spent one night here to connect with a flight early the next day. Great hotel, room was lovely and the bed so comfy!!! Will definitely stay there again!!! Enjoyed dinner in the bar and 5 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vikki63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pirodoi, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear vikki63,

Thank you for posting a review - We get so many comments about our 'comfy' beds and delighted that your overnight stay was great.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon

Ian Pirodon
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

As per most people had 1 nighter before flying.
We got an upgrade at check in and so did it seam that everybody else did as well.
1007 on top floor was our room.
It was large and had plenty of room to stretch out. Very clean and nicely appointed.
The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in and the pillow just enveloped my head.
Black out curtains that crossed over to block out light and good glazing so you could not hear the road or airport noise. Wish I could have missed my plane to stay in that bed longer.
Beaut of a power shower and some nice freebies in bathroom as well.
Had a few "pigs ears" in Biggles bar on the ground floor and they had a nice selection of real ales which was much appreciated.
We also had veggie burger chips and side salad and a pizza. They were huge and very tasty, which came in at $15 each and the food was excellent, freshly cooked in an open kitchen in the bar.
This hotel was excellent.
It was much better than the Crowne Plaza that I had stayed in the day before.
Will defo use this place each time I pass through Sydney.
Lasty walked to airport as it was only 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShaunScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pirodoi, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear ShaunScotalnd,

Delighted to read the review and i have shared this with the team - It is fantastic to see that all of our product and services exceeded your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon on your next Sydney stop over.

Ian Pirodon
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mascot hotels
0.4 mi away
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
1.4 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pullman Sydney Airport
Pullman Sydney Airport
#2 of 12 in Mascot
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Airport
0.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
0.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Mascot Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sydney Airport

Address: Corner O'Riordan Street & Bourke Road, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mascot
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mascot
Price Range: $139 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Sydney Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently positioned, Holiday Inn Sydney Airport is located only minutes from Sydney Airport's international and domestic terminals with regular airport shuttle transfers to and from the hotel. Situated in the heart of the growing Mascot precinct of restaurant, cafes, bars and shops - you'll never feel to far away from anything. A two minute walk to nearby Mascot Train Station will have you in the city within 15 minutes to view the well-known Sydney attractions. All 250 guest rooms have views towards the city skyline or airport and have been custom designed with guest comfort in mind. Standard rooms come equipped with a choice of soft and firm pillows, double-glazed windows, flatscreen TVs, high speed internet access and ensuite with dual pressure showerhead. Enjoy a delicious dinner in Sirocco Restaurant with a menu inspired by the flavours of the globe or enjoy a more relaxed atmosphere and socialise with friends or colleagues in Biggles Bar for tasty bar bites and refreshing drinks. Holiday Inn Sydney Airport boasts a 24 hour gymnasium, sauna, business centre, 5 flexible meeting spaces, secure underground car park and VIP Lounge. Experience the relaxed, genuine and friendly service at Holiday Inn Sydney Airport for your next Sydney stopover, perfect for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport Hotel Mascot
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing