We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stephanie and David saved the day!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mascot
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bowie, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stephanie and David saved the day!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was a GREAT experience for my husband and me. We contacted the hotel ahead of time to let them know we were celebrating an anniversary. When we arrived Stephanie checked us in at the front desk and made us feel like VIP's and continued to take care of us through the rest of the trip even giving us suggestions and directions for touring the city. Wonderful David in the restaurant brought us champaign to our room complimentary. What a warm and wonderful experience. These 2 made all the difference. The hotel itself is wonderful from the outside and in the lobby smells and looks very clean and nice really looks 5 start. The rooms are older but very nice. There are some housekeeping issues...our toilet for example had not been flushed completely so of course we wondered about the cleanliness.

Overall we were very happy with our stay. Oh also the breakfast buffet was very good. My favorite feature was that you could make your own fresh squeezed juice. They had a restaurant quality juicer with all kinds of fruits and veggies to choose from. Very impressive and very good. Great stay!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freelanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pirodoi, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Airport, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Freelanc,

Thank you for posting a review and Highlighting David and Stephanie as team members who made your Anniversary extra special. Trust you had a great holiday in Australia - Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Ian Pirodon
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    627
    204
    50
    35
See reviews for
267
378
130
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowral, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel a couple times recently. Last time was only last week prior to an early overseas flight the following day. Previously stayed here for 3 nights for a conference as it is just around the corner from my HO. In summary I would say it is your typical Holiday Inn, a little bit like most Novotels, functional for a short stay, but not great.
We did not have breakfast at the hotel this time, but I have had before and was OK.
The staff at HI must come from a factory somewhere in the Mid-West US as they all have the same friendly on the surface but really fairly uninterested approach to customer service.Having said that, it is what it is in the sense that I cannot imagine staying there for a Holiday, and it really probably mainly an overnighter for people flying out from either the Sydney Domestic or International airports which it is conveniently close to. ($6.00 pp shuttle)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuitarmanBowral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pirodoi, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Airport, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear GuitarmanBowral,

Thank you for posting a review - appreciate your point of view about the hotel and its services. The hotel team strive to ensure all our guests have a great Holiday Inn Service experience. I will share your comment with them to ensure that we remain consistent to your expectations.

Ian Pirodon
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Although the Hotel looked impressive from the outside and the reception was huge, the corridor at level 4 and room was dull, drab and very much in need of refurbishment. Certainly not 4.5* as listed. Parking was also cramped and expensive for what was offered.

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th floor not recommended; other levels may have been refurbished but not 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pirodoi, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Airport, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Lesley B,

Thank you for posting a review - I am disappointed to read that you did not get a positive experience at the hotel, I would love the opportunity to discuss this further with you on your next stay with us. We have placed a lot of focus over the last year modernizing our room experience which included upgrade to our room furnishings and inclusion of MP3 Ipod clocks & laptop sized in-room safes. I have shared your comments with the team - we take these very seriously.

Look forward to meeting you on your next stay

Ian Pirodon
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Australia
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

My overnight stay for work was very enjoyable - Room 721 was a corner room so was a bit larger than the other rooms. Bed was comfy with a choice of firm or soft pillows. Love the fresh DIY juicer at breakfast. Good value for money and close to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolyng26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pirodoi, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Airport, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear carolyng26,

Thank you for your recent review - I am pleased that the hotel offerings met all your expectations. I look forward to meeting you on your next stay

Ian Pirodon
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed here due to its proximity to the airport. Although the room was nice, the bathroom was dirty and made us uncomfortable every time we had to use it. There was an old rusty chair in it and it smelled like urine. Considering we've stayed in hostels around the world it was surprising to be grossed out by a bathroom in a hoilday inn.

Other than the bath, the staff were nice and the beds were comfy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackiek14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Airport, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Jackiek14,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with the room conditions.

We are disappointed to read that you had a poor service experience when you stayed at our hotel. We will follow up with the executive housekeeper to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. We are pleased that our staff was able to off set this displeasure with great service.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

So we stayed here one night primarily to catch an early flight out of Sydney and thus avoid the drive to the airport in the morning.
From this perspective it was a success.
The room was clean and modern and the bathroom was good.
The bus in the morning was $6, breakfast is $25 which is not so bad for a hotel considering it was full buffet.

Main complaint was unbelievably slow checkin, just woeful how long it took.
Checkout even with two people on was very slow.
I am unsure what the delays are caused by but they need to be examined and removed.
Only other comment was the mini van driver was rather brusque, walked in to the lobby, yelled "bus going now" to which I appealed... could you at least wait for my to check out.
He truly glared at me and said nothing. Quite bizarre and very stressful.
You think the hotel would better coordinate things.

Room Tip: Not near the lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Airport, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear luckydog428,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am pleased that the room accommodations lived up to your expectations. However, I am deeply sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from our staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I would like to actually review this hotel BUT ...

i arrived at 11.00pm after a flight from Perth to find my guaranteed accommodation which had been booked through a travel agent was not available - the hotel had overbooked.

Bad bad bad !!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TrickyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pirodoi, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Airport, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Trickyperth,

I am very disappointed to read your review - Please accept my sincere apology for the experience caused by a reservations issue between the hotel and the travel agent. We have since reviewed this procedure to ensure this is not repeated. I am sure that you found some respite with the team finding you quick accommodation at our sister hotel Crowne Plaza Coogee beach.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at our hotel

Ian Pirodon
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mascot hotels
0.4 mi away
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
1.4 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Mascot Central
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Airport
0.1 mi away
Pullman Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sydney Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
Address: Corner O'Riordan Street & Bourke Road, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Sydney Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently positioned, Holiday Inn Sydney Airport is located only minutes from Sydney Airport's international and domestic terminals with regular airport shuttle transfers to and from the hotel. Situated in the heart of the growing Mascot precinct of restaurant, cafes, bars and shops - you'll never feel to far away from anything. A two minute walk to nearby Mascot Train Station will have you in the city within 15 minutes to view the well-known Sydney attractions. All 250 guest rooms have views towards the city skyline or airport and have been custom designed with guest comfort in mind. Standard rooms come equipped with a choice of soft and firm pillows, double-glazed windows, flatscreen TVs, high speed internet access and ensuite with dual pressure showerhead. Enjoy a delicious dinner in Sirocco Restaurant with a menu inspired by the flavours of the globe or enjoy a more relaxed atmosphere and socialise with friends or colleagues in Biggles Bar for tasty bar bites and refreshing drinks. Holiday Inn Sydney Airport boasts a 24 hour gymnasium, sauna, business centre, 5 flexible meeting spaces, secure underground car park and VIP Lounge. Experience the relaxed, genuine and friendly service at Holiday Inn Sydney Airport for your next Sydney stopover, perfect for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport Hotel Mascot
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing