We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Manly Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manly Guest House
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Manly
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

I arrived a few days ago, staff are very helpful, everywhere is clean and showers are spot on! Everybody staying here is friendly and you can get a good nights sleep. I hope to stay for a few more weeks ! No regrets!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Seb_chef_jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
...and you did stay with us for "a few" more weeks!! It was a pleasure to have you, Sebastian! Enjoy the rest of your trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    40
    11
    5
    13
See reviews for
19
30
41
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Melissa and Stephanie who run this lovely guesthouse are themselves the warmest people you could ever meet. Therefore when you enter the place, straight away you feel relaxed, respected and it's easy to feel a kin to the whole environment. The rooms are well priced for what's included. We found everyday, the amenties to be of the highest hygenic standard. There's also an outdoor area for those who smoke or wish to chill out. Laundry facilities are of high standard and very economical to use. Having an absolutely ideal location with everything within 5 to 10 mins walk we found each and each night to be relaxed, spontaneous and romantic. Finally we would like to express our gratitude to Melissa and Stephanie. Plans to return are already on the agenda.

Room Tip: Check out room 12, you can watch the surfers ride in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS GREAT REVIEW! :-)

You yourself were the loveliest people and we enjoyed so much having you stay with us!! Hope all is well down south and hopefully we will accommodate you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I stayed here one night with my boyfriend after going out to dinner with a group of friends and having a drink.
This accommodation was very reasonably priced, the room we had was decent, it seemed to be recently renovated and clean, bathroom was reasonable size and also clean. The room also had a reasonable sized wardrobe with full length mirror which was great.
We didn't use the kitchen facilities however they also looked clean and quite new.

I would definitely stay here again or recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaniW_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We really appreciate this great review and are glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2012

It was ok. If you are looking for a cheap place to stay I would stay here, the beds were a killer on the back, I thought the kitchen was clean, the bathroom could of done with a little tidy but again I will say its great if you are looking for some where cheap to stay.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank NBA Legend M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your review!

We clean all the common areas every day, however they are shared and people sometimes leave a little mess behind :S

We are sorry that the mattress wasn't comfortable enough for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuernavaca, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Manly Guest House - My wife and I spent 8 months there and our time was an extremely positive one. I will recommend it to anyone and of all ages! In the way of youth hostel-esque establishments, Manly has many, and Manly Guest House is in the mid range for cost but far surpassed others at both ends of the spectrum. The day to day running of a Guest House in a tourist hotspot I imagine is no small feat, as there are a lot of variables when dealing with the general public, particularly travellers, but regardless, it is run very well - it is very clean, surprisingly quiet, relaxed and things are done smoothly and effectively. It is hard to not feel at home and I think that is reflected in the length of time travellers spend there. If you are currently planning a trip to Oz, choose Manly, and if you want a reasonable, friendly and clean place to stay with an ideal location then there is only one place - Manly Guest House.

Room Tip: Room 12 for couples is the one to go for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sambrunt2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your amazing review! It was more than a pleasure to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Just stayed there for 4 nights and will be def. coming back again in a few weeks.
I think the last few up to date reviews says it all , very clean and friendly
Looks like they had problems a few years ago judging by the older reviews but all the problems listed there have dissapeard , they seem to have re acted and upgraded the property.
Just got positive things to say about this place and can only agree with the last few comments here.

Room Tip: Maybe not on the ground floor as you may be disturbed by the front door and people using the kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrWho43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I stayed in a triple room and a double room on different nights. I found the staff very helpful and really went out of there way to make sure our stay went smoothly. The bathrooms were the cleanest bathrooms I've seen at a hostel. The kitchen was okay - maybe some newer crockery and cutlery would help. I really liked the charm of the place and would definitely recommend it to someone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roz Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your great review!

We do now have lots of new cutlery and crockery :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manly hotels
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Manly
Manly Surfside Apartments
Manly
Manly Paradise Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manly Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manly Guest House

Property: Manly Guest House
Address: 6 Steinton St, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Manly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Manly Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manly Guest House offers the best value in budget accommodation in Manly, Sydney's most popular beachside suburb. Manly Guest House offers a homey atmosphere with private accommodation and shared facilities (kitchen and bathrooms). If you're a budget traveller looking for a clean, comfortable and cosy place that's close to the beach, then look no further. Manly Guest House is the ideal stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manly Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manly Guest House Hotel Manly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing