We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel with a few quirks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Manly
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Right across the road from Manly Beach, this hotel couldn't be better located. I was upgraded to a large corner room, with reasonably-sized balcony and well-appointed bathroom. The king sized bed was very comfortable, and the corner room (facing away from the beach) quiet enough to sleep with the balcony door open. Which was a good thing as the airconditioning had been turned off at the fusebox for some reason.

Other reviewers have commented on the strange lighting in the lift areas on the accommodation floors - the 6th floor also had this quirk - virtually dark with some under-powered spot lighting. Very strange.

Whilst the hotel has a rooftop pool, it really seems like an afterthought and isn't very appealing.

Also beware the airport taxi transfer on offer - $90 is a complete rort compared to < $25 on the ferry and airport train!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parischris2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly_Pacific_Sydney, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear parischris2007,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel regarding your stay at the Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific on Trip Advisor.

I will share your comments with our team as I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

I am glad to hear you enjoy your upgrade to the large corner room. To be able to have that fresh air whilst you sleep with the balcony door open is fantastic. In regards to the dark corridors, this is a result of the energy saving globes which is part of our environmentally friendly practices.

Thank you again for sharing your experience at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Sincerely,

Darren Cann
General Manager
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,987)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,213 - 1,219 of 1,987 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great postion the rooms a little over priced but i guess that is sydney when you come from the country overall nice stay close for everything that is required for a weekend get away from the teenage children. breakfast very nice but should be included in the price..

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank trishburnholidays123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly_Pacific_Sydney, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear trishburnholidays123,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. All feedback is used as a training tool as we are continually striving to improve the service we provide to all of our guests.

I also believe that Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific is in a great position of Manly. Manly and surrounds has a lot to offer in the way of just relaxing and is quite close to many restaurants, bars and cafes.


Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay at the hotel on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Sincerely,

Darren Cann
General Manager
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Lovely location with staff who were kids friendly. We did have to request extra towels as they only supplied us with 3 when 4 people were staying in the room but this was quickly remedied. The seafood buffet on Saturday night and breakfast buffets were magnificent, but the a la carte menu on Sunday night was very disappointing. Overall we loved the location, had a great time and the hotel made us feel welcome with the children.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Stephannie_Caleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have stayed at Manly Pacific before. I used to come to this spot when it was a great old hotel before it was demolished and the newer hotel built..
You cant fault its position but the hotel is starting to show some aging. I found the lighting was lacking badly in the ocean front room. There used to be a floor lamp but all the lighting for the room was a table lamp and bed lamps. A second suitcase stand would be helpful.
As this is a beach hotel, there are no provisions like hooks on the balcony to dry your towel or swimmers. The "modern folding shower screen doors leak on the floor.
The cushions on the pool lounge were deteriorating. The view on the lower balconies
was hindered by the plants while seated on the lounge. However despite this it is still a very pleasant hotel to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Judi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We just loved the central location and the sound of the surf. I had the best sleep in a long time! The view is spectacular and people watching from the balcony is such fun. The rooms are large and clean, but there did seem to be a bit a a musky smell (from the air conditioner?)
Hotel lobby does not appear to be welcoming, but the staff are excellent and very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoopersville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly_Pacific_Sydney, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Hoopersville,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel regarding your stay at the Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific on Trip Advisor.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

I also believe that the views from the balconies are spectacular. Having that ocean view is a great way to wake up in the morning to start the day or even to people watch as you said.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific when you return in the future.

Sincerely,

Darren Cann
General Manager
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCSE
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manly_Pacific_Sydney, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I have recommended this hotel to many friends and family and we thoughourly enjoyed our stay. We have stayed in Manly before and we found this to be the most comfortable and worth while hotel. Great location

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dj_gtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly_Pacific_Sydney, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear dj_gtr,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel regarding your stay at the Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific on Trip Advisor. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

I also believe that our location in that it is perfect for the traveler that is not familiar with the area. Manly and surrounds has a lot to offer in the way of just relaxing or activities for the more adventurous.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Darren Cann
General Manager
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manly
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
694 reviews
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
Manly Surfside Apartments
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific

Address: 55 North Steyne, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia (Formerly Manly Pacific Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manly
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manly
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manly
Price Range: $193 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-refurbished Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific is a 4-star hotel situated on iconic Manly Beach. Located just 30 minutes from Circular Quay and Sydney city by ferry and offering spectacular views, this oceanfront hotel is ideally positioned for holidays and business travel. Boasting extensive conferencing facilities and 213 contemporary rooms, the hotel also features a restaurant and three bars, plus a rooftop pool, gym and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific Hotel Manly
Accor Sydney Manly Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing