We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mascot
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Close to the airport, extremely comfortable beds and pillows. Very close in price to the Ibis and Formula1, but far better bedding.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt1972SnowLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pirodoi, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2011

Dear Mat1972SnowLover

Thank you for taking the time to enter a review of your recent stay at the hotel. I have shared your comments with the team and they are delighted that you had a great sleep experience at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

All the best,

Ian Pirodon
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,073 - 1,079 of 1,295 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2011

A convenient location and up to the standard of most HI Hotels. Bonus of tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Why can't many foreign hotels have this little extra for the comfort of guests.?
Not everyone wants a fridge full of grog either.
Full buffet breakfast was good. Room Service was more like take out with burgers arriving in a bag with chips. Burgers cold,poorly put together,wafer thin cheese more like paper; chips hot and nicely fried and cut.
If I wanted take out I would have gone to Maccas down the road.
Biggest let down was wi fi charges. $5 for 30 minutes on a room costing over $A150 is a bit rich. Surely free wi fi these days like in most overseas hotels, especially HI's should be a free service.
I will stay here again, mainly for the convenience, but please note HI, little things count at the end of the day for me.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

I enjoy short stays at the Holiday Inn at Sydney Airport. It's close by, my Priority Club Ambassador status means that it's always a two minute check-in and check-out, and includes an automatic upgrade. The morning paper is always there, courteous staff are standard and the value is unbeatable!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geraldq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Don't expect the holiday Inn Sydney Airport to be a cheap airport hotel, it is not, but it is a comfortable stay and has some benefits that other hotels do not have. The Mascot railway station is just 5-10 minutes walk from the hotel (not much shelter by the way for rainy days) and can get you into the tourist district in about 10-15 minutes on non peak times for just $2 for a single fare. Day passes start at $20 and include ferry rides as well as bus and rail travel. The ferry to Manly is a usual relaxing trip after a hectic start.

Breakfast was not included, but was available for $25 each - better to catch the train to Circular Quay and get something there.

The staff are very helpful, but the front desk can get busy at certain times. Taxis usually are waiting in the forecourt, and a airport shuttle operates from the hotel, so access back to the airport is good.

Would I stay again - yes.

Room Tip: a taxi will get you the hotel quicker than the shuttle, but will only cost a few dollars more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ty_of_perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We had an over night stay here in September, as we had an early International Flight the next morning. The young lady on check in was lovely - friendly, chatty and very personable. We had booked two rooms, 1 room was supposed to be 1 QN and 2 Singles, 2nd room 1 QN, however on getting to the rooms found 1 room was 2QNs and the other was 1QN and 1Single. On checking with reception, we were advised the Hotel had gone through a review process and they had changed their bedding configurations. I wish we'd been told this (or warned at the very least) as this was one of the main reasons we booked here. Travelling with 2 small children - having them share one bed is NOT fun (as I'm sure many a parent will attest). We survived the night but only just.

The room itself was very clean, well appointed and the bathroom was lovely. Extensive beauty products in the bathroom, which was also lovely and clean too. The bar downstairs has a good selection of food and is nice and casual for a young family just needing somewhere to refuel.

The air conditioner in the room did not adequately cool our room at all. This made sleeping hot and getting any reasonable sleep was difficult. We had the air con on the coolest setting as well but figured it was as good as we were going to get and did not contact Reception to see if there was a fault with our air con (Stamford Plaza seem to have this issue too - that is, we had a problem with their air con not cooling to an adequate temperature when we stayed there in 2010).

The Sydney Super Shuttle is a great service although the driver of the service was not very friendly and seemed more interested in getting his money than good customer service. I'm afraid English was not this driver's strong point either. A positive though is it was on time. A very convenient service despite poor customer service.

All in all a good stay. We would choose Holiday Inn Sydney Airport again over Stamford Plaza, despite the air con issues.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheAusSmithFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Came straight here from another Holiday Inn that wasnt so good, as always its the front desk people who can make or break the stay as first impressions are important, these were really lovely and I wished I had been able to stay here for more than one night! The service system in the restuarant was different but worked!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

pleasant stay at this hotel and a lot better than the Holiday Inns i have experienced in the UK
Bar and bar snacks good value for an airport hotel and shuttle bus very convenient

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mascot hotels
1.4 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
0.4 mi away
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
0.1 mi away
Pullman Sydney Airport
Pullman Sydney Airport
#2 of 12 in Mascot
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Airport
0.5 mi away
Mantra Hotel at Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sydney Airport

Address: Corner O'Riordan Street & Bourke Road, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mascot
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mascot
Price Range: $110 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Sydney Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently positioned, Holiday Inn Sydney Airport is located only minutes from Sydney Airport's international and domestic terminals with regular airport shuttle transfers to and from the hotel. Situated in the heart of the growing Mascot precinct of restaurant, cafes, bars and shops - you'll never feel to far away from anything. A two minute walk to nearby Mascot Train Station will have you in the city within 15 minutes to view the well-known Sydney attractions. All 250 guest rooms have views towards the city skyline or airport and have been custom designed with guest comfort in mind. Standard rooms come equipped with a choice of soft and firm pillows, double-glazed windows, flatscreen TVs, high speed internet access and ensuite with dual pressure showerhead. Enjoy a delicious dinner in Sirocco Restaurant with a menu inspired by the flavours of the globe or enjoy a more relaxed atmosphere and socialise with friends or colleagues in Biggles Bar for tasty bar bites and refreshing drinks. Holiday Inn Sydney Airport boasts a 24 hour gymnasium, sauna, business centre, 5 flexible meeting spaces, secure underground car park and VIP Lounge. Experience the relaxed, genuine and friendly service at Holiday Inn Sydney Airport for your next Sydney stopover, perfect for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport Hotel Mascot
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing