We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Place!!!”
Review of Manly Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manly Guest House
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Manly
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible Place!!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Don't stay here, it's cheap, in a great location, clean, friendly, sociable. No good if you want a place to stay that lets you explore Sydney for a reasonable rate, no good if you want to stay somewhere safe and clean with your children like I did. In all seriousness, this places is great.... I just don't want it getting loaded up and charging me more next time I stay there. My children (girls, aged 13 and 12) said it felt like a "home". We slept in the room next to the petrol station, and we slept no problems at all. Kitchen was spotless and they have everything you could want to make meals, plenty of space for own food in the fridges. We had a blast in Sydney and this was a top place to come back to at night. But don't stay there. ;-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Haha!! So happy you had a horrible time, we hated having you too!! Only joking. It was a delight to host you and your family and we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday. We do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    40
    11
    5
    13
See reviews for
19
30
42
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed for an entire week (minimum length) in order to attend a conference at a nearby hotel. The place is kept very clean and I particularly appreciated being able to make the occasional meal in the well equipped kitchen. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms are shared but that was not a problem. Shops, restaurants and the ferry over to Sydney are a short walk away. The (surfing) beach is 2 short blocks away. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyRollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you very much for this great review! We are so happy to hear you felt so comfortable.

Just to clarify the minimum length: Only our weekly rate offer requires a minimum of 7 nights. Book one week, get one night free :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narara, NSW
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My first thought when entering the room I booked at this hotel was "thank god it's only for one night!" I was greeted by a stale musty smell. The contents of this tiny room, very basic; an old single bed, chest of drawers and wardbrobe. The place is very old (as are a number of places in Manly), the shared bathroom though was clean and modern and of a decent size, that for me was the only positive. Oh! I do also credit them for providing wifi and free use of a computer for the guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us:(
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

After staying 2 weeks, I would happily stay here again. The guest house has private rooms (single, triple, etc) and not dorms. The bathrooms & showers are shared, but hold one person at a time and are private when in use. The bathrooms are excellent, very clean, and the showers are excellent.

This guesthouse seems to attract the non-party crowd, and I found plenty of friendly, quiet people. The owner & staff take very good care of this property. They thoroughly clean the common areas.

I did, however, have to often use earplugs.

There was the occasional noise from the street at night. My room faced the street and the gas station next door. One in three nights I was awakened by some noise outside (late at night, like 2 am) - e.g. men yelling at each other, someone smashing a glass bottle, or loud talking at the gas station. Other guests didn't even hear these noises, so it could be because I was facing the street and sleep lightly.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, then avoid rooms facing the street and the gas station next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountain820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed at Manly Backpackers in Febuary-March 2013, and we couldn't recommend it highly enough. The place was spotless. The staff were so nice and helpful, especially the German girl who worked on reception. The beds were comfy and clean. The other guests were quiet, but that meant they weren't a bother. The kitchen was fully stocked, with a lot of free food. Its a little bit more expensive than other hostels, but its totally worth it. Having free Wifi makes a huge difference while travelling, especially for making contact with home, and searching for jobs. There is Foxtel, which is great for watching sport from home, a DVD player too, with some DVDs there. Free Tea and coffee is also a really nice touch, and makes it feel like home. Would definitely suggest you stay here if ever visiting Manly. An added bonus is that is practically on the beach!

Room Tip: We stayed in a tripple room, even though there was only two of us. Means we had a double bed, but al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chazy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlyGuesthouse, General Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hi there, we are so pleased that you had a great time with us!

Just one point - we are Manly Guest House (not Manly Backpackers) and we have no affiliation with the backpackers.

Look forward to seeing you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed here three nights with my daughter as she has friends living in this area. There is not much choice in Manly. Our room is horrible, the curtains teared down, bed sheets were dirty and not ironed, bed is aged, table broken, it was so hot with no air cond but a tiny fan which doesn't even work probably, toilet and bathroom shared at the Corridor of other end, some people didnt even clean it after use. We were asked to give details of our credit card even the room has been fully paid via the Internet, the lady told us she will charge us if we broke something. It was hilarious as everything is broken in the room anyway! The rule is to check out at 10:00am otherwise you will be charged one extra night, literally there is no service. There is a common kitchen where you can cook while sharing with other tenants, it is ok if you are a backpacker and willing to pay for the price of a hotel room. It is simply over priced for what it offers. At least please IRON the bed sheet!! One only positive comment is the free wifi access.

Room Tip: There was no swimming pool, I cannot undo it while choosing this option by mistake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeilinaGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlyGuesthouse, General Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.

When the rooms are cleaned after a guest leaves, we routinely check that everything is in working order but after reading your comments, we double checked all fans and found them all to be working and also checked all curtains and they too were all hung properly. So far as claiming we have dirty sheets, this simply could not occur - all bed linen and towels are changed after each guest checks out. I further investigated your claim that we are priced as a hotel and in Manly, the cheapest hotel I could find on the internet was more than double our price. We do request a security deposit via credit card details or a cash deposit and this is standard throughout our industry and our recourse for any extras. Even rock stars have to pay for any damages or extra nights! We do not try to be a hotel, however, we do take pride in delivering clean and comfortable budget accommodation with friendly service.Yes, bathrooms and kitchen are shared with other guests, however, staff clean them every day and run spot checks throughout the day and evening. You are correct that we do not have a swimming pool but the beach is right across the road. You are also correct that we don't iron the sheets have or air conditioning. Sorry but that would really increase our costs and, therefore, tariff. Perhaps you would have been happier staying in a hotel but having said that, we are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This guesthouse is practically on the beach front. Great little find. After experiencing a night of hell in manly backpackers I booked in to the manly guesthouse with my boyfriend. We had never been so relieved. The place is cleaned daily from top to bottom. The staff are so friendly we felt extremely at home. We had a fantastic time and would highly recommend this place to anyone wanting to experience manly on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrina2817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manly
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Manly
Manly Surfside Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manly Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manly Guest House

Property: Manly Guest House
Address: 6 Steinton St, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Manly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Manly Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manly Guest House offers the best value in budget accommodation in Manly, Sydney's most popular beachside suburb. Manly Guest House offers a homey atmosphere with private accommodation and shared facilities (kitchen and bathrooms). If you're a budget traveller looking for a clean, comfortable and cosy place that's close to the beach, then look no further. Manly Guest House is the ideal stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manly Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manly Guest House Hotel Manly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing