We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Token English guy who loved his stay!”
Review of Manly Bunkhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manly Bunkhouse
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Manly
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Token English guy who loved his stay!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The hostel is an extra 5 minute walk up Pittwater road out of Manly and even if your carrying a large bag/backpacks etc it is well worth the extra stroll! Its quieter without losing the feel of a hostel, you can still enjoy drinks in the garden area or common area without it being a party hostel, which is what I was looking for! Everything is cleaned daily (kitchen, bathrooms, TV area, hallways) the Staff are great and it is very safe to leave any belongings due to good lockers and staff always around!

I stayed for three weeks, while searching for permanent accommodation the area and the dutch influence at the place was great and every week a new group came in of around 20, as there is a Dutch backpackers association in the patio/courtyard area! I shared a four bed room each week with dutch and Swedish travellers and enjoyed it immensely and even though I was working all day I came home and joined in there antics some evenings!

Kitchen area is great with everything you need and they give you your own cutlery and crockery to keep for the week!

overall I recommend highly

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Finners1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly_Bunkhouse, Manager at Manly Bunkhouse, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for you for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate your feedback.

We would love to have you here again!

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    24
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
15
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manly, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I am so impressed at how clean and enjoyable Manly Bunkhouse has become since my last stay.
The location is terrific and the service is friendly and helpful. With a 2 minute walk to the beach, 5 to great cafes and manly corso, what a great location. If this isn't enough they also provide FREE WI FI to all customers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Charline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly_Bunkhouse, Manager at Manly Bunkhouse, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
thank you for your review! , we appreciate your time and welcome you back when ever you wish :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Nice enough rooms (stayed in a double room, with a single bunk bed, private shower, toilet, sink and fridge) that are basic, but clean. $90 for the double room wasn't outrageous, but the location hikes the price a bit.

Common areas are clean and well fitted out, with a tv room with comfortable couches, large kitchen table, fully equipped kitchen, bbq and outside area that can fit a large amount of people.

5 min walk to the beach and about a 10 min walk to the shops and Manly wharf. Quite a distance from Sydney CBD, but the ferry makes it a straightforward enough trip.

Recommend the Manly Bunkhouse if you are looking for a nice quiet stay in a good location.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank french_d_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly_Bunkhouse, Manager at Manly Bunkhouse, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your review!
We appreciate that you took the time to leave us your feedback :)

We hope you are enjoying your time in Australia and would love to have you here again!

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Had a great start in Australia here in Manly. This is for who likes to surf or just likes the peace en quiet. It is just minutes from the beach and half an hour to the city by ferry. There is a lot of beautiful nature around. Nice two person and four person dorms. Cleanness was oke but difficult because of all the bags lying around. Free internet in the front of the hostel is great. It takes a bit of time to get used to the kitchen which is not very large but you have on room refrigerator.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janneke2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly_Bunkhouse, Owner at Manly Bunkhouse, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Janneke,

Thank you for your time with us, the improvement for the rooms are on our list :-)
We wish you a safe trip in our beautiful country and hope to see you soon again.

best regard

Cathy Carney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

When i first arrived in australia i stayed For a week in the bunkhouse. The new management was just there and Had not yet changed that many rules. So the first week the atmosphere was pretty good and the location was good as well, being 300 meters from the beach.

After we came back from 3 months of traveling, everything had changed. There was nothing left of the atmosphere we were used to and the prices went through the roof as well. 38 dollars(!) for a dorm room and 90 dollars for a private room. For that kind of money you would expect tot get your room cleaned once in a while. Nut not once in a whole week did they clean the room!!

To make a long story short, dont go to manly bunkouse anymore. I suggest to go to manley backpackers instead, because the staff is that much friendlier and its cheaper as wel!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBunkhouse-Manly, Manager at Manly Bunkhouse, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We are sorry to hear that...
Manly Bunkhouse have rules and we are pretty strict with that.
You cannot bring extra guests in your room without being charged, you cannot throw your dirty dishes in the sink and walk out, you cannot make any noise after 10 pm etc.
We are sure you will understand.
We have competitive rates compared to other hostels in the region, our hostel is professionally cleaned every day and one of only hostel to offer unlimited Wi-Fi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2013

It's is close to the beach, the rooms are tidy and you'll meet heaps of awesome people! I stayed here for almost a week (with the Australian Backpackers Jumbo) and I couldn't wished for a better start to begin the adventure Down under.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoelleBrands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly_Bunkhouse, Manager at Manly Bunkhouse, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback.

We hope you are enjoying your time in Australia and would love to have you here again!

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Beach, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights, because the room I booked was not available I was placed in a two person dorm room. Nice, big room, with own fridge and bathroom. Cleanness was okay, could have been a little better. The free wifi is very nice. It's located close to the beach and it's only a 15min walk to the shops.

On the downside if you wanted to go to Sydney centre it was a long and expensive travel. Also the rooms are very expensive with $38 a night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Backpacker1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBunkhouse-Manly, Manager at Manly Bunkhouse, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback.

Our Hostel is going through some positive changes under the new owner's management and your review helps us to keep improving.

We would love to have you here again!

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manly hotels
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
668 reviews
Manly
Manly Guest House
Manly Guest House
#3 of 13 in Manly
119 reviews
Manly
Manly Paradise Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manly Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manly Bunkhouse

Property: Manly Bunkhouse
Address: 35 Pine St, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Manly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manly Bunkhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manly Bunkhouse is a backpacker hostel situated in the heart of Manly on Sydney’s Northern Beaches. The Bunkhouse provides budget accommodation for students and travellers in a quiet beachside location. Each room has its own shower, toilet and kitchenette. Free WiFi Internet access is provided. The Bunkhouse has a clean, relaxed and friendly atmosphere with a large common room, commercial kitchen and an outdoor courtyard with BBQ facilities. The new French owner, Cathy Carney and her team speak fluent French, Dutch, Portuguese and Spanish. Manly Bunkhouse is located only meters from one of Sydney’s finest beaches and a short walk to shops, coin-operated laundry, supermarkets, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Manly Bunkhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing