We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Manly beach and a nice place to eat”
Review of Cafe Brisa - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Brisa
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Manly
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Close to Manly beach and a nice place to eat”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a group of friends staying with us from various out of town destinations so we were a group of 8 looking to catch up over dinner but not going too mad on the budget.

It was great to find a place close to Manly beachfront that offered BYO and as we purchase the Entertainment book (from the Cancer Council) the discount offered from that all helped us have a well cooked and tasty meal without going too hard on the wallet.

The place used to be called Café Brisa but has now rebadged to be Fiasco.

You can find the menu etc. on-line at their web site and they also had a few specials – me and my darling shared a tasting plate for two for the entrée which was tasty and gave us a good insight to some of the entrees available.

Special mention to the fact that many of the dishes available were “homemade” (not bought in and re-heated)

For mains I had the fish of the day (Angel Fish) which was well cooked and presented – not a huge meal but that was fine as I’d had an entrée – a couple of the group had the home made crab ravioli and raved about it.

Overall a pleasant place to dine, the food was reasonably priced for that part of town, the lady who looked after us was very friendly and efficient and the menu selection was varied and would appeal to a wide clientele. Albeit the place was not "outstanding" it didn't claim to be and we were happy with our selection of venue and the evening and food they provided so we’d certainly go back again

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vidmar96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    8
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vevey, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Really good food”
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

One of the best restaurants we visited in Manly, the service was great and the food really good, but not spectacular. Overall good value for money and strongly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Petsko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A refreshing change from usual rip off of Manly”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Walk the main strip beach side of Manly & discover this one. We had a brunch & found the food tasty & not the usual high prices of Manly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SkipK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable spot for lunch”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had lunch here on a weekday. The restaurant is just around the corner from the main strip, with "beach glimpses". It was nice and open and airy the day we visited, and was very pleasant. The staff were helpful, one lady in particular, she helped clear space to accommodate our large pram (and sleeping baby) - it wasn't a busy day, so things may have been different had they been busy. Orders were taken quickly and water supplied. We'd had a long day, so I ordered a coffee, which did take a while to arrive, but my husband's drink arrived quickly. We both ordered fish and chips (me - grilled, my husband - beer battered) and they arrived in good time. Both of the fish portions were very tasty, my husband's had a very light, airy batter, just perfect, and my grilled one was tender and juicy. The chips were just about perfect. A very pleasant meal and pretty good value for money considering the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good value down to earth restaurant”
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

While most restaurants in beach side suburbs are over priced this one maintains realistic pricing with good value down to earth food. This mostly seafood menu also has good specials. I have eaten here several times and have found the food is consistently good. Worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Brisa also viewed

 
Manly, Greater Sydney
Balgowlah, Manly
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing