We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A safe and clean guesthouse”
Review of Manly Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manly Guest House
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Manly
Reviewed April 2, 2013

After staying 2 weeks, I would happily stay here again. The guest house has private rooms (single, triple, etc) and not dorms. The bathrooms & showers are shared, but hold one person at a time and are private when in use. The bathrooms are excellent, very clean, and the showers are excellent.

This guesthouse seems to attract the non-party crowd, and I found plenty of friendly, quiet people. The owner & staff take very good care of this property. They thoroughly clean the common areas.

I did, however, have to often use earplugs.

There was the occasional noise from the street at night. My room faced the street and the gas station next door. One in three nights I was awakened by some noise outside (late at night, like 2 am) - e.g. men yelling at each other, someone smashing a glass bottle, or loud talking at the gas station. Other guests didn't even hear these noises, so it could be because I was facing the street and sleep lightly.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, then avoid rooms facing the street and the gas station next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mountain820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for the great review. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 127 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed at Manly Backpackers in Febuary-March 2013, and we couldn't recommend it highly enough. The place was spotless. The staff were so nice and helpful, especially the German girl who worked on reception. The beds were comfy and clean. The other guests were quiet, but that meant they weren't a bother. The kitchen was fully stocked, with a lot of free food. Its a little bit more expensive than other hostels, but its totally worth it. Having free Wifi makes a huge difference while travelling, especially for making contact with home, and searching for jobs. There is Foxtel, which is great for watching sport from home, a DVD player too, with some DVDs there. Free Tea and coffee is also a really nice touch, and makes it feel like home. Would definitely suggest you stay here if ever visiting Manly. An added bonus is that is practically on the beach!

Room Tip: We stayed in a tripple room, even though there was only two of us. Means we had a double bed, but al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chazy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlyGuesthouse, General Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Hi there, we are so pleased that you had a great time with us!

Just one point - we are Manly Guest House (not Manly Backpackers) and we have no affiliation with the backpackers.

Look forward to seeing you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed here three nights with my daughter as she has friends living in this area. There is not much choice in Manly. Our room is horrible, the curtains teared down, bed sheets were dirty and not ironed, bed is aged, table broken, it was so hot with no air cond but a tiny fan which doesn't even work probably, toilet and bathroom shared at the Corridor of other end, some people didnt even clean it after use. We were asked to give details of our credit card even the room has been fully paid via the Internet, the lady told us she will charge us if we broke something. It was hilarious as everything is broken in the room anyway! The rule is to check out at 10:00am otherwise you will be charged one extra night, literally there is no service. There is a common kitchen where you can cook while sharing with other tenants, it is ok if you are a backpacker and willing to pay for the price of a hotel room. It is simply over priced for what it offers. At least please IRON the bed sheet!! One only positive comment is the free wifi access.

Room Tip: There was no swimming pool, I cannot undo it while choosing this option by mistake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeilinaGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlyGuesthouse, General Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.

When the rooms are cleaned after a guest leaves, we routinely check that everything is in working order but after reading your comments, we double checked all fans and found them all to be working and also checked all curtains and they too were all hung properly. So far as claiming we have dirty sheets, this simply could not occur - all bed linen and towels are changed after each guest checks out. I further investigated your claim that we are priced as a hotel and in Manly, the cheapest hotel I could find on the internet was more than double our price. We do request a security deposit via credit card details or a cash deposit and this is standard throughout our industry and our recourse for any extras. Even rock stars have to pay for any damages or extra nights! We do not try to be a hotel, however, we do take pride in delivering clean and comfortable budget accommodation with friendly service.Yes, bathrooms and kitchen are shared with other guests, however, staff clean them every day and run spot checks throughout the day and evening. You are correct that we do not have a swimming pool but the beach is right across the road. You are also correct that we don't iron the sheets have or air conditioning. Sorry but that would really increase our costs and, therefore, tariff. Perhaps you would have been happier staying in a hotel but having said that, we are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This guesthouse is practically on the beach front. Great little find. After experiencing a night of hell in manly backpackers I booked in to the manly guesthouse with my boyfriend. We had never been so relieved. The place is cleaned daily from top to bottom. The staff are so friendly we felt extremely at home. We had a fantastic time and would highly recommend this place to anyone wanting to experience manly on a budget.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabrina2817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

This was a great place to spend my first few nights in Australia. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, even gave us an ocean view room because of problems faced elsewhere. This place made me feel like home and welcome. Washrooms were very clean and I never waited to use one. The common areas were very clean and spacious. Free wifi. We even went back to this location to talk to staff members for recommendations and to use the computer. It just felt very homey and I'm looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auder256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for your great review, we are very pleased you liked it so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Only stayed a week but was a fantastic place to stop, very friendly staff ,safe place to stay and a great place to meet people - and the location (being so close to the beach & accessible to circular quay) made the whole experience. The rooms were great for anyone staying on a budget with a tv and fridge and comfy bed and was good value for what you get for a place in manly- having free wifi is always a plus! Personally did not find the location loud at night. Was worried about a shared bathroom at first but it was great, very clean! Kitchen was clean and had all the appliances to cook a great meal if you wished. Would not hesitate to recommend to others travelling through Manly/Sydney.

Room Tip: The top floor has less wifi signal but probably quieter than lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sazzyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

We are very happy it was such a great experience for you to stay with us! Hope, to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I arrived a few days ago, staff are very helpful, everywhere is clean and showers are spot on! Everybody staying here is friendly and you can get a good nights sleep. I hope to stay for a few more weeks ! No regrets!!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
Thank Seb_chef_jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

...and you did stay with us for "a few" more weeks!! It was a pleasure to have you, Sebastian! Enjoy the rest of your trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manly hotels
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
776 reviews
Manly
Manly Surfside Apartments
Manly
Manly Bunkhouse
Manly Bunkhouse
#1 of 13 in Manly
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manly Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manly Guest House

Address: 6 Steinton St, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Manly
Price Range: $69 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Manly Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manly Guest House offers the best value in budget accommodation in Manly, Sydney's most popular beachside suburb. Manly Guest House offers a homey atmosphere with private accommodation and shared facilities (kitchen and bathrooms). If you're a budget traveller looking for a clean, comfortable and cosy place that's close to the beach, then look no further. Manly Guest House is the ideal stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manly Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manly Guest House Hotel Manly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing