We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect in every way!”
Review of Manly Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manly Guest House
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Manly
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I stayed here one night with my boyfriend after going out to dinner with a group of friends and having a drink.
This accommodation was very reasonably priced, the room we had was decent, it seemed to be recently renovated and clean, bathroom was reasonable size and also clean. The room also had a reasonable sized wardrobe with full length mirror which was great.
We didn't use the kitchen facilities however they also looked clean and quite new.

I would definitely stay here again or recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaniW_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

We really appreciate this great review and are glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 124 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

It was ok. If you are looking for a cheap place to stay I would stay here, the beds were a killer on the back, I thought the kitchen was clean, the bathroom could of done with a little tidy but again I will say its great if you are looking for some where cheap to stay.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank NBA Legend M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for your review!

We clean all the common areas every day, however they are shared and people sometimes leave a little mess behind :S

We are sorry that the mattress wasn't comfortable enough for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Manly Guest House - My wife and I spent 8 months there and our time was an extremely positive one. I will recommend it to anyone and of all ages! In the way of youth hostel-esque establishments, Manly has many, and Manly Guest House is in the mid range for cost but far surpassed others at both ends of the spectrum. The day to day running of a Guest House in a tourist hotspot I imagine is no small feat, as there are a lot of variables when dealing with the general public, particularly travellers, but regardless, it is run very well - it is very clean, surprisingly quiet, relaxed and things are done smoothly and effectively. It is hard to not feel at home and I think that is reflected in the length of time travellers spend there. If you are currently planning a trip to Oz, choose Manly, and if you want a reasonable, friendly and clean place to stay with an ideal location then there is only one place - Manly Guest House.

Room Tip: Room 12 for couples is the one to go for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sambrunt2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for your amazing review! It was more than a pleasure to have you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Just stayed there for 4 nights and will be def. coming back again in a few weeks.
I think the last few up to date reviews says it all , very clean and friendly
Looks like they had problems a few years ago judging by the older reviews but all the problems listed there have dissapeard , they seem to have re acted and upgraded the property.
Just got positive things to say about this place and can only agree with the last few comments here.

Room Tip: Maybe not on the ground floor as you may be disturbed by the front door and people using the kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrWho43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your review, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I stayed in a triple room and a double room on different nights. I found the staff very helpful and really went out of there way to make sure our stay went smoothly. The bathrooms were the cleanest bathrooms I've seen at a hostel. The kitchen was okay - maybe some newer crockery and cutlery would help. I really liked the charm of the place and would definitely recommend it to someone.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roz Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for your great review!

We do now have lots of new cutlery and crockery :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I have been living and working in the area for six months and have been living only in Manly Guesthouse. I could not be happier with my choice of accommodation. I looked at the other backpackers in Manly and they are all filthy, lacking in amenities, loud and lack experienced staff. The owner is an amazing woman who truly cares about her guests, keeps the place sparkling clean and makes herself available to her guests for whatever you may need. Even if you just want to chat while she does laundry! Manly Guesthouse really does feel like home. I've made lifelong friends here. The location is ideal, two blocks off the beach and next door to a convenience store/ gas station. When the local rugby team won the championship they stayed next door! Viva la Manly Guesthouse!

Room Tip: choose a room toward the back and on the beach side. you will get the sea breeze when you open the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

A cute little guest house with all the things you need to spend a great time in Manly: Very friendly staff, well equipped kitchen, modern bathrooms, and SPOTLESSLY clean everywhere! Free internet, TV room (with christmas tree) information brochures for things to do in sydney and around, ferry timetables, comfy rooms, ten minutes walk to the Manly Corso, five seconds away from the beach. We love it here (we decided to cancel our hotel in Sydney and extended our stay in Manly at the Guest House). We have the impression this place is very well looked after and staff and management really care about keeping this place nice, clean and well-run. One thing about our room though: It's got one window to the side where the Caltex Fuel station is. This can be noisy when they emtpy glass recycling containers in the middle of the night...

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manly
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
739 reviews
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Manly
Hotel Steyne
Hotel Steyne
#8 of 9 in Manly
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manly Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manly Guest House

Address: 6 Steinton St, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Manly
Price Range: $83 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Manly Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manly Guest House offers the best value in budget accommodation in Manly, Sydney's most popular beachside suburb. Manly Guest House offers a homey atmosphere with private accommodation and shared facilities (kitchen and bathrooms). If you're a budget traveller looking for a clean, comfortable and cosy place that's close to the beach, then look no further. Manly Guest House is the ideal stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manly Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manly Guest House Hotel Manly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing