We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Airport and Train”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mascot
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Close to Airport and Train”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Don't expect the holiday Inn Sydney Airport to be a cheap airport hotel, it is not, but it is a comfortable stay and has some benefits that other hotels do not have. The Mascot railway station is just 5-10 minutes walk from the hotel (not much shelter by the way for rainy days) and can get you into the tourist district in about 10-15 minutes on non peak times for just $2 for a single fare. Day passes start at $20 and include ferry rides as well as bus and rail travel. The ferry to Manly is a usual relaxing trip after a hectic start.

Breakfast was not included, but was available for $25 each - better to catch the train to Circular Quay and get something there.

The staff are very helpful, but the front desk can get busy at certain times. Taxis usually are waiting in the forecourt, and a airport shuttle operates from the hotel, so access back to the airport is good.

Would I stay again - yes.

Room Tip: a taxi will get you the hotel quicker than the shuttle, but will only cost a few dollars more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ty_of_perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    627
    204
    50
    35
See reviews for
267
378
130
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We had an over night stay here in September, as we had an early International Flight the next morning. The young lady on check in was lovely - friendly, chatty and very personable. We had booked two rooms, 1 room was supposed to be 1 QN and 2 Singles, 2nd room 1 QN, however on getting to the rooms found 1 room was 2QNs and the other was 1QN and 1Single. On checking with reception, we were advised the Hotel had gone through a review process and they had changed their bedding configurations. I wish we'd been told this (or warned at the very least) as this was one of the main reasons we booked here. Travelling with 2 small children - having them share one bed is NOT fun (as I'm sure many a parent will attest). We survived the night but only just.

The room itself was very clean, well appointed and the bathroom was lovely. Extensive beauty products in the bathroom, which was also lovely and clean too. The bar downstairs has a good selection of food and is nice and casual for a young family just needing somewhere to refuel.

The air conditioner in the room did not adequately cool our room at all. This made sleeping hot and getting any reasonable sleep was difficult. We had the air con on the coolest setting as well but figured it was as good as we were going to get and did not contact Reception to see if there was a fault with our air con (Stamford Plaza seem to have this issue too - that is, we had a problem with their air con not cooling to an adequate temperature when we stayed there in 2010).

The Sydney Super Shuttle is a great service although the driver of the service was not very friendly and seemed more interested in getting his money than good customer service. I'm afraid English was not this driver's strong point either. A positive though is it was on time. A very convenient service despite poor customer service.

All in all a good stay. We would choose Holiday Inn Sydney Airport again over Stamford Plaza, despite the air con issues.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAusSmithFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex UK
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Came straight here from another Holiday Inn that wasnt so good, as always its the front desk people who can make or break the stay as first impressions are important, these were really lovely and I wished I had been able to stay here for more than one night! The service system in the restuarant was different but worked!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

pleasant stay at this hotel and a lot better than the Holiday Inns i have experienced in the UK
Bar and bar snacks good value for an airport hotel and shuttle bus very convenient

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis,Mn
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

After a red eye flight, being given a room early in the morning so you can clean up is a blessing. I used the Sydney Super Shuttle to get to the hotel(runs about every 45 minutes). They charge the shuttle ride to the room. You catch it at the bus parking area 30-34 out side of the International terminal. The on site restaurant serves a nice choice at breakfast from cereal to hot dishes. The room was quiet, the bed was comfortable. If you have time, you are within a short walk of a rail station that will take you up to the city center for site seeing, Just ask the front desk for directions, they are very helpful

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank business-traveler-Mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

I've stayed here a few times and just recently used their Park and Go package which includes 7 nights free undercover parking which when compared to Valet Parking at the Airport is fantastic value.

The rooms are great, staff are wonderful (particularly reception) and the restaurant has an extensive menu at reasonable prices.

My only complaint would be that the carpets in the hallways look like they need replacing. When you get out of the list it gives off a bad impression.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindat44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Nice hotel for a stop-over at Sydney Airport.
Traveling with my husband, 9 year old and a 1 month old baby. Needed somewhere easy for an early start the next morning without the hassles of Sydney traffic.
We had a nice dinner and great breakfast in the hotel restaurant, and kids stay and eat for free!!
There were two very comfortable double beds in our room, so plenty of room for us all to sleep, and a cot was offered for our baby for free as well.
Airport transfers were included in our room package which made our trip really easy. Must admit though that Sydney airport is not well sign-posted and finding the shuttle bus area was a bit difficult.
All in all the hotel was clean, comfortable, easy and pleasant. Very family friendly and to a good standard. I would recommend it for an airport stop-over with kids.
Make sure you leave yourself plenty of time for breakfast in the morning as it was one of the nicest hotel breakfast buffets I have had in a long while!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntoniaHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mascot hotels
0.4 mi away
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
1.4 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Mascot Central
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Airport
0.1 mi away
Pullman Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sydney Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
Address: Corner O'Riordan Street & Bourke Road, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Sydney Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently positioned, Holiday Inn Sydney Airport is located only minutes from Sydney Airport's international and domestic terminals with regular airport shuttle transfers to and from the hotel. Situated in the heart of the growing Mascot precinct of restaurant, cafes, bars and shops - you'll never feel to far away from anything. A two minute walk to nearby Mascot Train Station will have you in the city within 15 minutes to view the well-known Sydney attractions. All 250 guest rooms have views towards the city skyline or airport and have been custom designed with guest comfort in mind. Standard rooms come equipped with a choice of soft and firm pillows, double-glazed windows, flatscreen TVs, high speed internet access and ensuite with dual pressure showerhead. Enjoy a delicious dinner in Sirocco Restaurant with a menu inspired by the flavours of the globe or enjoy a more relaxed atmosphere and socialise with friends or colleagues in Biggles Bar for tasty bar bites and refreshing drinks. Holiday Inn Sydney Airport boasts a 24 hour gymnasium, sauna, business centre, 5 flexible meeting spaces, secure underground car park and VIP Lounge. Experience the relaxed, genuine and friendly service at Holiday Inn Sydney Airport for your next Sydney stopover, perfect for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport Hotel Mascot
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing