We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cramped, hot, sweaty but good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel
Ranked #12 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Manly
England
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cramped, hot, sweaty but good location”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

A dive to be honest, beds were so close together and there were no ladders to the top bunk. I'm not even very fussy but rooms were filthy and sweaty and many many coackroaches climbed into bed with me. Showers were even worse. Very little ventilation, we all felt faint from the heat in the room. There were loads of long term people staying so virtually impossible to make friends, very cliquey, they all had their own groups. Lucky I had some cool people in my room for 1 night. The guy on reception was lovely though, very helpful. I'd stay again if I was desperate. It's right by the beach though.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luby10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    26
    12
    15
    63
See reviews for
5
23
63
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cooma
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

As we walk up The Corso trying to find Boardrider Backpacker we are greeted with a small black door with "Entrance at Rear" printed on it... This was only the start.

No decent parking! Yes there is council parking very close but don't park there overnight unless you want a $50 fine for every hour past midnight!!! Ended up parking far up the street and having to walk.

Once we FINALLY got in the building we were greeted to some shabby rooms. We'd booked the delux rooms and somehow ended up with the crappy budget rooms with communal bathrooms. My room was full of hair and I was just delighted to have the company of a dead cockroach next to my bed!

The toilets and showers were abominably horrible - extremely dirty - no where to put any of your toiletries, There was soap scum and mold and grime absolutely everywhere. I was there 3 days and the whole time one toilet in particular was completely full of diarrhea - and it stayed that way the entire time - obviously there had been no cleaners in at all!

The tv hardly worked at all and my room happened to be right above the local bar which played loud music all in to the night - ofcourse i was given complimentary ear plugs on my pillow!

Behind my door was a nice big sign explaining how burglars often visited so be careful with your belongings.

The staff were just very young and seemed to act as though they were guests.
Will never go back to again!

Room Tip: Just do not even consider this place unless you love the company of bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oOAndrewOo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manly hotels

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2011

THIS PLACE IS DISGUSTING. To sum it up, there was a girl with a dying wet rat in a bowl from the kitchen, sat just 2 metres away from the dining area! It smelt like damp, there were leaks from the roof everywhere, with pots dotted all over the floor to catch the drips, there was no intention of fixing them - did not see any cleaners or maitenence staff on site at anytime. We stayed in a room which belonged to one of the staff, we were made to feel very unwelcone. There was mould, cracks, bugs and the kitchen was infested by flies and old plates of kebab meat. I used a whole bottle of antibacterial gel during my stay, the grottiest, dirtiest and most vile place I have ever set foot in and I'm from Manchester.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chlofo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2010

This place is the most disgusting place I have been in. The Manager was "conveniently" never available when we tried to complain.
The bathrooms have mould growing in the ceiling. The toilets are out of order. There is not hot water on any floor in any shower.
The whole building is infested with cockroaches.
The walls are paper thin. They try to say this ia a 4 start hostel??!
Who would stay in a "deluxe" room for over $100/night when there are stains on the carpets, broken beds, stained sheets, etc.
I would never recommend this place to anyone
Global gossip internet never worked while we were there either.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palmbayxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillian646
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

My boyfriend & I have stayed in many locations in Manly (Quest, Novotel, Trident building, etc), and we recently decided to stay at Boardrider Backpackers b/c all other options were sold out due to a convention. We booked the "deluxe" suite for $95/night.

We weren't really expecting much, but we certainly weren't expecting ear plugs on our bed when we walked in. Between the paper thin walls, the people on the top floor jumping around, and the 4AM Booty Bar that's next door - you definitely need these ear plugs if you want to get to sleep. The bed was incredibly uncomfortable.. we actually brought in our air mattress which we pumped up and put on top of the nasty bed. I think we averaged about 4 hours a sleep each night.

On a positive note, our room came with a lovely balcony that overlooked Manly's Corso, the staff members were extremely friendly, and the internet is cheap & really fast. I'd say it probably is one of the nicer hostels (we've stayed at dozens of them throughout the world).. but the 4 star/motel advertisements are a bit misleading.

We loved saving $100+ night staying here rather than at the Novotel, but I doubt we'll return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillian646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2010

This hostel hygiene level has a lot to be desired, the ladies bathroom was nothing less than disgusting unfortunately. The oscillating room fan, oscillated in the wrong direction causing a hot room sweaty room. However, this hostel makes up in other areas, the roof top terrace is a cute area to hangout, and the common area is very sociable- even with the constant films playing. Manly, the better Bondi, is a lovely little seaside town with nice restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Em182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2009

We had a "deluxe" room with ensuite. Firstly our ensuite was outside our room, the curtain rail kept falling off because it was busted, room is very tiny, no car parking, the shower was unclean and only had one screen of the door, no wardrobe - for a budget motel/backpackers saying their 4 stars - its a crap 4 stars from my book. There was a fan in the room which was a plus, but everything was broken. $120 of ripped off we were.

However, the positives - it was really quiet, centrally located, pillows were comfy and beds, staff were friendly and I guess we didn't really go to manly to stay in our room.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candy_skies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manly hotels
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Manly
Manly Surfside Apartments
Manly
Manly Paradise Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel

Property: Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel
Address: Shop 63 the Corso, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Manly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
!!!BREAKING NEWS!!!! I would like to introduce myself: My name is Laura and I am the new manager of the Boardrider Backpacker & Budget Motel!! I would like to welcome everyone from all over the world to come & stay at our backpackers based in Manly Beach (literately a 1 minute walk from the main beach, YEW.) We have been and still are very busy UPGRADING our services on EVERY level! The surf is pumping & jobs are coming in daily so come and check it out ----> HAPPY DAYS ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardrider Backpacker And Budget Hotel Manly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing