We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Manly icon”
Review of Ribs and Rumps Grill & Seafood - CLOSED

Ribs and Rumps Grill & Seafood
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Manly
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great Manly icon”
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Once again a great meal with a group of 6 easily catered for.
The revised interior is light and well laid out; the tables and chairs comfortable.
If your a carnivor at heart this is the place for you.
Keep it up :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    56
    50
    55
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Start your night here”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

If you are starving and want a good start to your evening, this is the place to go. Man size plates of steaks, ribs, chops, and potatoes, a little on the pricey side, but you do not leave this place hungry. The cocktails are made to match too. The tables on the window overlook Manly beach. The walls are covered in sporting and celebrity memorabilia which makes for an interesting journey to the ladies and gents rooms. The staff were friendly and and welcoming.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monksb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This restaurant has a great atmosphere, great views that over look the ocean, the staff are friendly and food very very yummy!!
A tad pricey as one assumes it is high quality meat (sure tastes it) but well worth the money.
Parking in the area can be hard to find, and if you're not careful can cost a lot as well.
I have been here in both a large group and small group and found staff great on both occasions. I also visited another ribs and rumps restaurant, which forms part of this chain and found the many location to be much better and staff much more friendlier and helpful.
I would suggest you arrive hungry and also leave enough room to try one of their deserts... they are very good too!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaniW_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Bring an appetite”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

When you walk up the steps to the first floor you get a sense of what you're in for; the walls are adorned with signed pictures of visiting athletes and rugby players.

This is a meat eater’s paradise and a Manly institution. Food arrives on a wooden board and you are issued with a wooden-handled steak knife ready to carve into the mountains of meat you will receive. You get a few fries (or potatoes) and perhaps some veggies too – but this is all about the steak. It’s from a variety of sources and it all gets explained before you choose. The smallest of steaks is enough and the ribs come with a sticky sauce of your choice and a bib which is very necessary!

There is an amazing view too across the ocean but come early or book to get near the window. If it’s a special occasion there is a private table to one side that’s kind of outside. It’s a bit away from the tables inside and fun on a summers evening.

Is there anything else you need to know? Brilliant steaks, great service.

Word of caution: at the time of writing the restaurant is closed for complete refurbishment.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank muddyrider_mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“We only wished we lived closer.....”
Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

My two daughters and I took a once in a lifetime visit to Manly (from St Andrews in Scotland) and was advised to visit Ribs and Rumps. How glad we were!! Having worked in hospitality for many years I was impressed by the efficiency and friendliness of the staff. Even though it was 'winter' when we visited it was still nearly 30 degrees outside and the place was packed. My two 'fussy' daughters quickly found something they liked and enjoyed the novelty of the bibs that the lovely girl serving us brought them. Sorry I didn't catch her name...American I think....Heather? The view is amazing, right on the beach, and the steaks were delicious. My 7 year old daughter wouldn't allow me to try one of her ribs....a good sign that they're nice too.
Thanks for a special evening Caroline and her team....now if only you opened one in Scotland....!

Helpful?
Thank regulardiner80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ribs and Rumps Grill & Seafood also viewed

Manly, Greater Sydney
Manly, Greater Sydney
 
Manly, Greater Sydney
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing