We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but perfectly formed”

Manly Sea Life Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.20*
and up
Manly SEA LIFE Sanctuary Entrance Ticket
Ranked #7 of 50 things to do in Manly
Attraction details
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Best value if combined with the Sydney Aquarium ticket. Hands on activities, good displays, especially the Turtles and Rays. No lift though, so not ideal for the very young/old. Excellent few hours.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    203
    100
    39
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Biggest rays we've ever seen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Admittedly this aquarium is a little old and small. But the bottom floor has a glass tunnel and these huge rays and sharks are swimming over you and right up to your face. There were very few people in the aquarium at the time so we were able to sit in the tunnel for an hour and watch the rays and sharks swim right up to us. We have been to dozens of aquariums and we haven't had interactions like this before. We really enjoyed ourselves here.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not child friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

There's not really that much to see here. We took our babies after they advertised a mums and bubs offer. When we arrived there is no pram access so you have to carry your baby up and down steep metal stairs. We had to leave our prams, bags etc near the door and hope that no one would nick off with our belongings. So not mum and bub friendly at all really. It's quite average and the place looks run down.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BabyH73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Manager at Manly Sea Life Sanctuary, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hi Katie,

Thank you for your feedback on your visit recent.

While we are not as big as our sister aquarium across the harbour, we often find people prefer us as we’re not too big for the attention span of little children but still have a selection of animals which will make them go ‘wow’ (for example when a ray as big as a queen-sized mattress swims over their head in the underwater tunnel).

We do have issues with pram access to our top and bottom floors but our team are always on hand to help make your day as enjoyable as possible. Also, during our Parent and Toddler morning sessions we ensure all of the activities we put on are held on the floor you first enter on. It’s not an ideal situation but with the age of the building, making any changes is very difficult (for example putting in a lift).

Once again, thank you for your feedback and sorry you were disappointed. If you do plan on visiting us again, please email us at msls@merlinentertainments.com.au first.


Kind regards,
Michael George
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Kids preferred aquarium”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Although not very big, this is the preferrate aquarium we've been to - and we've been to many in Asia. The kids loved all the sea life interaction and found very interesting the presentations given at feeding hours.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank cristinaoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Old, sparse, expensive and not child-friendly. No pram access. Limited number of fish etc. Nothing tropical. Glass on the tanks were not clean. Not enough to capture, and hold, the attention of kids. Overall it took us just 10 minutes to see it all - and yet it cost $24 for an adult and $12 for a child over four.
We were extremely disappointed.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank danas1980syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Manager at Manly Sea Life Sanctuary, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear danas1980syd,

Thank you for your recent visit to Manly SEA LIFE Sanctuary and your feedback, however I’m sorry to read that you were disappointed with your experience.

I’ve passed on your comments to our curatorial team as we pride ourselves on keeping our tanks clean. Although despite our team regularly doing cleaning dives, the water in our main tank can get a bit cloudy after we have fed our animals (this happens every Monday, Wednesday and Friday at 11am – it’s great viewing!).

While we’re obviously not as big as some other aquariums, we do like to think we’ve got a great range of animals (we’re the only place in Sydney you can see marine turtles and we’re also home to Manly’s iconic Little Penguins) and help people connect with our animals more by providing their background story – for example Myrtle the Turtle, who was rescued after being hit by a boat, or Murdoch, the Grey Nurse Shark who was successfully bred in captivity. Plus, we have a tank which displays a number of fish you would typically find in the Great Barrier Reef.

We completely understand your frustration with the lack of pram access – this is linked to the age of the building, making any changes very difficult (for example putting in a lift). However our team are always happy to help in whatever way they can to make your day that little bit easier and we do have an area where you can leave your pram.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and sorry you were disappointed. If you do plan on visiting us again, please email us at msls@merlinentertainments.com.au first.


Kind regards,
Michael George
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manly Sea Life Sanctuary also viewed

 
Manly, Greater Sydney
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Manly Sea Life Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing