We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
AeA Sydney Airport Serviced Apartments
Reviewed February 13, 2012

When looking for a hotel or apartment to stay for two nights in Botany, I chose the AEA Apartments because they offered a 1 and 2 bedroom apartment with living room and kitchen facilities - rather than a room only hotel suite.

Travelling with another conference attendee (female), we needed two separate bedding arrangements and while online CHATTED with the Hotelclub.com.au representative, she CONFIRMED that the divan/sofa in the living room was sleepable and would be made up with linen.

The first piece of bad luck was to try to enter the property at 4pm. At the front door (off a busy cross street to Botany Road) the buzzer brought no one. A telephone call to the onsite manager, reservations number and then manager again, finally brought a tall, shoeless man in socks and dirty shorts and t-shirt to open the locked door for us.

We checked in and were given the swipe key, travelled up the lift to our floor to find the key not working. Back down to reception, and Ali returned with a master key and reprogrammed our key.

Second hiccup was to find the sofa bed NOT made up as hoped and promised by the woman on the chat. This information had not been communicated to the bookings centre, so we had to beg for some sheeting, and took two pillows and cotton blanket off the queen bed. Just as well it was not winter. Mr Ali was not able to find any blankets and not too concerned about the situation he was leaving us in, although he did promise to get us a better room the next night. The sofa bed frame was also broken because someone must have sat on it to watch TV (a very small flat screen), no TV in the Bedroom. AND, the carpet was stained and needed a replacement in my view. Not dirty, but just ugly.

Well, the next day, there was no one at reception at 8.30am when we had to leave and no one on our return at 5.15pm. Office hours are too restrictive at 9-5pm and a log by telephone to the After hours Paging Service brought NO HELP.
Telephone onthe wall doesn't work so not sure how people get one without a mobile phone.

On the positive side, the location was perfect for accessing the Commercial area of Lord Street and the living room was large enough for a party of eight, but the experience makes you wonder how they get anyone to return.
Nice bathroom with full laundry facilities and kitchen well stocked.

Lift your game AEA, get better service and treat your customers with respect.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MicheleSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and providing feedback on your stay. We are sincerely disappointed that we failed to provide the exceptional service we always strive for here at AEA. Your comments are very important to us and I can assure you we have taken them into consideration.

We would like to thank you for pointing out that we do in fact offer larger apartments with kitchen and laundry facilities, as we like guests to feel at home and have available to them the best facilities possible. However, we would like to apologise that you were greeted in an unprofessional manner. Unfortunately, at times our building managers also perform maintenance duties and are sometimes somewhat unprofessionally dressed due to this, however, this should not have occurred and I can assure you it has been brought up with our General Manager. As a result, we now have a permanent receptionist at our Mascot building to greet guests in a more appropriate and welcoming manner, so we thank you for your feedback.

We would also like to apologise for the miscommunication by hotelclub.com.au and the representative that you chatted too. I can assure you that your bed would have been ready upon your arrival had there not been a miscommunication somewhere along the long so we would like to apologise to you for such an inconvenience. We understand that our guests are travelling and often tired and we never want to inconvenience them on their travels and we take every measure not to do so, we are sincerely apologetic that in your experience this was not the case.

I would like to further apologise that you found our previous building manager unhelpful and I can assure you that should you choose to return to visit us; this would no longer be the case. We value your feedback and do everything we can to make our guests feel at home.

We are glad you appreciated our prime location here in Mascot. We are also pleased that you were able to utilise our many facilities. All our apartments include fully equipped laundries and kitchens as we strive to make our guests feel at home, even when they aren’t!

We would like to invite you back and hope to make your next stay a much better experience. Please feel free to contact me and I will personally assist you in organising your next visit here at AEA Sydney Airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 65 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2011

Arrived late afternoon on Friday and no on-site contact available until Monday. Significant damage to the stone bench top in the kitchen, shower screen leaked very badly. Booked for a family and found only 2 drinking glasses and 3 wine glasses. No plastic kitchen items at all even though there was a microwave. Saucepans older and no longer had flat bottoms so would not heat up on the electric cook top as limited contact between saucepan and stove. Absolutely filthy throughout - is on the main road at Mascot so expected some level of brake dust but walls all covered in (obviously) old dirty marks, had two verandah's and could not use either as they were so filthy. Could be good value if they put in some effort. Fittings very old and sparce.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and providing feedback on your stay. We are sincerely disappointed that we failed to provide the exceptional service we always strive for here at AEA. Your comments are very important to us and I can assure you we have taken them into consideration.

We would like to apologise that you found some of our facilities to not be up to the standard we expect from them. We are sincerely sorry that the utensils were not plentiful and we would like you to know that this is not typical of our apartments.

We also apologise that you did not find the state of your apartment up to standard and would like to express that this is by no means a typical occurrence and I can assure you that we will strive to ensure it doesn’t happen in future. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and will ensure we communicate it to maintenance and housekeeping staff members to avoid this every occurring in the future.

I would like to welcome you back at any time, at any of our buildings here in Sydney, and I can assure you that we will strive to ensure your next stay is exceptional. Please feel free to contact me directly to organise your next day. Thank you again for your feedback as it is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

No on-site reception after 5pm, 5:30pm so phone the manager, get a key, from the drop box.

Walk in to the apartment, throw on the light switch, and take a look at the phone on the wall, which is covered in dust, dust all along the top of the curtains. Dust on the hairdryer in the bathroom.

Kitchen okay, no microwave dishes, basic utensils.
Dishwash packets have encrusted dirt on them.

Used cake of soap in the shower.

Not sure who is cleaning this apartment, but it hasn't had a deep clean in months.

Walked down to the IGA, about 10mins bought my own cleaning supplies.
Asked my office manager not to book me here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian_kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and providing feedback on your stay here at AEA Sydney Airport Apartments. We are disappointed that, on this occasion, we failed to provide the exceptional service we always strive for here at AEA. Your comments are very important to us and I can assure you we have taken them on board.

We also apologise that you did not find the state of your apartment up to standard and would like to express that this is uncharacteristic of our apartments and I can assure you that we will strive to ensure it doesn’t happen in future. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and will ensure we communicate with maintenance and housekeeping staff members to avoid this ever occurring in the future.

We do hope you enjoyed our large living spaces and convenient location and as a whole, enjoyed your stay at AEA Sydney Airport.

I would like to welcome you back at any time, at any of our buildings here in Sydney, and I can assure you that we will strive to ensure your next stay is exceptional. Please feel free to contact me directly to organise your next stay. Thank you again for your feedback as it is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

The rooms are bright and spacious with good views of mascot.the staff are very friendly and the local selection of different foods are second to none.there is a 20 minute walk to the train station which can connect you to either bondi junction or circular quay for the opera house which is what visitors are looking foe, Ali the site manager is a star and takes care of the residents with great inside information of events in Sydney, altogether agreat place to start the oz journey

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martindouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate that you took the time to share with the Trip Advisor community your time with us here at AEA Sydney Airport Apartments. As a brand, customer service is our focus so we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are very pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed the local selection of different foods! We are also glad that you were able to utilize our convenient location and the fact that we are very close to buses, trains and taxis for transport to other areas of Sydney. We would love to welcome you back whenever you please. Thank you again for your comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We spent a week at the AEA apartments, the apartments we lovley, fully facilitated and well priced so we booked another 2 weeks, the location to the city and beaches was a good factor for us.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate that you took the time to share with the Trip Advisor community your time with us here at AEA Sydney Airport Apartments. We have a strong focus on customer service so all your feedback is important to us. We are so glad to hear that you found our apartments to be lovely and our facilities useful. We strive to make our guests feel at home in spacious apartments with fully equipped kitchens and laundries so we are so pleased to hear that you utilised these aspects of our apartments. We are also glad that you were able to utilize our convenient location and the fact that we are very close to the city and beaches and to transport to other areas of Sydney. We are so glad you were happy with your stay so much so that you extended for two weeks! We would love to welcome you back whenever you please. Thank you again for your comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Very reasonably priced and close to airport and local Mascot shops. Rooms are clean with everything you need (i.e. fridge, stove, washer, dryer). The Manger (Ali) is very friendly and professional (I had seen some previous positive comments about him and thought they must have been written by his mates - but he really is helpful with any issues). Will come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifeisajourney11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate that you took the time to share with the Trip Advisor community your time with us here at AEA Sydney Airport Apartments. We are very pleased to hear that you were able to utilise our convenient location close to the airport and local shops! We are also happy to hear you found our staff friendly and professional.

Here at AEA, customer service is our focus so we are happy to hear that you really enjoyed your stay. We always strive to make our guests feel as though our apartments can be a home away from home, and as a result, ensure we provide all useful facilities including fully equipped kitchens and laundries.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with this feedback and we would love to welcome you back whenever you please!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

• The smell in the apartment was horrendous. Yes, the apartment was clean, but it stank of chemicals which gave us all headaches. We had to go out and buy Glen 20, candles and incense to get rid of smell.
• The apartment looked bare, no pictures on walls, Tiny Lamps with broken bases and tatty shades and globes that did not work.
• The curtains were tatty and nettings were in need of a wash (they smelt dirty and were dusty to touch)
• The hairdryer did not work and was positively dangerous, I switched it on and fire shot out of the cord at the junction to the hairdryer. We had to go out with Wet hair in the middle of winter.
• There was a lovely balcony but no outdoor furniture. The Balcony door had two cracks thru the glass
• The endless signs in the department, really did not feel welcoming and I have to say I could not recommend it to friends nor do I feel we would choose to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluejoni2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and providing feedback on your stay at AEA Sydney Airport. Your comments are very important to us and I can assure you we have taken them into consideration. We are genuinely disappointed that we failed to provide the exceptional service we always strive for here at AEA.

Firstly, thank you for pointing out that your apartment was clean as we always strive to provide a clean and welcoming environment here at AEA. However, I would like to apologise that you felt the chemicals in the cleaning products used by our housekeeping staff were overpowering. I can assure you that this is not a typical occurrence and we will be communicating together with our housekeeping staff to ensure this is completely avoided in the future.

We would like to apologise that you felt the apartment looked bare. We know how important it is that the apartments contain pictures and other decorative furniture items in order to make our guests feel at home, and we always strive to achieve this, and as such, we apologise you felt this way.

I would also like to personally apologise at the incident that occurred involving our in room hair dryer. I can assure you that this is not typical of our facilities and I know this must have been a terrible inconvenience for you. I can assure you that this has been brought up with our General Manager and maintenance staff in order to ensure nothing like this occurs in the future.
We are glad you liked our large balconies, and can assure you that if you choose to come back and visit us I will personally ensure you are able to utilise the balcony more readily.

We hope you were able to experience our prime location here in Mascot, close to the airport, shops and eateries and all transport facilities to take you into other prime locations in our beautiful city of Sydney.

We are always striving to make our guests feel comfortable and at home when staying in our apartments and as such we sincerely apologise that you felt our signs were unwelcoming. I can assure you that your feedback has been taken into consideration and we have significantly reduced the signage in our buildings, only very few remain in order to assist guests outside of office hours.

We would like to invite you back and hope to make your next stay a much better experience. Please feel free to contact me and I will personally assist you in organising your next visit here at AEA Sydney Airport or any of our other buildings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mascot hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Airport
0.5 mi away
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
0.3 mi away
The Branksome Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
1 mi away
Meriton Suites Mascot Central
1.6 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AeA Sydney Airport Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AeA Sydney Airport Serviced Apartments

Address: 1285 Botany Rd | Corner of Botany Road & Wentworth Avenue, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Mascot
Price Range: $95 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AeA Sydney Airport Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your AeA Sydney Airport Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing