We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Thaifood”
Review of Chat Thai

Chat Thai
Ranked #65 of 300 Restaurants in Manly
Price range: $9 - $14
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Manly
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
182 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent Thaifood”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had late lunch here sort of by chance and we were quite happy with the food. It is fast food Thai but don't expect McDonnald fast. However the food was definitely worth the wait. We live in Asia and eat this type of food daily and we both agreed this had very fresh ingredients and perfectly stir fried and we would have gone back the next day if we did not need to catch a ferry to get there because the ferry was more expensive than the food! So if you want a semi-quick healthy meal at a fair price then this little restaurant is for you.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank acdenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    49
    18
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, straight off the ferry and a quick cheap feed.”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great little "Fast food" restaurant in the ferry terminal. Great spot to eat if you going to use the Manly ferry service. Food was pretty good, but not amazing. Open kitchen so you can see the chef's cooking up a storm. All in all good cheap opition!!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nufc1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cheap and Crap”
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Unbelieveable ! The first dish was good but the following dishes i.e. papaya salad and fresh spring roll testless, also drinks taste terrible e.g.logan drink and Thai milk tea. I'm not to sure about their food, they might of used too much MSG. After 2-3 hrs, we went to the hotel my wife and I felt sick and needed lots of water. In my opinion I would recommend other Thai resturants on Pitt street, as it tastes much better.
Pro.
Good location
Staff very friendly and helpful
Con.
Food testless
Not traditional Thai
Too much MSG
Slow food service
Long queue

Helpful?
Thank Ruttam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Almost a Thai Fast Food Restaurant”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

The prices and the localization of the restaurant are the most attractive in Chat Tai. Also the food is served very quickly and in a large amount. Won't complain of the taste of it at first but then couldn't help noticing it was too oily, so it was too strong for me. Maybe the meal choice wasn't the best.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FelipeMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly Beach
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fast and Fresh. Affordble and Tasty”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Eat in or takeaway.
All manly locals eat at this venue.
Recenly offering table service - it can be a littel slow... but the food is some of the best in Manly!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank CentreManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chat Thai also viewed

 
Manly, Greater Sydney
Manly, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Chat Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing