We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its touristy, fair food, but there is a lot.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bavarian at Manly Wharf

The Bavarian at Manly Wharf
Reserve with
The Bavarian at Manly Wharf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 297 Restaurants in Manly
Price range: $12 - $23
Cuisines: German, Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Manly
Description: Overlooking stunning Manly Cove, Bavarian Bier Cafe Manly Wharf features large tables and spaces set aside for birthdays, celebrations and corporate functions, plus a cosy fireplace for the colder months. Along with fabulous modern fare, there are 10 draught Bavarian Biers on tap and 10 imported Bavarian Biers available by the bottle. It's the ideal place to sit back and relax with a stein and catch up with friends, family and colleagues as you take in the beautiful surrounds.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Its touristy, fair food, but there is a lot.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We went as a family for fathers day, and it reminded me of a stint of staying in Munich.

If you like a lot of food and beer, this is the place for you.

Service is a little slow, and why is the music so loud? Perhaps I'm getting old.

Nonetheless, I had a kilo of mussels - and a litre of beer, so I was happy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grahame_B255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    178
    73
    27
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Been here three times in the past four weeks as the kids love the chicken schnitzel and chips. I recommend the Swiss cheese and ham schnitzel, very nice. The lowenbrau is good as is the wine. We have sat outside and inside lastly on a very busy Saturday night and had no problem or wait getting served either drinks or food. The toilets aren't the most pleasant but I have been in worse.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Flobble F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Big restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating. Huge portions of escalopes when we visited, but we chose the goulash soup which was very tasty.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GinaNamini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Service was nauseating”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We went on a Sunday afternoon during a beautiful sunny day.
And I understand that the Manly area is busy during these kinds of conditions.

However, we waited over an hour to get our food. The staff were lazy and rude or presumptuous. It was also as if our table was invisible because we received no further service.

I will not return. There are many other venues in Manly which offer better service and food at a better price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“worst service ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We waited over an hour for food and then when we politely questioned its status we were barked back at "you should've been told its a 40 minute wait." Regardless of this, we were not informed, it was well over 40 minutes, and there was next to no one else in the restaurant ordering food. We were not offered an more drinks past the first round. The food was average. Chicken schnitzels were nice but the sausages tasted like Home Brand hot dogs. Disgusting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maddiesydneyfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bavarian at Manly Wharf also viewed

Manly, Greater Sydney
Manly, Greater Sydney
 
Manly, Greater Sydney
 
Manly, Greater Sydney
 

Been to The Bavarian at Manly Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing