We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible new menu”

The Bistro at Manly Pavilion
Reserve with
The Bistro at Manly Pavilion is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 298 Restaurants in Manly
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Manly
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible new menu”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

So, if you look at all these reviews you will see that everyone who has experienced the new chef and menu 'change' has been terribly disappointed ans basically there is a running theme. The new menu is a 'sharing' plate idea, however whilst they say 3 plates make up a entree and main - NO WAY. The portions are tiny, Prices inappropriate, food quality good but that is expected with the reputation and price, however 2 other tables on the night we dined were as disappointed as us. We visited on the first night of this new menu - CHANGE IT BACK. I complained professionally but to no compensation when still paying a $650 bill for 5 people who were all leaving very hungry and unhappy.
Keep your customers and change the menu/chef- just an idea!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    38
    20
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretentious horrible food.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

I'm in counselling - our favourite restaurant has changed chef and menu, and now has the status of being our worst dining experience ever.

Apparently, we visited on the 2nd night of the change. If only they had warned us of the brand new dining experience to expect when we booked.

When we came the only sharing food on offer was lamb - which was 'off' at 6.45! There were are piddly plates for sharing. There was no description of the food on the menu, and the staff couldn't help us. So, when our friend ordered 'Crystal Bay prawns' he got raw minced prawns with 'foam'. Ugh! Honestly, everything was horrible, and we walked out half way through. To their credit, they did not charge us, but that didn't make up for the embarrassment of taking friends visiting from the UK there.

When we asked for information on the menu, the staff told us constantly they 'were in training' and didn't know, and the manager used that too when we complained.

We have been to this restaurant several times before, and couldn't fault it. Where is the previous chef?

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Try a whole lot harder and get a new chef!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

I don't like to rubbish somewhere as it is someone's business that they have worked very hard to build. What I would say is this place could be massively improved by stopping the sharing platter concept and also taking the staff on a crash course in service...or just taking them all to Hugos 100 meters away who have great service nailed! We were served by 5 different staff and not one of them seemed to have any clue on the overly complicated menu. As such food that was at $20 to $30 a 'tasting dish' was simply plonked down on the table like being in a greasy spoon cafe. The food itself was also distinctly average. It should have been a whole lot better for the outrageous prices being charged. A sharing platter is a good idea if you are in somewhere like Noma or The Fat Duck where you have incredibly talented chefs but here the chef is not Heston Blumenthal / Matt Moran thus making a sharing platter complicated /unnecessary. Positives was it is in such a great location and the restaurant itself is absolutely beautiful. Try harder and get a new chef!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kieron75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“What a debacle!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

This would have to have been one of the most disappointing dinners I have ever experienced. A lovely venue, extensive wine list and interesting menu - all come to nothing if you do not have the staff or ability to service the patrons. We arrived for our booking at 7.15 and had to wait 10 minutes before anyone could show us to our table. Then the evening seemed to improve with a helpful young waitress who explained the idea of shared platters and took our order quite quickly. Wine came promptly but we waited at least 10 minutes for the bread. Then the first two entrees arrived and they were fine - Sydney rock oysters and sashimi styled trout - hard to muck them up. We then waited a good 1/2 hour for the next three shared dishes to arrive. They were cold and in the dimming light with one candle at our table it really was a bit hard to see what was what on the platter. Then came the really long wait as we sat and waited - and waited - and waited - for the remaining 3 shared courses. They were at least warm but I would have to say that none of the dishes were that enthralling. I believe this restaurant has a new chef and if that is the case then the management needs to seriously rethink this new adventure into shared platters and try to make sure people do not sit in the dark for over 40 minutes for a meal. We did complain and were given a discount on our meal price - but very unfortunately the whole experience was not very pleasant - and so despite the gorgeous views we won't be coming back. Not sure where the great ratings came from - perhaps they belonged to the previous chef? What a shame - it shouldn't have been like this.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BeautifulBective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Give us something to eat!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

Just got back from Manly Pavilion. New menu - not impressed. 5 guests all still hungry after spending $600 -share plates plus wine. They have set up the menu so there is no 'starter' or 'main' just one price for each dish which you share. We all left hungry but in good humour as laughing with the tables around  us about just how bad it was! The small pieces of food were delicious just not enough!  

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julesr_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bistro at Manly Pavilion also viewed

Manly, Greater Sydney
Manly, Greater Sydney
 
Manly, Greater Sydney
 

Been to The Bistro at Manly Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing