We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hostel in 14 months travel. ”
Review of Manly Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manly Backpackers
Ranked #8 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Manly
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Literally disgusting. Room smelt of stale sick, cockroaches everywhere, floor sticky and rank. Bathrooms horrible, people being sick in the showers. Seems like a good place for a party, just such a shame there is no one to actually properly manage and clean the place, as Manly is a lovely area. Avoid this place at all costs.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Greenatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 98 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

Our stay was extremely disappointing, definitely not worth the money we paid - $310 for the room/parking.

On arrival our room was not ready at 2pm and were asked to wait 10 mins while the staff grabbed the dirty linen and emptied the previous tenants gear. The room was dirty, floor filthy and the beds full of sand. In the hall way adjacent to our room (37) the floor was flooded with water and a dirty mop, bucket, bags of rubbish and a filthy broom sat next to our doorway. I asked the female staff if I could use the broom to clean the floor which was filthy. I swept the floor but it was still really dirty and needed a proper clean. We were horrified to notice there were no flyscreens on the windows and hoped we didn't fall out of bed through the night. Cockroaches running around. The fan and fan switch were broken and the air was stifling. We then took our food to the kitchen which was really filthy as well and smelt disgusting. The fridges were overflowing and full, the freezer full of ice and wobbling on a block of wood and the floor wet/dirty and tiles missing everywhere. The whole common area was so dirty I wasnt even game to sit on the lounge. The next morning the whole hostel smelt like bleach, obviously the cleaners need to use excessive amounts to try to clean the filth. I couldn't sit or eat in the kitchen and dry wreached as I retrieved my food from the fridge. Our experience went from bad to worse and we couldn't wait to leave. I have stayed at backpackers before and always found them clean and great value for money..... Spread the word this isn't fit for humans!

Room Tip: Do yourself a favour and run a mile
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madstever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The kitchen is big but there is cockroaches everywhere and it's not clean at all. The rooms are fine except there is cockroaches there too (they have a big party in the evening/night) and it's extremly warm in there at all times... Disgusting. Wish we didn't book for three days..... The showers is fine and the sheets was clean.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I spent a fair bit of time here and had the best time of my life, the people that work there are great people and good fun. the people that seem to live in the hostel are all fun. The kitchen is spacious and very clean. all the amenities are in good working order and well maintained. this place was amazing and i loved every minute. i recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arichardson84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The receptionist was friendly, the sheets were clean, kitchen huge as advertised. At first sight it seems fine, as long as you do not enter the kitchen which is very unhygienic (bugs/vermin) and dirty. The hostel is well located, but not intended for a long stay. Definitely eat out if you plan on staying here because I was grossed out. The computers are ok, but just 2 LANS. It also gets quite warm, luckily there are ventilators in every room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed back in 1998 and it was dirty little place then. Straight off the ferry into this shabby place? Local beaches for swimming or scuba diving and can dive with sharks in the local aquarium. But had a great time hanging out with backpackers/ locals that it didn't really matter.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattAko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I've booked it for 2 nights actually but i left it after one night. My room was so dirty, it smelled so bad, there was no window to open. my mattress was about 10cm thick and the hole bed looked really creepy. the floor was sticky and dirty, the locker were so tiny, i couldnt lock all my clothes. The bathroom was also a really nasty place, same as the kitchen. the money isnt worth it, i got a so much better room in a YHA for the same price!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manly
Manly
Manly Bunkhouse
Manly Bunkhouse
#1 of 13 in Manly
78 reviews
Kings Cross Backpackers
#44 of 150 in Sydney
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
Manly Guest House
Manly Guest House
#2 of 13 in Manly
127 reviews
Summer House Backpackers
#14 of 150 in Sydney
122 reviews
Manly
Manly Beachside Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manly Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manly Backpackers

Address: 24 - 28 Raglan St, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Manly
Price Range: $27 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Manly Backpackers 1.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manly Backpackers is one of the larger and more comfortable backpacker hostels in Sydney, located right in the heart of famous Manly beach!We have 36 rooms available: mixed or girls only 4 bed dorms or double rooms with queen beds. All rooms have shared bathroom facilities. Common areas are spacious and comfy including BBQ area, pool table games room, huge TV room and 3 large balconies that adjoin some of our rooms. You can also book parking spot in our secured garage. Reception desk is opened 9am till 7pm, but you can check in 24/7! Check out is at 10am. We are looking forward to having you in Manly Backpackers soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Manly Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manly Backpackers Hotel Manly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing