We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just changed hands. Kept chef and wait staff which was a good idea”
Review of Last Train To Delhi - CLOSED

Last Train To Delhi
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Manly
Description: The Last Train to Delhi is located on Blegrave Street, Manly.Our menu offers a wide range of Indian specialties such as Chicken Chettinad, Goan Beef Chilli Masala, Kashmiri Lamb and many more.We look forward to serving you.Current promotion BUY ONE MAIN MEAL & GET THE 2ND ONE FREE Booking essential t/c apply MON - Thu Only. Not valid on Public HolidayLast Train to Delhi takeaway & delivery suburbsBalgowlah Heights, Clontarf, Curl Curl, Dee Why, Fairlight, Freshwater, Manly, Manly Vale, Mosman, North Balgowlah, North Manly, Queenscliff, Seaforth
Manly, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just changed hands. Kept chef and wait staff which was a good idea”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Consistently good. No surprised with new owners taking over. They have retained the chef and the waitresses so as the customer you don't realise. Another great experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dominic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    11
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manly, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent turnaround”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I had a terrible dining experience here back in November but I was lured back by the change of management and the fact that there is no decent other Indian restaurant in Manly. In summary the food was really good - fresh ingredients and spicy but subtle flavours and we really enjoyed our meal and the evening.
We will be back and I hope the new team do well as we need good restaurants like this.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank own_time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australis
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We bought the recent living social deal and went for an early dinner here. Service was friendly and helpful with my indecisive choosing. Food was the best Indian I have had since living in London and the voucher provided more than enough food for us. We will definitely be going back for our Indian food fix!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank irishrose82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Top Notch Curry!!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

6 of us went here last night for a curry.
Always liked Last Train to Bombay but Last train to Dehli is even better.
Great food, great service, great price... we all shared a few starters had a main and rice/naan and a few beers each...... came up at $50 per head.....bargain!
Only complaint is they ran out of Draught and bottled Kingfisher??!!.....for an Indian restaurant to run out of Kingfisher on a Friday night is a bit of a schoolboy error ;0). Luckily they had enough Aussie beer to see us right...
Will certainly be coming back .......stock up on Kingfisher next time please!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickey D, Owner at Last Train To Delhi, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for dining at LAST TRAIN YO DELHI. I do apologise for running out of kingfisher(no excuse). We will ill be looking forward to serve you next time with an extraordinary service and of course with kingfisher. Once again thank you for taking your valuable time to giving us the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Living Social Voucher not Honoured by Manager!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Purchased Living Social Vouchers for 4 people - one entree each, one main each, one serve of rice and one serve of naan bread to share between two & a glass of house wine. There were five of us, but one person was buying their meal outright. Ladies in restaurant lovely, but manager....sooo rude! When he only served us half portions of entrees and we asked why, he very rudely told us in the middle of the restaurant, that it was because we bought the vouchers! I asked how it could be worth what the voucher claimed it was worth if he halved all the portions and he just repeated that that's what you get if it's a voucher! The other staff were embarassed by his behaviour and stated to us they did not understand why we did not get an entree each, etc as stated in the deal. (Eg: one entree was 10 pieces of calamari, that person only got five small pieces, one entree was 4 chicken skewers, that person only got two!!). But the Manager was not only rude to us, he was quite aggressive and rude to his own staff....Not a pleasant experience. Although the food itself was quite nice, I would NEVER go back to that restaurant to be insulted and spoken to so rudely when we only asked for what we actually paid for! Incidentally, Living social denied any responsibility, even though their terms of conditions actually state that if a Merchant fails to provide the goods or services as advertised by them, simply let them know & they guarantee to provide your choice of a full refund or equivalent Deal Bucks. Because we ate what we were served, instead of walking out, we have to take it up with the manager! Fat chance of getting anywhere with that!! Don't get caught with these vouchers!
I

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickey D, Owner at Last Train To Delhi, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I would like to tell you the portion size of your
Meals were normal. Could you please advise me what the 5th person bought from the restaurant. As they were not part of the voucher. The living social voucher clearly states the $45 dinner for two only feeds two persons. You had booked a table of four and you used two vouchers. But you also brought another friends of yours & you excepting us to feed for free. I would like to let you know it is your choice whether you would like to return to the restaurant or not. We are happy to give you good quality good with great service. Thanks for making an effort to writing a comment on trip adviser, but I am sorry I cannot give you anything for free. Once again thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Last Train To Delhi also viewed

 
Balgowlah, Manly
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing