We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy pastry, generous portions” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brezel Bar

Brezel Bar
Ranked #15 of 297 Restaurants in Manly
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Manly
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Yummy pastry, generous portions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

My sister and I visited on a Monday afternoon and had the most delicious treats. I had the pear and chocolate pastry and it really was amazing. Not normally my favourite combination of flavours but this was super tasty. My sister had a strawberry cake which was huge and yummy. Really reasonable prices for what you get and lovely, friendly service. I wouldn't hesitate to return, next time I'm in Manly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Germione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    25
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“German Bakery in Australia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I am in Sydney for business a few times a year and came across the Brezel Bar on my previous trip. It feels like a little piece of home to have such delicious food that tastes and smells just like in Germany. I tried their Pear Belle Helene Pastry (Birne Helene) which was fantastic. Just like their signature pretzel. I don't like the American Style Cheescake much which is baked everywhere, but Thomas and Liesl (the friendly owners) suggested I try their tasty German Cheesecake which is REALLY good. I can only recommend the Brezel Bar!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Selda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great German Bread & Brezel away from home...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have been traveling since five weeks now from Vietnam to Cambodia to Australia and had a great time enjoying the great foods in this part of the world.
When we arrived recently in Sydney we took the ferry from Circular Quay Sydney Harbour to Manly to stroll around and enjoy the beaches.
Just around the corner from Manly Beach we found the 'Brezel Bar" a great German Bakery with authentic German bread, rolls, Brezels and cakes.
I am usually not the one that needs to have the German stuff away from home, but I have to admit I truly enjoyed the coffee and a taste from home…
I can highly recommend the Brezel Bar….

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GTunderway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Pretzels in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

This place is a bit off the beten track (not on the Corso) so you have to actively look for it. It is close to the Novotel (Manly Pacific). They have fantastic Pretzels and a range of German Bread and Pastries. The staff are very friendly and are happy to explain what each pastry is in more detail.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank CurlCurlSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful pastries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Visited Brezel bar while on vacation. There are a number of bakeries in town, but this one is the best. Flaky tasty treats and hearty breads. They also have traditional german pastries, cookies and of course pretzels. They also have free internet access. Highly recommended, worth the 1 block walk.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brezel Bar also viewed

Manly, Greater Sydney
Manly, Greater Sydney
 
Manly, Greater Sydney
Manly, Greater Sydney
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Manly, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Brezel Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing